We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, artsy and affordable hotel in Old San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Da House Hotel to your Saves list
Da House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming, artsy and affordable hotel in Old San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Da House for a couple of nights. It is an ideal location if you want to be in the heart of San Juan's historic district . The hotel is very close to the major sites including El Morro, San Cristobal and the local museums. There are also several bars and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. It's approximately 30 minutes away from the airport or it could be longer depending on the traffic, and about 15-20 minutes to the newer part of San Juan depending on where you're going.

The hotel, one of those converted colonial houses or buildings, doubles as an art gallery showcasing works of local artists. Each room showcases different art work.

Our room, although quite basic, was very clean. The bathroom has a small (phone booth-like) shower. The water temperature was a bit uneven and I had some issues with the shower knob but all in all everything else worked in there.

The hotel has a rooftop with a jacuzzi and a great view of the city. The time we were there they had a "movie night" with drinks. There's free wi-fi access in the common areas. The only complaint I had was there was one day when housekeeping didn't come to fix the room but we stayed there for such a short time that we were more willing to overlook this.

Note that the hotel has no elevators and I would not recommend this for guests who have problems going up and down several flights of stairs especially those with heavy luggage. There is a bar just below the hotel and you can definitely hear the music or "noise" if you are in the lower floors even with your windows closed. The sounds downstairs didn't bother us too much at night but if you are looking for "peace and quiet" and easily bothered, this may not be the right place for you (especially if you are staying over the weekend where you can hear the party downstairs until the wee hours of the morning). This seems to be a place well suited for 20-40 somethings and that seems to be the age demographic of the hotel when we stayed there. That's not to say if you are over that age group, you can't stay there if you're looking for a unique and affordable place in Old San Juan.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Check in and check out process was efficient. The staff was nice enough to call us a cab when we needed it.

All in all Da House is a fun place to stay and definitely worth the experience staying in Old San Juan.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the upper floors if you are easily bothered by noise from the outside but remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    184
    77
    36
    29
See reviews for
22
256
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was ideal for anyone wanting to stay in Old San Juan. The hotel itself was very clean and had a fun environment. The location is PERFECT and all the sights of Old San Juan were in walking distance. There was a club below the hotel with great music. On the weekend it can get noisy but the club itself was fun. There was even a roof top hot tub. The only problem I encountered was one of the shower doors being missing and the hot water being extremely hot. Overall, the price, environment and location make this a great spot. On my next trip to Puerto Rico I will be definitely be staying at Da House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack123450
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our cruise. It was clean and cheap, exactly what we were looking for. And its in a great location plenty of places to walk around. The staff is friendly and helpful, air conditioning works well, room was spotless. Was there on a saturday night in april, I read all these reviews about how noisy it was because of the restaurant across the way, we picked the quietest room and did not hear any noise except when people were walking through the hotel, which was not frequent or hard to deal with. If you need a place to stay, that is clean and simple this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 5 nights total; 3 before our nine days in Vieques and Culebra and two after. Because we had been there last January, it was like returning home and very welcome.

This is lower season which made our stay delightful and relaxing. We chose to stay closer to the music from the club next door but despite being loud and playing late, we were not bothered. Long days made us tired enough to sleep through it.

Because this was our second visit, we appreciated this place even more. There was no coffee in the room but the mornings are warm and lots of coffee shops around which made this pleasant.

I loved our room but won't give out the number.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here 2 years ago. The location is absolutely perfect; it is close to wonderful spots to eat and many historic sites. The staff was helpful but not overly friendly. Our room was small, but very clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is very quiet IN THE DAYTIME. At night, it is a different story. If you are a light sleeper, don't stay here. I usually can sleep through anything, but here the music from the club below (and shenanigans from patrons) is pretty loud, even for a heavy sleeper like myself. Fortunately, there are many coffee shops with STRONG coffee which I needed after several sleepless nights. With that said, the price and location make up for the thumping nightlife below. Bring a small fan with you to drown out the noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I Visited Puerto Rico for my birthday in October and I must say Da house was an unexpected treasure. Small rooms however extremely clean at 80 bucks a night in the heart of Old San Juan. If you don't mind the loud music from the restaurant Directly across from them and you don't mind being where the party is ,then by all means staying at this Eclectic bohemian style hotel is the place to be. Its Within walking distance of everything in old San Juan and little touristy but nice however do not and I mean do not eat at Café Puerto Rico I can write a whole other review for that place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The tourist bureau in Old San Juan referred me to this hotel. I spent two nights. It's clean, air conditioned, has a nice and helpful staff, free internet and a computer for use in the lobby and within walking distance of everything in Old San Juan. The building used to be a convent and is located directly across from a church. The only drawback is it can be a little noisy at night if your room is on the street side of the building because there's a bar across the street, and the driver's in the morning traffic might blow their horn at 6am, but otherwise, I was happy! The building is unique, the staircase is pretty and there's art work on every floor and in every room. Breakfast is on your own because they don't have a restaurant. It was the least expensive option for a nice hotel in that area and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: There are interior rooms with windows that open to the inside of the hotel, if you'd like to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.