We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of S.J. Suites

Save Saved
You added S.J. Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
S.J. Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Jackson, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed overnight in March 2011 prior to a cruise departure. We were pleasantly surprised. I wanted to stay in Old San Juan and I happy we did. The hotel doesn't have any amenities--but the price was more than reasonable, too. The rooms were HUGE. Our's didn't have a window-but we knew this when we booked. The clerk/manager was very helpful and told us some great local places to go for cocktails and food. If you're looking for fancy--this isn't the place for you. However, if you're looking for a great location in the heart of Old San Juan with a large clean room, you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Great location and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    65
    44
    19
    19
See reviews for
16
93
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had booked this hotel for a 1 night stay along with 2 other couples prior to a cruise.

The hotel was ok for a nights stay if you are not too picky. I would not stay too much longer than a day or 2 at the most! It was a small hotel in the middle of Old San Juan. The staff was pleasant & very helpful. The rooms were clean although they had no windows because there are buildings built right next to each other. It does have air conditioning. When we got to our room it was warm & the ac was not on in our room. We went to the front desk & told them & they came right up turned it on. There are televisions in the rooms that have Direct TV.
There are showers that are clean & linens. They also offer coffee in the morning in the front lobby.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here one night pre cruise and it was great, excellent rooms and service, close to everything. Desk clerk was very helpful. Very easy walk to Carnival cruise terminal and all old san juan attractions

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location, but it is also the worst (keep reading and you will see why) The hotel itself was decent. The first night we were there we booked one of the larger rooms, so the room was nice size; queen bed, chair, small tv, decent bathroom. Plus, it is literally in the middle of San Juan... the location was PERFECT!!! All of the great restaurants and shopping and bars and everything along with the parking garages are EXTREMELY close... however, because of this, the noise in the room was VERY loud. Our room was facing the front of the hotel which was right over the street and we were awoken NUMEROUS times in the middle of the night by cars, trucks, cars with loud music, people screaming, people talking, people singing... EVERYTHING!!! It was miserable! So we requested a room change for our 2nd night. The room was smaller and the window was facing the side of the hotel rather than the front. However, the noise the 2nd night was still pretty bad; but we had hiked El Yunque that day so we were beat. Even then, we were still woken up numerous times by loud people singing on the street. So if you are used to city noise, it would probably be okay... but if not, don't expect to get much sleep!!

Room Tip: The larger rooms facing the front have a window along the whole street... and therefore the noise le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great hotel location in the heart of old San Juan, short walk to the cruise ship! The help behind the desk was very informative.

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have windows so check if you're going to stay for longer then one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in Old San Juan and the SJ Suites and were very happy with our accommodations. Ramon, the manager, was outgoing, friendly and full of info about Puerto Rico plus suggestions for restaurants, things to do, etc. We asked for a quiet room and we received one. It was very clean and had a great bed. We also visited the islands of Vieques and Culebra and had to return to San Juan for our flight home. We stayed at the SJ Suites for two more nights even though we had thought about trying another hotel. Again, thanks to Ramon (and Josue) for making our stay in Old San Juan so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We wanted an inexpensive room in Old San Juan two nights pre-cruise and so we booked the San Juan Suites. The picture of the room on the internet looked dated, but large and comfortable. Our room had no couch, and just barely enough room to walk around the bed! We were really dissappointed! The man at the front desk was nice enough. It was in a perfect location to walk to all the Old San Juan sites. The bathroom was also very small. The bed was very hard. The room was very dreary and depressing and had no window. The rooms do not have solid doors, but rather hollow core doors that you would use on a closet. This was both a noise issue and safety issue. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.J. Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.