We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, and yes, it's loud at night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Da House Hotel to your Saves list
Da House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good location, and yes, it's loud at night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here the first night we got to Puerto Rico. (We rented a car from the Luis Munoz airport and parked a few blocks from Da House, which cost us $13 for overnight. Be careful - there are two garages next to each other on Recinto Sur and one is hourly with no maximum, so staying overnight would have cost a fortune. The one to the right of it (it's a one way street) is the cheaper option.)

I'd booked us a room on the 4th (top) floor in hopes of not being able to near Nuyorican Cafe below at night, but it turns out that it didn't make any difference. We were in Room 405 Manuel Hernandez. It was simply furnished and clean, with air conditioning that felt lovely after the trek from the parking garage and then up 4 flights of stairs with my 45 lb. suitcase in the Puerto Rican heat.

There's free wi-fi but only in the lobby, but if you have a laptop you can plug a LAN cord into it in your hotel room. Rooms don't have shampoo/conditioner but they do have soap.

If you're clumsy (like I am) watch out for the corners of the bed frame. I walked into it and ended up with a nasty bruise on my knee that is still there a week later!

The location was good - we could walk to both castles, which is all I cared about seeing on our one day in San Juan - but driving on the one way streets was pretty frustrating. The streets are poorly labelled, as were the maps we had. I managed to find a close up map of Old Town in my guide book (Moon Handbook) which helped - but still didn't label which direction each street went since they're all one way. Drivers do not follow the same right of way rules as in the States.

We decided to chill out in our room after dinner (at nearby Cafe Berlin, I will review separately) and then went down to Nuyorican Cafe on the ground floor of the hotel around 10:30 or 11 pm. The cover fee is $5, not waived for hotel guests. A rum and coke cost $5 and while it was in a small plastic cup, it was STRONG. Afterwards, we went upstairs to the roof of the building and sat in the very hot tub, which I thought I wouldn't want to go in since it's so hot there (compared to DC in November) but after standing in the club for a few hours, the hot tub did feel good! By the time we went to bed it was close to 2 am and I was glad to have brought a pair of ear plugs with me. If I hadn't had those, the noise from the club would have annoyed me - but instead I fell right asleep.

So basically, if you're okay with carrying your luggage up and down the stairs and you bring some earplugs for sleeping, Da House is a cool place to stay.

Room Tip: You will still hear the noise from the club on the top floor. Maybe an interior room would be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    195
    82
    36
    33
See reviews for
24
276
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I wanted to be near the party and restaurants. This hotel is great for that. My room was directly over the party. Three flights down and great stumbling distance for anything in old San Juan. They have two types of rooms; some facing in to an inner art gallery space and some facing out to the street. Lovely staff, super friendly maids, cool space.

Room Tip: Some rooms are completely enclosed which means no sun but also more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We original only booked one night at da house, however, we enjoyed it so much we stayed the remainder of our trip! The staff was very helpful. They sent us in all the right directions wether it was dinning or entertainment! The art around the hotel was amazing. Da house made our trip to old san juan on halloween probably one of the best I have ever been on!!!!! Plus the view from the roof top hot tub was amazing during the day and breath taking at night.

Room Tip: room 303 was great not to loud and the doors open to a view of an old school church
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed three days before a cruise and loved it. Over 60 and the stairs were no trouble even after walking all over Old San Juan all day. Friends who stayed at a fab very pricey hotel saw our place and said they would stay at Da House next time, love the ambience. Great, and the ear plugs work great!

Room Tip: Third floor is quieter. and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved this place. A little tricky to find but worth it! Great simple rooms right in the heart of Old San Juan. Killer desk attendant who directed us to whatever our fancy was at the moment without hesitation. FANTASTIC rooftop pool and hot tub. We went up there with a bottle of champagne and enjoyed the lights of the city! Really great spot if you intend on exploring and not wasting away inside your hotel room - perfect location, accommodations and extras for the traveling couple we are.

Room Tip: Make sure to request somewhere away from the party if thats what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the end of October and this hotel was everything we were expecting and more. There are many reviews here regarding noise and whatnot. We were on the 3rd floor and were so tired from all the walking in beautiful San Juan that we didn't mind it. I would like to stress out that the best part of this hotel is the wonderful staff. We have no words to thank helpful and great people like Alexandra, Michelle and Luz, who went out of their way to give us tips and recommendations in the area and beyond. We even caught a great documentary called "Las carpetas" on their recommendation. They gave us pointers for local buses and restaurants in Puerto rico. Service like that is priceless and whenever we go back to this beautiful island Da House is where we will be staying at!

Sincerely,

Néstor and Armary

Room Tip: We stayed at 306 and loved the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

this place is super pretty. the rooftop hot tub was so cool. its right above nuyorican cafe so you could go to the bar and be right near your place. it would be fun to come with a group because the hotel and roof are so cool, that its fun to hang there a while before you go out. all the staff were genuinely sweet and really helpful and gave good recomendations.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.