We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property, But Service Lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
#BeachPlease Package
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good Property, But Service Lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed for a few days in an ocean-view room. The hotel and room were very clean, and the location was excellent. But the service in the hotel restaurants--and we tried nearly every one, plus room service--was really lacking. It wasn't that the service people weren't pleasant, because they were. But service times weren't good, and the food was often late and/or cold. And, of course, expensive.

Oh, and the "resort charge" on the hotel bill is just annoying.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael02, General Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. We believe that the comfort and well being of our guests is of utmost importance, therefore it is helpful for us to learn from feedback like yours to ensure improvement and correct these shortcomings. Service and hospitality is our highest mission at La Concha and each of our Team Members must strive to exceed our guests expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. These do not represent what we are all about. I will share all your comments with our management team in order to take action and enhance our services.

I hope you give us another opportunity in the near future to meet your expectations.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,701
    1,433
    483
    177
    129
See reviews for
1,027
1,971
126
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We had a great stay in so many ways and the start of it with a warm welcome from the ebullient Felix augured well. The Beach is fine;the pools are lovely. The staff is very friendly and wants to help. (The concierge could be more knowledgeable as to what is really happening on the island.) Don't bother with Solera restaurant or the bar; both are overpriced and slow. The breakfast place is very good with fab omelets. La Perla is expensive but worth it. The location is perfect for so many things. Highly enjoyable time at La Concha.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My wife, daughter, and I stayed for 9 days. Normally by day 7, we've had enough and want to go home. On this trip, we don't want to leave.

The hotel lobby is stylish with energetic music and staff. It turns out that La Concha is the hotel for the stars as J-Lo, Mark Anthony, and Lauren Conrad were staying the same time. Also, there was a fashion shoot with a multitude of beautiful people present.

The staff were attentive and wonderful.

The pools are clean and the heating is perfect for relief from the sun.

The hotel has great beach and ocean access. The surf was manageable and enjoyable for body surfing.

The rooms are nice with the best in the tower. There's plenty of ocean view rooms.

The poolside food is great. Try the sliders!

The hotel bar is a San Juan night spot.

The restaurants are great. We had magnificent meal at Perla.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I went on a mother/daughter trip so safety was a concern. The hotel was nice and we felt very safe. We loved the open air lobby and ambience...three pools and beach access. Live music poolside or in the lounge would have been an added plus. The rooms were nice. Housekeeeing was excellent. Really our only complaint with the hotel was the service.

Old San Juan was only a $14 taxi ride away. We did much better booking excursions on our own than we did through the hotel concierge. There were better and less expensive excursion options. We were given inaccurate information including times more than once. And the bellman gave our taxi driver inaccurate infomation in one instance.

The La Pearla Restaurant was a huge disappointment. Non existent service which was inexcusable for a restaurant of that caliber. Not offered a wine list, no menu explanations, no follow up during the meal... our bread was brought while we were eating dessert. When we pointed this out they put it back in the basket picked up our plates and gave them to the people at the table next to us. Appalling. I'm still waiting on the sweetner for my coffee.

Overall a good stay with the eception of La Pearla.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed at the La Concha based on previous TripAdvisor reviews. We just moved into the Ritz Carlton for a business conference for the next 3 days. No doubt about it, we had a much better set up at the La Concha!! First of all, love the retro look of this hotel, lobby is white marble flooring and art deco, staff are absolutely fantastic, and here's the big surprise ... the food here is wonderful! There are 3 or 4 different pool areas, it's right on the beach, get an ocean view if you can, it's heavenly! I'm a clean freak, and this place passed the test. There was a musty smell when the AC was off, but that's to be expected when you are on the beach. We had breakfast on our balcony each morning, and the food always exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Have been to Puerto Rico many times, but really enjoyed our stay at La Concha Resort. It has a great city, hip vibe, but is right on the ocean. Perfect location near Old San Juan, airport and in the trendy Condado neighborhood. Great service, staff are fabulous! Their F&B director, Jose, is excellent. He took a lot of time recommending restaurants for us and making reservations - totally outside his job description. From their bellman to their bartenders, the entire staff is excellent. For a real treat, have the bartender in the lobby, Oriana, make her passionfruit frozen rum drink. Not to be missed! Will definitely go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Starting with the impressive open lobby looking out to gardens and pools to the well-appointed ocean view room, our stay was everything we hoped for. The staff were responsive to every request and always cheerful and friendly. The resturants were excellent - Perla for fine dining and atmosphere, the breakfast only restuarant had every imaginable breakfast item and the Tapas resturant was great for quick meals. This was a family reunion and everyone - child to adult - had their needs met. The hotel was on the beach which was very accessible. It is also conveniently located to all San Juan attractions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#7 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.