We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to it's name, worthy of a visit...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Naughty or Nice Package
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's name, worthy of a visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just back from a three night stay at the La Concha Resort. A very nice, modern and clean property. It is superb in many ways, only a few, relatively minor negatives. If you are considering San Juan and the Condado area specifically you cannot surpass this property for elegance, servcie and overall appeal. All of the good things you see in these reviews appeared legitimate to me.

The only negatives were realted to the wi-fi, it was spotty at best during my trip, each day, every day. Often frustrating early in the morning when I was trying to check in with work emails, etc. I found this resort is not alone with a late check-in time and it's the real-deal folks. Expect to wait until late afternoon for check-in. The Marriott down the street actauuly posts signage in their lobby reminding you that check-in is 4pm. Not sure why but they actually have a paging system (like they do in restaurants) to summon you when your suite is ready. These are my only two negatives.

I would easily return to this resort, no regrets.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor, older building. Great views from the room but the walk to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    1,301
    411
    157
    112
See reviews for
892
1,778
113
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel lobby and rooms. Complementary coffee and fridge in the Jr Suite. Views are excellent and room gets extremely cool if thermostat is set low. Pools are clean and unique.

Knocking off one circle because of the restaurant and bar prices, plus the coffee downstairs in the thermos is $3.50/cup. It's coffee from a thermos, come on... Breakfast buffet was way overpriced for items.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our son's wedding was at LaConcha 8-4-12. In all regards, the staff was amazing. The beach wedding was awesome. The staff helped guests with side trips and adventures, like the zip line thru the forest and trips to the bio-luminescent bay. The locations offers convenience for other dining options within walking distance and was not so far from Old Town that taking in the sights was difficult. I was a bit surprised with the taxes/fees added to the daily room rate, maid service in the rooms was not timely, and parking in the deck was a bit tricky, but the numerous pool areas, the central bar and numerous verandas gave the guests, especially the friends in the 30-something age group, tons of options to chat, party and chill out! As close to perfect as a destination wedding could be!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Arrived to San Juan for a last minute weekend get away. Decided to enjoy the remodeled La Concha Resort, after reading all the reviews. La Lounge area at the lobby was very quaint. However, what a disappointment the rest of our experience, I believe that this hotel has no idea what is the term of customer service or anything about tourism. Stopped by their La Perla restaurant, as its in the shape of a shell and its all over the advertisement of the hotel; after entering the restaurant and trying to admired the architecture of the restaurant, so we could plan a romantic dinner night, where greeted by a hostile and U.S Health Department criteria for obese lady, who very rudely grab me and push me out of the restaurant, saying it was a private event and that she didn't care if we wanted to see the restaurant and to get out. How was I supposed to know its was private event, when there was no sign nor a hotel employee to keep anyone from entering. After the mishap, and mentioning the incident to the hotel manager, all we were told was that the Restaurant was rented for a private event (On a Friday) and that they don't have a say on how private parties handle or treat tourist. Seriously??? I would suggest that the Management of this Hotel learn that every guest should be treated with respect, as hotels relies on good reviews and would like their guest to come back. We will never ever come back and waste our money at this place...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were here in May 2012 for a simple R&R getaway. As a Marriott gold member, we had access to the private lounge area which was right beside the adult only infinity pool and steps to the beach. This made for a perfect getaway.

We chose a suite that faced the ocean for amazing views, spacious living areas, and even a balcony large enough for a small dining table.

The main pool doesn't have views to the ocean and gets very crowded, but the adult only pool, while very small is in a perfect location. We saw many people walking out in the evening, so there seemed to be many places to go, but we never made it past the hotel restaurants and casino. Both were good and excellent service.

This is not a large, sprawling luxury resort, but it is well maintained, great service, and a very good choice for a long weekend and much needed R&R type getaway.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a great layout if you want more space than just a room with a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The excellent rating only goes for the Lost and Found and Housekeeping staff, who were very cordial and helpful in assisting me in finding and promptly returning to me one of my valuable and irreplaceable belongings which was left behind. Yaribel was able to make up for the very poor job that front desk clerks Carolina and Jose did when they just opted to hang up the phone on me and my husband when we were desperately trying to get in touch with the hotel. At some point, they even decided to just let the phone ring. This wasn't very considerate of them and showed very poor customer service skills.

Thank you, Yaribel, and those who helped you. The rating would have been terrible if it had not been for you!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at La Concha for four nights in Aug. 2012 and, for us, it was a perfect vacation, wonderful hotel. We had an ocean view and the view was stunning; the room itself was spacious and well-appointed with a refrigerator and plenty of room for the four of us. Service throughout the hotel was very good (front desk very helpful). The beach, which some of the reviews complained about, was very nice (we also visited Isla Verde and preferred Condado), with lounge chairs and umbrellas provided to guests. The only negative was the surf this time of year was quite gentle so we ended up spending more time in the pools, which were terrific and open all night. There are a number of restaurants nearby (the Waikiki was very good and had a great deck overlooking the ocean) and we ate at the Italian restaurant one night and thought it was quite good. Prices were comparable to those outside the restaurant (food in this area is not cheap though there is a Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts easy walking distance). The lobby was very pleasant with breakfast in the morning (included in our rate and well worth it) and one evening a very good band, always lively. To give you an example of the hotel, one morning I met the General Manager and we chatted about the property, and I complimented him on it. The next day he sent up a nice basket of fruit, which conveyed the warmth and graciousness of this property. All four of us (two kids) loved it and hated to leave. One of my favortie hotel stays ever, can't see how you can go wrong here.

Room Tip: Worth springing for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.