We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Provo, Utah, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good location. Restaurants and grocery store near by. Older building, but well maintained. Helpful service. Valet parking really the only option which is an additional charge. No fan in bathroom and no window...one of my pet peeves.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. We were on the 6th floor with a view towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    229
    122
    42
    13
See reviews for
120
158
41
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is just for you if you enjoy:

headaches
walking up and down the stairs becuase the elevator doesn't work
having to continuously get new room keys because they don't work (3 times in 3 days)
calling for a cab and having someone else take it
not having a view from your room
airplane decibel-level toilets
late check-in times


All in all, we knew what we were getting ourselves into but this was the ONLY hotel available the weekend before NYE... and it lived up to and exceeded its negative expectations.

The only positive: The cleaning ladies do a nice job and the front desk staff is friendly, so i don't blame them one bit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Did not like the location because there wasn't many restaurants close by or other things to do. You can only access free wifi from the lobby and not ya room which is ridiculous!!! The service in the dining area was very slow and expensive but the staff was polite, so good credit there. The whole time we was there the elevators were always occupied by staff and the electricity kept going out!! Definitely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights before a cruise. Great for taking the M3 bus (50 cents, no change given) to old San Juan bus station...where you can get on the free white trolly's that take you all over old San Juan. Folks on the bus were friendly and helpful. Old San Juan's small streets and forts are wonderful!

Rooms were clean and large and the beds great. The rennovation must be complete----as rooms were pleasant.

I liked being in a real neighborhood of Old San Juan---visiting the restaurants, drug stores, and grocery stores. Again, people were pleasant and helpful. More so than "back home."

Downsides---stay away from any room ending in 01---(101 and up) for those rooms are right next to the eleavator. And when we were there....there was a party going on in the room down the hall with people yelling each others names for two hours. That can happen anywhere....but being by the eleavator must have been a drag. Gettin a room at the end of the hall might be a good idea.

There are beggers in the area, but they don't persist and I didn't feel threatened or scared. I went to the stores a block down from the hotel, but I woudn't walk around there or old San Juan (and many places in the USA) by myself after 9:00 pm either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here with our free category 1-4 hotel certificate. We got in late and didn't want to use 25,000 Marriott points for a beach location the first night. The room was clean, staff very friendly, grocery store within 3 min walk which was a great option for breakfast! The fitness room was a bit small. We didn't use the pool because we just packed up and moved to the Isla Verde Resort the next day. Would be a great place to stay for a 1 night pre-cruise stop, close to the port. It is a bit more like a holiday inn vs. courtyard but can't complain when it was free for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is Marriott at its best in terms of comfort. Excellent beds and pillows, comfortable and spotless rooms. A small but nice pool and a small but functional fitness room. While I was there he restaurant and bar were open for the first time after remodeling and things were a little less than well-oiled, but the managers (all of them women) smoothed things over nicely. The only problem: for a four day trip this hotel is in the wrong location. It's in the middle of the new town, a long way from the beaches and an equally long way from the Convention Center and even further from old San Juan. It's presumably fine for people who are there for cruise ship trips, but for staying in San Juan itself its inconveniently located. That's made worse by the extremely expensive taxi system in San Juan.

Room Tip: Higher up the better so as to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a suite at this hotel. Very nice and updated with flat tv's. Older property. My only issue is that the restaurant was closed to a private party. Walked down the street and found a few restaurants. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar

Address: 801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive for understanding our guests business and leisure needs providing them with the essential amenities that will ensure their satisfaction. Guestrooms with panoramic city and Condado Bay views that will allow our guests to be comfortable and productive at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Juan Miramar Hotel San Juan
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
San Juan Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.