We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most Amazing Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This design of the hotel is reason enough to stay. It was so visually stunning that I almost didn't want to leave. The sound of flowing water, high arching ceilings, greenery abounding, large windows streaming in light, contemporary art enlivening the lobby and the chairs that beg you to melt into them were all part of the appeal.

But it's not just a spectacular design. The staff at all times were beyond pleasent, helpful and welcoming. The door of my taxi was opened by a smiling employee, the front desk was more than happy to answer any and all questions, even going out of their way to help our family book trips.

As well, the food was superb, as were the dining options.

The beach was just out back, with more than enough chairs and umbrellas, with yet again another helpful employee to help you drag them over.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,211
    1,214
    394
    152
    112
See reviews for
847
1677
110
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for our 30 year anniversary celebration. The hotel is beautiful, service is outstanding, pools are so nice and overall a really good choice. To save money we bought breakfast and lunch items at a small convenience store and took advantage of our in-room kitchenette.
The only negative is the loud music on the weekend which vibrated our room since we stayed on the 3rd floor above the club. Those rooms had walk out balconies. If you want to stay in one of those rooms, make sure it's during the weekday since there was no music during that time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

From the moment you arrive at La Concha the fun starts; Felix is one of the greeters at La Concha, he made us feel so special from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The tower suites at La Concha are nicer than the other towers, much newer. The beach is well kept and the pools are nicely maintained. The beach is very rough and because of that there are no watersports. You have to go to Isla Verde for watersports the beach on that side is much calmer.
Overall La Concha is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Tower Suites are way nicer than the other towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend, and totally enjoyed myself. The DJ in the lobby knows how to get the party started!!!!! We loved all four pools and enjoyed the restaurant by the pool, the angus beef hamburger was outstanding. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was smaller than I expected, but we managed. Great location, we will return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Guest Relations Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Saludos Pam W,

I am happy you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful resort. I like the “get the party started”. Many of our guests really get to know all of our facilities like you have. Which pool did you like the most? Let me know when you return to assist with accommodations and ensure your next stay is even better. Seen you soon!

Jose Cepero
Director of Guest Services
jcepero@laconcharesort.com
787-602-6121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I chose this resort after reading all the Trip Advisor reviews and was overall very pleased. It was a bit of a last minute trip and decided to spend a little more money here instead of staying down the beach.

Overall the staff was amazing. They were all extremely friendly. Stephanie at the Concierge's desk was so helpful helping us find a zip line tour after ours was mistakenly booked incorrectly. And Rebecca at the main pool side restaurant/ bar was just awesome. Nice, friendly, fun. They really make you feel welcome.

Finally got to our room and I was nicely surprised. The room was clean and modern and very big. Our regular room had a refrigerator, sink, lounge area, etc. I picked the city view because it was so much cheaper but the view wasn't bad.

But here is where room choice is key. Later on when looking at the hotel from across the road you can clearly see that our tower was the newer tower. The original tower just looked run down from the outside. From the back of the hotel the rooms in the old tower did not appear to have full balconies. We also heard in talking to others that the rooms seemed a bit outdated, but I never saw any of the rooms in this tower so I cannot say.

Here's the other point where room choice is key. We had a room with a city view. City view is ok, you see some abandoned buildings in the distance but it is not bad. But... at night is when it matters. We were on a higher floor and the noise from the street was loud, even with the heavy doors. Think hotel room in Europe noise. Traffic, shouting, music from the bars and clubs. So just keep that in mind before shrugging off the higher priced beach facing rooms.

Other than that the hotel was nice. Food was good but way overpriced. I found the restaurant Orozco's down the street which was mentioned in a Trip Advisor's review by someone else staying at La Concha and it was great. The only real Puerto Rican food nearby that we could find. And affordable! Everything else around is expensive and a lot of Asian food places.

Pools were nice, beach was nice, everything was clean. Casino was small but seemed to payout well (my partner won about $900 total playing the slots).

And again, the staff is what makes it incredible. Even there there were some water issues when I was there (that was out of their control) they were all incredible and make the visit memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently stayed at the La Concha on business. The room (a suite) was huge. All the room amenities were new and high end. Great bathrobe! The hotel lobby is very functional for a morning continental breakfast, a sandwich at lunch, or drinks at night. The outside space, including the infinity pool and the beach are more than inviting. You can walk to local bars and restaraunts from the hotel. It was very funcitonal for business (it has parking). Bring your spouse, he (she) will have plenty to do while you are working. It is not Old San Juan, and that really is the place you want to be, but La Concha is an excellent hotel for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I always read trip advisor before selecting my hotel. La Concha had an overwhelming majority of very favorable reviews. I have to say that our experience confirmed those reveiws! The hotel seemed to be the most happening place on Condado island. The pools are great and offer great food and bar service, especially from Carlos Alvarado! The hotel is right on a beautiful beach and provides lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests. Our room (505) was huge and had an ocean view. The bed was very comfortable. The only complaints about the room were that there were stains on the carpet and although the bathroom was very nice, the tile grout in the shower needed to be cleaned. We did have a discrepancy with a $2.72 charge from the gift shop being charged to our room, but I reported it and the hotel took care of it before we checked out. All in all, we had a wonderful time in Puerto Rico and we will return to the La Concha!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.