We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My short term studio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of S.J. Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added S.J. Suites to your Saves list
S.J. Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My short term studio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

So I flew in to San Juan and didn't know where to stay so I looked for the cheapest hotel I could find close to old San Juan. Just reserved this one short notice. The staff is nice, check in was quick. they have real door keys instead of key cards. internet works and its free. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I mean the tv is kinda small, not many channels but enough for me, there's no pool or gym or anything. Its not luxury but it is safe, quiet, clean, comfortable, close to everything. Overall I was pretty happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel to people wanting to save money and get a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger and have a couch I think. I stayed in a regular room by myself and it was ok. mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    47
    21
    22
See reviews for
18
101
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked this hotel because of proximity to cruise ship docks and we were glad we did. What it lacks in views and offerings,it certainly makes up for in cleanliness, efficiency, friendliness and location. All of Old San Juan sites are within easy walking distances, and the front desk was more than eager to show the attractions on a map, and offer great advice. Great restaurants are also nearby.
If you are taking a cruise ship, don't bother with a taxi, the ship dock is only a few blocks away.
A great find this SJ Suites was!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was to board a cruise ship on Saturday, and thought it would be nice to spend a couple of days in Puerto Rico as I had not been there before. I booked the S. J. Suites Hotel on the internet, and was intrigued with what I found. The entrance to the hotel is right off Fortaleza St. and an elevator takes you up to Reception on the second floor. Everything is neat and compact, and very secure. My room was immaculate and the bath had plenty of hot water. Located in the heart of old San Juan all the tourist attractions were within easy reach. Free bus and tour train service passed in front of the hotel. Restaurants and souvenir shops right at hand. Slept well both nights with nary a sound from outside. Yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the S.J. Suites in Old San Juan prior to our cruise to the Southern Caribbean. Since the cruise was port intensive, we wanted to experience Old San Juan rather than the beach area of Puerto Rico. This hotel was perfect!! It was not fancy but it was clean and provided a nice haven to visit the sights of old San Juan. The staff was exceptional and provided us with knowledge of local restaurants and watering holes which were excellent. The dinner at the Mojito and breakfast at the Mandolin were enjoyable. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Dave Woods, Nashville, Indiana

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos, son
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is smack dab in the middle of Fortaleza Street in old San Juan, which is a very good place to be. Some of the world's finest dining is only a few minute's walk away and all the attractions of the compact Old San Juan area is easily accessible by foot. The hotel is small and basic but our room was comfortable and clean. The staff is knowledgable and helpful and manager Raymond might possibly be the friendliest person I've ever met. This hotel is perfect for travelers who only want a basic hotel in a good location and aren't interested in staying at an expensive luxury hotel with a ton of amenities. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you stay in the back of the hotel, the room will be quiet and the view will be bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this property because we only needed one night after our cruise. We arrived about 10 am and were a little put off by how small the entrance was. But once inside, we got it! The front desk clerk was fantastic! He was able to accommodate our desire to check in early and we were able get some rest that we desperately needed. When we got hungry, there is no lack of restaurants nearby to satisfy whatever you feel like eating. The front desk clerk later was able to print our boarding passes for our flights the next day, which was also very nice. This property definitely scored high in customer service. Now, for the cons.....we don't know what was up with the A/C but it was on high all night and there is NO thermostat in the room. It was in the hallway so whoever wanted to change the temp on that floor, well...could. At the very least give guests the opportunity to close a vent in our room if you insist on keeping the thermostat on super-cold. We were freezing in our room all night, which was not fun. Also, there wasn't a phone in our room, so every time I needed something I had to go downstairs (we were on the 4th floor, the lobby is on the 2nd) to request fill-in-the-blank. Seriously, get some phones in the rooms - the one night we were there I had to go down three different times (boarding passes, request for ice, and a question about checkout). The walls are pretty thin, we could hear the conversations outside our door and next door quite clearly. It was pretty annoying. Our complaints have to do with the property itself, not the staff, so if you are looking for a place to crash where you will be treated right but you don't care what kind of room you are in, bring some flannel jammies, ear plugs and your running shoes and you'll be good to go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Let me start by saying this is probably good value when looking at other properties in Old San Juan.
The staff was friendly, the room clean (although there is a slight musty smell), and the location was phenomenal. Lots of shopping, bars, restaurants, the fort and the waterfront all within walking distance.
There was no temperature control in the bedroom and it was freezing. When we asked whether they could turn it down, they told us it would have to be "turned up" and "NO" they couldn't.
There was no window in the room. There was no telephone in the room. The elevators were not working when we left so we had to carry all of our cruise luggage down from the 4th floor.
It was expensive for what you received, but inexpensive when compared with other motels/hotels - Old San Juan is just expensive!
Would we go back? YES, but only because of lack of alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.J. Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.