We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cervantes to your Saves list
Cervantes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Cervantes is in a great location. All of Old San Juan is walkable from here. It is 15-20 mins away from the international airport as well as the smaller airport, Isla Grande. Also, its just a couple blocks away from where the cruise ships docks for the day. The rooms are nice and they serve a yummy (carb filled) breakfast - muffins, croissant & cinnamon rolls! There were 4 people in our room so 2 of us had to stay on the pull out sofa couch. Not too comfortable but the friendly staff made up for that. They are full of helpful tips. We got caught in the rain and made a mess in their lobby but they didnt mind at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so glad all these positive factors made your stay at our hotel an excellent one!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    116
    31
    17
    22
See reviews for
63
191
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

great place to stay. this was my first time in Puerto Rico and the staff was more than willing to offer recommendations, book taxis, etc. we were in town to run the Puerto Rico marathon, and the staff ensured we had a taxi at 4 am and even let us know other guests were running so we could share the cab and save money. I would like to give special thanks to Michelle, who gave us excellent places to eat, and showed us where everything was in town that we could possibly need - super max, cvs, marshals, the good shopping streets and the places to avoid. so thanks Michelle for making our trip awesome!!! also I would recommend getting the mofongo at raices up the street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. They truly are what make us standout with their friendliness and knowledge of our Island. We are so glad you enjoyed your first trip to Puerto Rico and hope you come next year for the Marathon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this room on booking.com and decided that I did not want to stay here so I cancelled. For reasons unknown I was charged for $356.80 for a room I never even seen. I called the hotel to see what was going on and they were very rude. I asked to speak to the owner and the manager (Judy) would not let me speak to him. I just hope if anyone has this problem get better results than I have. I would not be complaining if I did not cancel but I booked two rooms and cancelled both of them and only one was canceled. Good luck to anyone whom has a problem because they are not very good about resolving them.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We apologize for the situation but would like to remind you that we refunded payment for your first night. Let us emphasize that the issue was brought upon because Booking.com couldn't find your cancellation and without a cancellation, our policy allows us to charge you. We were following our policies and procedures at our best.

We hope you reconsider staying with us during any future visits to our beautiful island of Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night before departing on our Southern Caribbean cruise. The hotel is in an amazing location. We easily walked everywhere, and if we had been cruising with Carnival (which we weren't) we could have even walked from the hotel to the cruise terminal.
Check-in was extremely fast and the girl at the desk was very personable and friendly. Our room was very small, but for one night it wasn't a big deal. Complimentary breakfast is nothing special. It is just a small plate with a sample of cheese, croissants, etc.
We had a couple issues during our stay- 1) My pillow was covered in small black hair upon arrival. I took it downstairs and the two men at the desk quickly apologized and brought me a new one. They were very prompt and sincere in their concern over the problem. I told them it really wasn't a huge deal, but they wrote up an incident report anyways. I liked their dedication to customer service. It was truly amazing. 2) The alleyway behind the hotel in extremely loud. My husband and I both woke up several times during the night by what sounded like a large garbage truck emptying bins with numerous glass bottles in them. It was something that was tolerable for a night, but would have been hard to deal with for longer.
Overall I liked the experience and I especially liked the staff, but I will probably be staying elsewhere upon my return to the beautiful Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Courtney,
Thank you for staying with us during your stay in our beautiful island. We apologize for the two inconveniences you faced while being here. As you can tell, our dedicated staff works hard to solve any issues and provide a quick solution. We are so glad our staff provided you and your husband with outstanding customer service since that is what we thrive for. We hope you reconsider staying with us on any future trips to our beloved, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Chateau Cervantes hotel a few days ago after a recent Caribbean cruise and we loved the place. It's a very old hotel which has undergone a recent renovation, and we thought that both the lobby and the guest rooms were quite elegant. It's located on Recinto Sur (a main street in Old Town San Juan) so some reviewers complain about the street noise. Even though we were there on Saturday night (when Old Town is absolutely packed with visitors!) we slept great. We found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly, and we were served a nice continental breakfast which included warm croissants & bagels with cream cheese. They were happy to store our luggage for us, and Yuri & Michelle also gave us some valuable recommendations on places to visit and where to eat. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about street noise, try requesting a room toward the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Mr. Rhodes,

Thank you for the kind and honest words about our hotel. They truly are valuable to us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and recommendations from our wonderful staff. We look forward to your next stay with us at Chateau Cervantes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Cervantes in January and had read both negative and positive reviews on the hotel. We weren't able to get in for just one night at the Sheraton as we did the previous year so we opted to stay here. While the staff was gracious and my 'kids' 22&18 were never so happy to be out of the cab...my youngest thought were were going to die in that cab, I think they had lost our reservation. It took forever for them to find our reservation and then get the room ready. It was hot and stuffy but wow what an amazing shower! It was a room all in itself. The pull out sofa the kids had to use was ok at best, good think they are used to a dorm lifestyle, while our bed was comfortable the room remained stuffy and the ac was LOUD. Just when I would start to doze off it would start or the night life in the back alley would start.

Michelle was wonderful and VERY informative. She truly made the visit pleasant and helped us figure out our day before we boarded the ship.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate you remembering to review us after your stay in January. We apologize that your check in took too long and we will work hard to get this issue resolved. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. They are what truly make our hotel shine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment we pulled up by taxi to the hotel, the entire staff was so friendly, cheerful, and accommodating, even the Chef helped bring in our luggage. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with balcony doors that open to a quaint street below. The location is perfect and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the Bay, which we walked along after dinner. We ate dinner at the hotel, at an outside table, the food was delicious. They served a very nice Continental breakfast in the morning, with a freshly brewed cup of coffee for each customer. On our return from a cruise, the staff allowed us to store our bags until we had to leave for the airport. Next time we're in Puerto Rico, we are definitely staying here. In my opinion, it's a very romantic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the generous review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.