We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 1 night!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good for 1 night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here with our free category 1-4 hotel certificate. We got in late and didn't want to use 25,000 Marriott points for a beach location the first night. The room was clean, staff very friendly, grocery store within 3 min walk which was a great option for breakfast! The fitness room was a bit small. We didn't use the pool because we just packed up and moved to the Isla Verde Resort the next day. Would be a great place to stay for a 1 night pre-cruise stop, close to the port. It is a bit more like a holiday inn vs. courtyard but can't complain when it was free for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    189
    104
    37
    10
See reviews for
94
130
35
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is Marriott at its best in terms of comfort. Excellent beds and pillows, comfortable and spotless rooms. A small but nice pool and a small but functional fitness room. While I was there he restaurant and bar were open for the first time after remodeling and things were a little less than well-oiled, but the managers (all of them women) smoothed things over nicely. The only problem: for a four day trip this hotel is in the wrong location. It's in the middle of the new town, a long way from the beaches and an equally long way from the Convention Center and even further from old San Juan. It's presumably fine for people who are there for cruise ship trips, but for staying in San Juan itself its inconveniently located. That's made worse by the extremely expensive taxi system in San Juan.

Room Tip: Higher up the better so as to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a suite at this hotel. Very nice and updated with flat tv's. Older property. My only issue is that the restaurant was closed to a private party. Walked down the street and found a few restaurants. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I picked this hotel because I had a free room voucher for up to a "Category 4" Marriott hotel. This one met my needs.

I'm puzzled over the other recent reviews regarding the state of their room. Perhaps some of the rooms at this property are older and have not been rennovated, but mine on the fifth floor was certainly up-to-date with no unusual smells or noises. It was clean, and the bathroom was adequate. The bed was comfortably soft. The pool was clean, and relatively average-sized for a city hotel. I was the only one there enjoying it at the time, so it was big enough for me! Because of space limitations, the business center is fairly small, but adequate enough to check emails or print out a boarding pass. Parking is $15/day, but that's typical for the hotels here in the city proper.

I did not eat at the hotel's (upscale) restaurant, and the property is rennovating another, more casual one which is available for breakfast. I chose to walk down a couple of blocks to see what I could find, and there were several choices - including the familiar Subway. A decent, neighborhood grocery store - Pueblo - is within a block. Walk one more, and you are at a modern movie theater, "Caribbean Fine Arts Cinema" where I saw Cloud Atlas.

I was happy with this stay, considering I just needed it for the one night, and I wasn't planning on running around San Juan. If you are not renting a car and do not want to be bothered with a roundtrip taxi fare of $30 to see Old ("Viejo") San Juan, then this hotel would probably meet your needs. If you might be a cruise ship passenger and want to get the most out of your vacation, my recommendation is to stay at the Sheraton in Old San Juan as it's almost right across from the cruise ship terminal, and you can walk throughout Old San Juan as well as take the ferry boat across the bay and hop in a taxi to the Bacardi factory ($3 per person each way) and buy a liter of rum for under $11.

Oh, and by the way, you no longer go through customs when you return to the States from San Juan. You can bring in as much liquor as your checked-in bag will store... and you have the opportunity to buy more in the airport's duty free shop for carry-on. Sweet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here before leaving on a cruise. One of the cheapest prices for a very nice room. Great location to the Carnival cruise port. I like nice hotels and was blown away by how modern and clean the hotel was for the $100 room. Most other 3 & 4 star hotels around $185-250+. Location was okay. About $20 fee to and from airport. Small authentic Puerto Rican diner within short walking distance that is opened 24 hours. Grocery store and Subway just down the street. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and would not stay a day longer. Staff was rude and kept saying how their restaurant was " high end." Please. Far from it. Room smelled musty and it was very outdated. The toilet flushing was so loud it sounded like you were on an airplane. The tub and sink took forever to drain. Wifi is only available in the lobby area, rooms have phone cord connection. Close to a few restaurants, but there is nothing to see in the area, but you can take a cab to attractions. Not too far from the airport - about 10 minutes. The elevator is beyonddddd slow. Took ten minutes to get downstairs. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Liked the people and the location. Lots of food in walking distance. Rooms average. Air shuts off while you are sleeping, which sucks. But the people are nice and the room is decent. No complaints, would stay here again for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar

Address: 801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive for understanding our guests business and leisure needs providing them with the essential amenities that will ensure their satisfaction. Guestrooms with panoramic city and Condado Bay views that will allow our guests to be comfortable and productive at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Juan Miramar Hotel San Juan
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
San Juan Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.