We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for the money but be prepared to wait for the elevator” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Winterville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for the money but be prepared to wait for the elevator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel was very nice and very clean. The staff was professional and spoke English well. It is just minutes from Condado, Old San Juan and the cruise port. The room was small but it was fine for one night. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The only downfall to this hotel is the SINGLE elevator. It gets quite congested and you sometimes have to wait 5 minutes or more to be able to get on. It may stop at your floor but its usually so full that you cant get on. I would also suggest a room away from the elevator. It is running non stop since it is the sole means of transport for the entire hotel. Overall, I would stay here again. Its not worth $200 more dollars a night to stay 5 minutes closer to the cruise port. A taxi from Miramar will run you 12-16 dollars depending on where you want to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    227
    121
    42
    13
See reviews for
120
156
41
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a shower head that worked like a water cannon. Two days, and two complaints to front desk later, engineering still hadn't fixed it. It was painful to stand under the shower for even a few seconds with the force of the water. Finally, after a complaint to the Marriott Platinum customer care, someone managed to fix it.

Second time, they cut off hot water (actually all water) at 9:30 in the morning. Having had a long night, we'd turned in by 3 am and woke up at 9 ish only to find there was "maintenance work" for 4 hours!! Now I understand that maintenance has to happen, but can't that be scheduled at 1 pm in the afternoon? Management needs to take a good hard look at how these things work. I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Go get a room by Isla Verde instead of this downtown location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Suresh N,

Thank you for reviewing our property and for sharing your comments and concerns about your recent stay. It is extremely important for us to receive feedback regarding our service and overall quality of the hotel as this enables us to identify and correct areas needing improvement.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with the shower head and for cutting off the water for maintenance work during your stay. We have addressed your concerns and action has been taken for this matter not to occur again.

Once again, please accept our apologies and we hope this does not change your perception towards our property and hoping to see you soon again.

If we may assist you in the future, please contact us directly and we will be more than happy to help you!

Always at your service,

Cynthia Cruz
Reservations Manager
c.cruz@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is our pre cruise reservation. When we got there there was no bellman to help us with our luggage. Receptionist was courteous and held our bags so we can find a place to eat. Lots of restaurants just walking distance from the hotel. We also took a walk to the nearby lake. The hotel is very near the port.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear ciennalexa,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our hotel and sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that we did not have the type of service you were expecting such as bellman. Our property is considered as a select service hotel and for that reason we do not offer this type of service. We appreciate your remarks about the service you received from our staff and glad you enjoyed the restaurants and the Lagoon area.

Hope to see you soon and if we can be of assistance to you in any way, please do hesitate to contact me at 1-787-721-7400 x5554 or by e-mail at c.cruz@courtyard.com.

Always at your service,

Cynthia Cruz
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Staff and service were excellent. Comfortable beds, clean rooms.
Held our luggage day of cruise so we could tour San Juan.
Gave advice about where to eat and places to visit.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Paulusms,

Gracias! for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay before your cruise and that you found our location convenient. Once again, thank you and we hope seeing you back soon!

Saludos,

Cynthia Cruz
Reservations Manager
c.cruz@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We added a day to our stay in San Juan and couldn't get an additional day at the hotel we had previously booked for the next night. Upon arrival at the airport we called the Marriott and fortunately we got at room. We liked this hotel so much, we wished we had booked it for both nights. The staff was friendly; the hotel was very clean; has two great in-hotel restaurants (excellent bar drinks); good/safe location. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room (on 10th floor) was quiet and had a nice view. The only "con" would be that it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We would strongly recommend marriott miramar to all visitors to san juan. Its location is ideal - close to the major attraction of old san juan, bacardi rum distillery and all the traditional eating and drinking places. As regards the hotel - perfect room with all the necessary facilities including wi fi. The service and hospitality are par excellence and the entire staff has a very positive attitude to look after the guests. The concierge organized our trip to the rain forest very well and Hesus Barretto at the front desk was always very courteous, prompt, efficient and with a positive attitude to help us whenever required. Above all we feel the service was excellent because of the leadership of the General Manager Johanna Garay - always accessible and ready to provide all the support. Keep up the great work & God Bless.
pratima & rana kapoor

Room Tip: no information on the subject
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have stayed multiple times on business. This is place where you are not surrounded by tourists and you can get a sense of the island. The restaurants on-site are great and there are more within two blocks of the hotel. Also access to grocery and pharmacy within two blocks. There is only one small elevator and a limited fitness center but the staff and location make your stay great. I have the staff very helpful, warm and welcoming. They are all great ambassadors for Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar

Address: 801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive for understanding our guests business and leisure needs providing them with the essential amenities that will ensure their satisfaction. Guestrooms with panoramic city and Condado Bay views that will allow our guests to be comfortable and productive at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Juan Miramar Hotel San Juan
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
San Juan Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.