We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cervantes to your Saves list
Cervantes
Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hotel Cervantes in centrally located in Old San Juan within walking distance on most of the local attractions and eateries. Very helpful and pleasant front desk staff, especially Michelle who gave us wonderful information on attractions to see and places to eat. Our king suite was awesome. Very large suite facing the Recinto Sur St. with nice balcony. Had large master bath with spa sized steam shower and dual shower heads ( handheld and rainfall) and a bidet. The girls slept on a pull out sleeper sofa that was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel. Would have been awesome if it had a pool.

Room Tip: The suite faced the street and at times you could hear the traffic and nightlife outside, If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
So glad you enjoyed staying in one of our beautiful Cervantes Suites. Thank you for mentioning the highlights of our Hotel like our staff and location. We hope you had a great time cruising with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    91
    25
    14
    19
See reviews for
47
159
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I took a cruise leaving from San Juan so we decided to arrive a few days early and enjoy Old San Juan. We researched many places and decided to give Chateau Cervantes a try. We were 100% satisfied. The location was perfect for shops, restaurants, and for the short walk (about 2 blocks) down hill to the cruise terminal. The staff was extremely helpful with shops and restaurant suggestions. We were also able to leave our luggage their until we could board the ship on sailing day. We had a standard room on the third floor with a balcony. The A/C worked great - it was 60 degrees in the room and we loved it! The room was very comfortable. There was noise in the morning from the dumpsters being emptied, but that is part of life, and the hotel can't control that. If we ever have the chance to return to Old San Juan, we will again stay at the Cervantes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Stan V,

We appreciate this great review so much. Thank you for giving such an a detailed review about our hotel, staff, and city.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grain Valley, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Old San Juan one day early for our 30th anniversary cruise so we could see the sites of the city. We stayed at The Chateau Cervantes for several reasons. The big hotel across the street from the pier was booked up. So we searched and came up with this quaint 12 room hotel. It was Awesome. Very clean, very nice employees and well located. Only one and a half blocks from the Carnival Pier 4 and we were able to walk to all the sites in Old San Juan. The Castle, Fort El Morro etc. Very convenient location. The lady at the front desk was very helpful as where we could eat dinner. We will stay here again when we go back to San Juan.

Room Tip: I believe most of their rooms have a balcony. I'll include a couple of pictures from our balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We all agree that our location and staff are the stars of this establishment. Those pictures were great.

Hope you enjoyed your stay & cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chateau Cervantes for our honeymoon in the king suite, and we couldn't have been more happy! It is in a good location in Old San Juan without being too Americanized, like hotels such as the Sheraton or Hilton. We loved the Spanish style decor, from tall wooden windows, to the beautiful marble sinks and abstract paintings! The staff was extremely friendly, offering up suggestions for shopping areas and just being generally accommodating to our laundry and towel needs. In the middle of the trip, my husband became ill, and they did everything they could to make him feel comfortable. The BEST part about this trip were the little surprises left for us each day. On one occasion, we came back to our room with two swans creatively crafted from towels. Another day were rose petals scattered across the bed with a cute towel elephant. The hotel also kindly provided us with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Last but not least, the last two days of our stay were generously serviced in the GORGEOUS penthouse suite. I can honestly say that it is bigger than our Dallas apartment! The privacy with windows encasing the bedroom was heaven, as well as the beautiful outdoor lounging area in a terrace setting. Though the streets became extremely loud at night, the hotel made up for it in its beautiful decor and excellent service. I also recommend the restaurant downstairs. The innovative cuisine was worth the price!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the king suite if you are looking for a nice living area and comfortable sleep sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Brittany M,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this thoughtful review. We really enjoyed the pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chateau Cervantes for the first time, for one night before taking a cruise out of San Juan. We had no idea what to expect, and what we found was everything we'd hoped for, and more! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and everything worked perfectly. The location in the heart of Old San Juan was perfect for strolling and shopping AND for walking (with our luggage) to our cruise ship. I'd recommend Chateau Cervantes to anyone, and I'd definitely stay here again. (And the price was very reasonable compared to what I found listed for other hotels in Old San Juan.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for those kind words about your stay. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our location, it really is one of our best features!

We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My bf and I (both in our early 30s) stayed at Chateau Cervantes on the night of June 6, 2013. We had a wonderful experience there. Originally we looked at reviews on TA and strongly considered staying at Hotel Convento but when we had called for reservations they said they were out of rooms so chose Cervantes instead and SO VERY PLEASED we stayed here! Just FYI, when we visited El Convento it was really underwhelming and the building was so ancient! If you are a couple in your 50s+ I recommend staying there. It has a more "mature couple" vibe. Otherwise, definitely should venture out and stay at hundreds of more modern hotels that San Juan has to offer and save El Convento for later :)

Hotel Cervantes is situated on Recinto Sur street, which can also be called "restaurant row" because there are so many restaurants to choose from when you walk out of the hotel! We were so pleasantly surprised. Every site in Old San Juan is within walking distance from the hotel. However, there are free trolleys and shuttles everywhere in Old San Juan which take you to the forts, museums, other parts of town. The trolley and shuttle stops are all located within 100 meters from the hotel... amazing!

The hotel offers free breakfast at the lobby dining area (very classy and beautiful setting). Juice, coffee, tea, warm croissants, bagels, danishes, and muffins were served. It was a good simple breakfast.

The only problem we had was the shower door. We stayed in room 11. The shower door is a clear shower door and when you close the door shut to take a shower, the water leaks through from the bottom because there is a 1-inch opening gap from the floor and the door. If the water from the showerhead is aiming at the door, water is definitely going to spray outside and make a huge puddle when you come out of the shower. That is what happened to me:( We asked the receptionist if there was anything they could do for that and they gave us more towels, which was helpful.

Could you please fix the shower door so that there is no opening between the floor and door when the door is closed? Thank you!

Otherwise, highly recommended, beautiful hotel!

Thank you Jennifer at the front desk, for being so kind with us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We would like to express our gratitude towards you for this amazing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience Old San Juan at it's best. We will defintely be looking into the issue with the shower in that room.

We hope next time you visit our island, you stay with us at Chateau Cervantes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in a Cervantes Suite (King suite) and had no idea how large of a room we had booked. It was the size of a small apartment with three balconies, an extra half bath, a wet bar and a large living area. The hotel itself was beautiful. The staff was great and stored our luggage we arrived and even stored it for a few hours when we returned from our cruise a week later. After dinner and exploring the city we got drinks from the hotel bar and took them up to our room and enjoyed the view from our balcony. The only downside, which we knew of before booking, was extreme noise during the night. The room wasn't at all sound proof and we heard a lot of loud music from the nearby clubs on Saturday night. It may have been a problem if we stayed for multiple nights, but was not that big of a deal for one night. Overall, the hotel was definitely worth the price paid. It was a great, authentic experience in Old San Juan.

Room Tip: The Cervantes Suite (King Suite) was the size of a small apt. It was amazing but way more space than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Andrea,

Thank you for the kind comments about our staff and your stay. We like to remind our guests that Old San Juan features a very popular nightlife during the weekends that provide excellent ambiance. We are always more than willing to move our guests to quieter rooms. We are so glad you enjoyed our King Suite with awesome balconies.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.