We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of S.J. Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added S.J. Suites to your Saves list
S.J. Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Schroon Lake, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great Location. Nestled in the middle of Old San Juan, Clean but NO windows. Never thought to ask if they had windows! One Night I'd say stay, two you had better think about it. Walls, thin so could hear the joining room very clearly especially being they were noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and not near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    65
    45
    19
    19
See reviews for
16
94
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was super clean and was in the hear to Old San Juan. The staff was very friendly and accomidating (let us keep our luggage in a storage room so we wouldn't have to lug it all over town while we were out exploring before our curise left later in the afternoon).

The only negaties were that there was NO hot water and no complimentary glasses for water or coffee.

Great location and great prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We flew into San Juan the day before a cruise and stayed here because of the location and convenience to Old San Juan and the port.
Location...Easy walking distance to pretty much everything in Old San Juan. Felt completely safe in this area. Easy access to Drug Stores, Grocery Stores, Port, Restaurants etc..
Rooms... Rooms were adequate for a one night stay, I believe this is the first time I have ever been in a hotel room with no windows so that was kinda strange. They have obviously did some updating in their bathrooms as the bathroom with nice with new tile work, very clean as well so that is a huge plus for them. Another oddity is that you have no control over the heat/air system. I got quite warm and was not able to adjust.
Price... At over $100 you are paying for just the convenience of location.
All in all if I am back in Old San Juan for just a night or maybe two, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

SJ Suites is located in a central, relatively quiet location. Fortaleza has a lot of the desirable shopping and connects to other nearby streets with classic dining, sightseeing, and shopping. We found it plenty quiet. The proprietors on both days we stayed were helpful, friendly, and enthusiastic.

The rooms, however, are terribly dated ... and the rooms are sparsely furnished. A modest smell permeates the building and hallways as well as the room. The bathroom was small but recently re-done and very clean.

For those staying a single night and focused on the wonderful sights, sounds, and scents of colonial San Juan, this hotel will do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

For $175 a night, I guess I expected a little more. The staff is indeed friendly, and the location is excellent if you are visiting Old San Juan.

But windowless room 303 was freezing cold the first night we stayed. The room was dreary and bare. The two lights were glaring and unpleasant. No clock, no phone, no glasses, no ice, no safe. The room had an ancient television hanging from the wall (which we never turned on, as we spent as little time as possible inside). It also smelled vaguely stale, which was annoying. The room did not seem clean. At night, the light from the hall seeped through cracks between the wall and the door frame. This was construction that would never be permitted in the 50 states. I worried what would happen if there were a fire...no way out except the hallway... The second day, no one came in to make up the room. This is not a place for romance!

Needless to say we were relieved when we left.

To be fair, we told them about the temperature. It was warmer the second night. I haven't stayed in other places in San Juan, and the nicer places do cost more. Still, this is no great find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent one night at SJ Suites and were very satisfied with our accommodations. Since the hotel is 5 or 6 stories, I think the room sizes vary quite a bit. Our 2 ajoining rooms were on the 3rd floor and were quite spaceous and the air conditioning was working but we could not adjust the temperature. The bathrooms were modern and sparkling clean. Raymond at the front desk was very helpful. The hotel is very close to Cafe Manolin where you can get a reasonably priced breakfast.

Room Tip: Our rooms 302 and 303 were spacious and very quiet for sleeping. Would recommend this hotel for its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed in this hotel before my carrebean cruise journey. The location is good however if you arrive by rental car no where you can park, it is difficult to off load the suitcases.
When we arrived the personal who greeted us was very helpfull however in the evening when we complained about the cold due to the air condition there was not much option as it was centrally controlled air condition and was not possible to turn it off. Above all the night personal who arrived when we were asking some info on taxi to the port the man named Angel Luis Rivera was extremely rude and swore at us ( [--] you). We were two ladies staying in this hotel and were absolutely shocked with the behaviour of the night staff. There were exchange of words as a result of this behaviour. If you are not desperate do not use this hotel as you may experience same kind of abuse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.J. Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.