We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cervantes

Save Saved
You added Cervantes to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cervantes
Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Kingsland, Georgia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fall Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great choice due to it's location and reviews. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. We want to specifically mention Anna (or Ana) who was OUTSTANDING! only two downsides...(1) noise from the street and (2) noise from the A/C unit. first item was beyond the control of any hotel. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Peter T,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your kind words with Ana and the rest of our staff. We're already looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    84
    23
    13
    19
See reviews for
44
141
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a great hotel in a wonderful location. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful, especially Judy at Reception. We really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay here again and will be recommending this hotel to our friends,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Brcrow33,
Wow! Thank you for that great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to the next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Room was small but kept up well. Noise all night long from A/C unit across street. Staff was very good and helpful. Would stay there again if it wasn't for the A/c unit across street. This roome faced back of hotel. Maybe front facing room would be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bob L,
We appreciate your honest review and sincerely apologize about the noise issues. Thank you for the great remarks about our staff. Hope you had a great time on the cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lawrence, Ohio, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We picked the Cervantes because of the reviews on trip adviser and we were not disappointed. We landed early Saturday and our cruise did not leave port til Sunday night. The hotel staff went out of their way to assist us from the moment we walked in the door till we checked out. Being in the heart of Old San Juan was exceptional. The only downside that people mentioned was the dumping of the garbage in the early morning. we hardly noticed it. The hotel is located in a very safe area and never felt that we were not safe. Great mattress and very clean bath facility Our safe gave us some issues and they fixed it immediately. The free trolley system is right outside the hotel. My husband and I took advantage of that on Sunday to explore the city. The free WiFi did not work well in the room but it worked fine on the balcony and down in the lobby. The continental breakfast was perfect for us. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Karla D,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with and took full advantage of our location to explore our beautiful city. Thank you for taking the time to review us and even adding a great picture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chateau Cervantes. We stayed there the day before our cruise out of San Juan. This small boutique hotel gave us the local feel that we were looking for. Jennifer at the front desk was very friendly and informative when we checked in. She gave us hints on what to see, how to get there, and where to have dinner that night.

The hotel is very near a stop for the tram that the Park Service operates that will take you to both of the forts in Old San Juan.

The hotel's web site notes that there is WiFi in the rooms, but WiFi was only available in the lobby. This was not a problem for us since we did not need WiFi during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Rick L,

We appreciate you taking the time to review us and share your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed everything about your time with us. We will share the kind words with Jennifer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After reading mixed reviews about the Cervantes I booked it for a night prior to a cruise. I was worried we were in for a bad stay but, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. It is really close to everything and walking distance to most tourist locations. The front desk staff were great! They were all so friendly. We were offered a map of Old San Juan and given directions on how to get the trolley, some good restaurants and what was available in the area. Some of the reviews I had read about noise and the mediocre breakfast were not true. We had a lovely breakfast of yogurt, juice, a variety of Danish and rolls with butter and jam and freshly brewed coffee. Our room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and spacious. We had no difficulty with water or ac as we had read. I would highly recommend the Cervantes and we hope to get the chance to stay there again!

Room Tip: We did not use the pool or fitness center. We did stay in the rear of the hotel and that street has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Lisa H,

Thank you for choosing and trusting us as your accommodations during your visit to our island. We are so glad it was all beyond your expectations and that our staff provided you with excellent service. Also, our hotel does not have a fitness center or pool, but thanks for the suggestions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The pillow smells bad, seems like they don't even wash it. Tear on a comporter and I don't think they even replace the pillow cases coz it's really really bad. The extra charge for house cleaning we're did it go. The key lock doesn't even work... Horrible...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Ryan S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us even though it didn't go as expected. First, let me apologize for the minor mistakes you encountered while at our hotel. I can assure you we have an excellent housekeeping department that makes sure every day that standards have been met. If pillows were not your preference, we would've gladly replaced them for you. Also, the Key Lock wasn't working but we did provide you with an actual key access your room. We hope next time we will be up to your standards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;