We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserved before rate change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Da House Hotel to your Saves list
Da House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Reserved before rate change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 12/28-1/04 and on 1/08. We reserved back in September so our rate was $100/night.
For that price, it was great. The hotel does not yet warrant the new rates: here are the pros and cons.
The location is terrific, the staff is very responsive and the rooms are very nice. The noise level described was not as bad and practical non-existent.
The cons: there are no coffee pots and the hotel has no restaurant so mornings required going out for coffee which I don't care for. Putting coffee pots into the rooms would be a simple addition. We had an inside room for a few nights but the room had no windows so we switched and that room had a not-so-great bathroom. The bathrooms all require an upgrade to justify the increased rates.
All in all, we were pleased to stay here and with the long stay, got to know all of the employs and all were helpful and friendly.
We left for 4 nights to spend time in Culebra; I discovered that I had forgotten all of my expensive hair products but on our return, the housekeeper had kept them for me, a wonderful surprise and a measure of honesty and integrity.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    192
    81
    36
    32
See reviews for
23
275
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room was small, but convenient. Great art on the walls and very friendly staff (especially the guy who looks like John Turturro). The common areas were very beautiful. Jacuzzi on top has a great view. Good breakfast place down the street; everything was very accessible. Don't stay here on the weekend, too loud.

Room Tip: Not over the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much. The staff was very nice and pleasant. Kuddos for the new lobby, very stylish. The rooms were clean and neat. This boutique hotel is very cozy. We loved the decorations and the vibes of this hotel. Our room was very comfortable, it even had an extra small bed when we were only expecting one. Although we chose a quiet room, away from the party (we couldn't hear any music) but we could still hear some noise from people and children outside the rooms. Still, we would definitely go back and we recommend it to everyone who's looking for a small hotel that is worth the $$.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wrong!!!!! We supposedly had a quieter inside room on the fourth floor and you can still hear the music til 3 am! It doesn't stop there... noises reverberate throughout the inside stairwell at all hours. Tables, or chairs, seemed to scraped across the floor all the time, and you could hear every foot step and door close.

I guess I thought the noise couldn't be that bothersome and you can use earplugs if you want, but I don't like them. My partner used the plugs, but he still was bothered by all the noise. Thank goodness we only spent one night here. The price was great and the location was perfect for Old San Juan, but I would rather have payed more for some peace and quiet.

The rooms are small, for sure, and insides have windows the look out to the noisy stairwells.
Our room had the right side of the bed pushed up against the wall, and it didn't have to be! I guess it was clean enough even with all the dirty looking old tile work everywhere. I think some might call it charming... not me.

The front desk people were great and our 2 days in San Juan were delightful, but I ignored the reviews on noise in this hotel and wish I had chosen differently.

Room Tip: I have a feeling every room is noisy to some extent. If that doesn't bother you then the locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent a few days doing the resort-style stays elsewhere on the island, and wanted something with a bit more local flavor. Da House came highly recommended online, and I can see why. Very charming building (although a little difficult to find if you're not looking closely or familiar with the area) in an awesome part of Old Town. A few blocks from the square and Castilo, easy to get to the pier/marina, museums, and other destinations in OSJ. Friendly service, cozy (=small) rooms, and well-priced. Would recommend to those who prefer a less "over-the-top" experience like many other hotels/resorts try to throw at you.

Room Tip: Ask, ask, ask! If you have a question about the location, specific size, or amenities, ask before bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited Da House about 4-5 years ago, and loved it. The style, the comfort, the staff. Very en vogue and you felt at the time like you had found a hidden gem. High-end Puerto Rican artwork and interesting furniture. But, my husband and I stopped back just today and noticed the entrance/check in area had changed and moved from the alley. But, now the entrance is poorly designed with gaudy red and silver stripes and packed with chincy tourist-trap crap that you can get at every other bad gift shop around San Juan. Such a bummer. Da House had such a good thing going that truely honored the original historic architecture.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

So the one pro - good location for going out at night... restaurants, bars, salsa, sites, etc...
The 2nd floor has a very cool area for hanging out - but I didn't see a soul using it. Without alcohol or food, I guess what's the point? There were games - but this isn't the place for anyone under the age of 18.

Cons... The wood doors were recently stained, the smell was awful. They weren't even dry and were still sticky. The AC unit was leaking. Our room was small. My friend stayed here in the past and recommended it - she agreed her room last time was so much nicer so I will have to give them the benefit of the doubt. The housekeeper's kid spent the entire early evening playing and yelling (prime time nap time before going out) in the hallways which was terribly annoying.

There is no shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, etc... It may as well be an overpriced hostile. I personally would never stay here again. For $160, I would much prefer a short taxi ride and peace and more cleanliness elsewhere.

Also, we got lost on the way there (streets can be slightly confusing in Old San Juan) - we called 6 times and no one answered!! The next day, a totally different staff was there and they seemed a lot more attentive and made sure we had a nice stay. Perhaps we arrived on an off/busy day and should have been offered a different room that wasn't smelly and leaky?

If you want to party all night and stumble on in, then this is the perfect place for you. If you want to party and still have a good night's rest, perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.