We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of old San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Da House Hotel to your Saves list
Da House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
St.Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In the heart of old San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This old hotel is in a great location in Old San Juan. It's old walls are covered with artwork, keeping in spirit with the fact that it was once an art school of some kind. If you are looking for something unique that has no resemblance to the hotel chains, this place is for you. The rooms are pretty small, but the hotel has a big lounge area on the second floor with free Wi-Fi. The rooms are clean and have a lot of character. This area is very busy, so it will be noisy throughout the night, but this all adds to the experience of staying here. We were on the third floor and slept fine. There is also a great traditional place to grab breakfast within 1 minutes walk from the hotel. Staying here will also save you the cost and hassle of trying to get in and out of Old San Juan. I loved Old San Juan, and will definitely come again!

We stayed here before our cruise. The taxi fare from the airport was about $21, and we were able to walk down to the pier to get on our cruise ship. It was a 15 minute walk with our luggage. The hotel website is www.dahousehotelpr.com/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    184
    77
    36
    29
See reviews for
22
255
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rowlett
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed one night before our cruise left and really enjoyed the hotel. It's in the middle of Old San Juan and very unique. I had read about it being noisy so we brought earplugs and heard nothing! (On the 4th floor). Be aware there is no elevator so your luggage has to be carried up. But isn't that what husbands are for? Staff was extremely helpful and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor interior with earplugs was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I were there for 4 nights in June - been away from TA for awhile. Very central, clean, friendly staff, comfortable room on the 3rd floor - no elevator


The noise is an issue from the neighboring club. Bring headphones or dance the night away.

The best part is the view from the roof - with a hot tub! We enjoyed drinks upstairs most nights and a walk to a nearby restaurant.

Room Tip: get a room upstairs, near the front of the building for a quieter setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night (Sunday) in room 406 - definitely a hike to get up and down, but was really only an issue when I had luggage.

Room was clean and comfortable - on the small side. As other reviewers have said, no hair dryer, ironing board, shampoo, tv.

Rooftop had an amazing view - hot tub was very hot, despite what other reviewers have said.

Seemed like Sunday night was pretty dead in San Juan, so I would guess that noise was not as loud as usual - didn't bother me at all.

Lots of places to eat/drink within walking distance.

Overall - would definitely recommend to friends and would stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Loved this Bohemian style, funky hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. Front desk people were all wonderful. We had an inside room so it was very quiet. Loved all the art work everywhere. Nice and unique lobby area with local products. Loved the samples of soap. I'd stay here again in a heart beat. Reminded me of being in Europe with the ocean just down the street. Lovely shops, great restaurants. VERY well patrolled so as a single woman, I felt very safe walking to a restaurant at night. Wonderful hat shop down afew streets.. Ole Panama Hat Shop.
Excellent WiFi connection on 2nd floor. Small refrig. in room was very convenient. Handsome bartender across the alley. Loved staying here.
Highly recommend. Not for faint of heart...no elevator. Being in good shape is very helpful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and courteous. The hotel itself is gorgeous and funky and the rooms are immaculate and comfortable. The best thing about this place is the rooftop hot tub. What a view!
The party downstairs was certainly raucous, but if you are in an interior room, you will be fine. And if the sounds of salsa and reggaeton are keeping you up, go downstairs and have a cocktail and dance the night away!
Of all of the places that I have stayed in San Juan, this is by far the best for your money. The ambiance is fab and the location cannot be beat!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter but outer rooms have a great breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I knew what I was getting into by staying at Da House before I even came. I chose it because of the great location. I stayed in an interior room hoping that it would be a little quieter late in the evening but it was not. The music from the club downstairs thumped until 3:00 a.m. That's ok though. Like I said, I anticipated it. I would not stay here again, however. If you have to check out of the hotel before 8:00 a.m., there is no one there to take your key or give a receipt. Everything is locked up until then. This is the perfect place for people who just want to party all night, get a few hours sleep and a quick shower in the morning. This is not a place for relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 San Francisco St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.