We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$90 / Night - Just OK - Details Below” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Da House Hotel to your Saves list
Da House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“$90 / Night - Just OK - Details Below”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Walked in at 11 pm looking for a room for the night. Knew about the hotel from Lonely Planet.

Pros:
Cheap for the area - $90 / night
Great location - heart of old san juan
Clean Room
Free in-room internet (Ethernet only)


Cons
Salsa bar outside - loud music until 2 am
No elevator - need to carry bags up to the 3rd floor
No TV in room
Creaking old bed;my head ended up lower than my feet because of the old mattress.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    196
    83
    36
    33
See reviews for
24
278
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my one night here. No tv. No problem. The location is great, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the place has a great charm. I stayed in room 402 which has an outside balcony. You can go up on the roof which has a great view of the city. There are also lounge chairs and a hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at Da House Hotel 1/23-1/27 2013. Easily booked online through their own website. Arrived in the evening from our flight. With luggage, $25 ride from the airport. Front desk staff buzzed us in, and check in was smooth with no problems. Front desk staff was fun and friendly, and very knowledgeable about restaurants, bars, and fun things in the area. Lobby, hallways, and rooms are all an art gallery, with a bohemian vibe. NO elevator, so it was a struggle to get our suitcases up the stairs. Rooms are small, with high ceilings, but clean. These are very basic accommodations, full bed, no TV, small bathroom. Room was above the nightclub, and was VERY loud, but we came prepared with earplugs. When wearing earplugs, music was really more like white noise, I had no problems sleeping. They also offer earplugs at the front desk. Rooftop terrace was beautiful, one night they were serving all-you-can drink mojitos for $10. Location is in the heart of Old San Juan, once we were there from the airport, we could walk to everything. More of a location for younger hipper types, it was almost like a hostel where you have your own room and bathroom. If you expect a 5 star hotel with full amenities, this will not be your style. If you want a clean bed, and to be in the center of Old San Juan, & more local flavor this can't be beat. The value is top notch, and I will DEFINITELY stay here the next time I'm in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed in 306 and really underestimated what it means to be "close to the party". the music and noise did not stop until about 4:30am. even with earplugs, we could not block anything out. the location is good, the decor cute, and front staff super helpful. but it was just way too loud.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Really great little hotel with lots of attitude and character right in the heart of Old Town San Juan.
It's a great building that I would love to own. We had a plumbing issue with our toilet backing up and receptionist dealt with it quickly. She was also very helpful and friendly and gave us some great recommendations. We did not have to deal with the noise from the nearby salsa club as it was closed the night we stayed here But I can see how it could be an issue if you have a tough time dealing with noise.
The rooftop deck is outstanding with a fantastic Jacuzzi.
Rooms are simple but clean and overall I found this place to be great value for money.

David

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Da House has been on my radar ever since the Frugal Traveler reviewed it several years ago. An impromptu trip to San Juan finally gave me a chance to evaluate it for myself.

The appeal lies in the great location in Old San Juan. Da House is a short walk from the Christopher Columbus square, Plaza Colón. This means you are also very near to restaurants and bars of all types.

The hotel itself definitely has its advantages. There are spacious public areas filled with local art. Choose the right room and you will definitely feel part of Puerto Rico, enjoying cool tile floors in vibrant designs and windows that open to warm Caribbean breezes.

There are quirks. I stayed in 306, which had a very large bedroom and a small sitting room that was accessed from the bedroom. The bed was soft but comfortable and the furniture was an eclectic mix of the old and the new (think ikea and Pier 1). The bathroom was tiny, and this seems to hold true throughout the hotel, where they've applied a formula of a stall shower, toilet and single sink. It works, though, although I did encounter one afternoon when there was little hot water.

There is no WiFi in the rooms, but Da House does provide Ethernet in each room and supplies a cable. WiFi is available in the spacious public common area on the second floor, along with a PC connected to a large flat-panel television.

You will see warnings online about the noise, and if you have any trouble sleeping take heed. The Nuyorican Cafe can be loud, especially if you are in a room overlooking the alley. I actually liked the music because I felt immersed in the culture, but others might require earplugs or headphones to sleep. Or you could just go down and join in the fun, which can run until 4 a.m. or so.

At any rate, this was close to Castillo Cristobal and the piers where cruise ships dock. There is even a small beach near Cristobal that seems to get little use. The hotel also has an ample roof deck, with great views of Old San Juan and a hot tub, although it can get very breezy up there.

However, I would stay at Da House again because of the location (all of Old San Juan is walkable from here if you are in even average shape). The music in the middle of the night would just be part of the Latin magic.

Room Tip: Interior rooms and those on higher floors will experience less noise. Request a room with direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I liked it here. Yes, it was loud. Some nights were better than others (we stayed 4 nights total) but ear plugs for me did the trick. But believe the comments about noise! If you are sensitive then it isn't for you.

The rooms are small and the bathrooms ranged from ok to nice. The interior is interesting, the beds basic and more or less comfortable. They also appeared totally clean to me and I checked :) If you wake up itching it is probably mosquitoes.

The best pro to the hotel is the location. It is great. The second best pro is the staff. They were friendly and helpful even late at night. Really, that made the difference between it being so so and it being nice.

Room Tip: I think it is worth having a room on an external wall. Just be prepared with ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas
Hotel Plaza De Armas
#17 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#28 of 45 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#12 of 45 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#39 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Hotel in Puerto Rico
My Hotel in Puerto Rico
#18 of 27 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.