We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Old San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Da House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Da House Hotel
312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in San Juan
New Windsor, Maryland
2 reviews
“Best value in Old San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for a nice and affordable hotel in Old San Juan, this is the place. The staff are extremely nice and personable, and always willing to answer any questions you may have about restaurants, shops, day trips, etc. The traditional Spanish style rooms are simple, clean and comfortable, just what you need. The location is perfect- you're right in the middle of Old San Juan close to everything. The hotel is in the city so some noise is to be expected. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    180
    76
    35
    26
See reviews for
22
250
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Da House is a cool, artsy, fun place to stay in the heart of San Juan. It's close to everything, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Grab a bottle of rum or wine and head up to the roof for a relaxing evening. Lots of art on the walls. The downside is that it can be hard to sleep because of the very cool--but very loud Nuyorican Cafe next door. Pick up some ear plugs and you should be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far from the salsa club as possible. It will still be loud, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at approximatley 12 we were told that our rooms weren't available yet but they would store our luggage so we wandered around Old San Juan. The hotel is convientely located near everything. At night we arrived back at the hotel and were going to sleep at 11, which is when the salsa club and night club started turning up the music. It sounds like a parade, despite the fact that our room was in the front of the building. That would have been ok because we were warned ahead of time. What I found to be unacceptable is that when I turned down the blanket I found long dark hairs on the sheets in the bed. When I called down to the front desk there was no answer so my husband went down to the front desk to request that the sheets be changed. The guy promised that the sheets would be changed but after waiting 20 minutes I went down to the front desk and the guy was still sitting there. I asked for the sheets again. In the end I had to change the bed sheets myself. The replacement sheets were stained with some dark substance. Even the lack of an elevator, the music and price I would recommend checking out another hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Incredibly loud. So loud in fact that I'd be able to understand the song being played with no problem at all if I could speak spanish, maybe then I could f*@king sing a long. REALLY WISH I HAD LISTENED TO THE RATINGS BUT DECIDED TO GIVE THIS PLACE A CHANCE. WRONG CHOICE. (Think Anchorman - Milk was a bad choice scene, except with this hotel)

No elevator - desk guy was not to thrilled when I asked him to help with bags. This is a motel, not a hotel - do not get the two confused. Don't get a room anywhere near the stair case because you'll have a lot of the drunken loud types laughing and stomping up and down the stairs. With the tiled floor and thin walls you could hear a pin drop from the first floor, every footstep in the hall and stairwell echoes through the whole building. So bad in fact that when I called my boyfriend from my room he thought I was in the shower from hearing the echoes. I don't even know why they offer rooms here? Maybe it's just for people to use the bathroom and bone, but sleep isn't really an option at this point. Not to mention room reeks of cigarettes, and I'm a smoker and STILL the stench is overpowering. The blankets are worn, dirty and thread bare. Kind of gross to be sleeping in linens that looked so used. Oh! Perfect timing, someone just flushed a toilet and you can hear the flush, then the water rushing through the pipes.

I'm miserable.

Someone shoot me. Motel 6 and the Travelodge is more comfortable than this.

Room Tip: Get rooms above the front entrace, stay away from the side or back of the building. The higher the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Da house is a super cute, super fun boutique hotel in the middle of San Juan.

The rooms are not cheap, but they are reasonably affordable, however I found a few things missing from our stay. First of all there's no complimentary anything. Like seriously, nothing. The rooms we stayed in ranged between 120 and 160 per night and for that price it would at least have been nice to get one bottle of water to drink. Instead I had to go out, tired and jet lagged, to buy my own water. Likewise, there's no coffee or anything else provided. I was pretty disappointed with that. Da house has a sister hotel called Casablanca and they do provide a small complimentary breakfast and the rooms are in the same price range. I was confused as to why Da House wouldn't do the same thing since they are affiliated. Or at least it'd be nice if they'd partner up with one of the local coffee shops and offer some sort of voucher or coupon for coffee at a nearby cafe for those who stay at Da House.

They don't provide anything in the bathroom other than bar of soap, so if you're expecting shampoo, conditioner, etc. to be provided think again.

Additionally, there was a very thin blanket on most beds (both of our blankets in two different rooms had holes in them), not even a comforter. The weather in San Juan is warm, however with the air conditioning on (they leave it on full blast until you get to your room) I was freezing and the room hadn't warmed up enough for me to be comfortable sleeping. When I asked for an extra blanket I was told there were none. Bit of a bummer. The beds and pillows are not very comfortable, but I have always had mild back and neck issues so am sensitive to such things.

There's a neat hot tub on the roof, but when we were staying there the lights were broken, so it was a little strange to sit in a dark hot tub. Still fun, though.

Be forewarned to pack LIGHT. These buildings are old and elevator-less. My poor husband had to carry all our luggage up four flights of stairs and I immediately wished we had only brought a carryon.

Also there is a salsa bar right next door and on the weekends there is loud music until 4 am. The website rates the rooms as "close to the party" or "interior room that's quiet" so you can get an idea of what room to pick based on whether or not you want to socialize or sleep. One of the rooms we stayed in we picked because the description was "mostly quiet." There was nothing quiet about it. I was up until 4am listening to loud drum beats.

On the upside the location is incredibly convenient for walking around town, however, any place you stay in Old San Juan will have that same benefit. Everyone who worked at the front desk was EXTREMELY nice and helpful. I really appreciated their warmth and willingness to make recommendations for us.

I just feel that for nearly 200 a night the least a hotel could do is provide a bottle of water and or some toiletries. There's nothing "boutique" feelings about that.

I wish I had stayed at another hotel in Old San Juan, perhaps they are all like this? I don't have a point of comparison, but I hope this review will be helpful to others. Have fun. Puerto Rico is a blast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

First: luz, the manager is great! The welcome was warm, and very considerate ... It was our honeymoon and they left us sleep late even we had to check out early. It's a little noisy but they warn u about it. Inside is beautiful, like and old casona! And u are in the heart of it all! Thank u for making our honeymoon so sweet!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck Hill, Tortola
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed one night (Saturday) at Da' House and really enjoyed it. The staff is extremely helpful, happy to answer any questions and very enthusiastic about their jobs.

I'm a very light sleeper, so we booked a "quiet" room, and were still disturbed by other guests going in and out of their rooms. Still, having read reviews here and being aware that Da' House could be loud on weekends, I was actually pretty pleased with the quietness of our room. It's not the hotel's fault that guests don't know how to close their doors quietly, etc., and we definitely did not have any street or bar noise in room 402.

I was slightly disappointed with the quality of the room -- mostly just that some of the flooring was old and in need of replacing. But the room was clean, and the bathroom was updated and very clean. More than sufficient for our one-night stay.

My favorite part of the stay was just the great vibe of the place. From the relaxed, friendly staff, to the decor, to the unbeatable location in the heart of Old San Juan.

Room Tip: Book a quiet room if you're a light sleeper; staff are helpful in choosing the right room for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.