We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andalucia Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andalucia Guest House
Save
You added Andalucia Guest House to your Saves list
2011 McLeary Street | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 San Juan B&B and Inns
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were thrilled to find the Andalucia Guest House in San Juan. It is located 2 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to numerous wonderful restaurants, even one that President Obama dined at.

Dennis and David - CT

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    69
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
161
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spend two weeks in Puerto Rico. San Juan was the last station before flying back to Germany. I booked the Andalucia Guest House based on the very good ratings here at Trip Advisor.

We arrived at the guest house in Mc Leary street and were surprised by the nice (small) courtyard with the Jacuzzi. It felt like a small oasis inside the busy city. The personnel has been very very kind and explained the surroundings of the guesthouse during the check in (how to go to the beach, restaurants, bus stations etc....).

The room was good (No.6) and had sufficient space for two persons traveling with seem luggage. A small drawback has been that we had some mosquitoes inside the room and every evening we had to go go hunting before turning of the light.

The guest house is located in the Condado area and it is no problem to find many restaurant or pubs in the vicinity. You have enough possibilities to fill up the fridge with supplies (We recommend Supermax 24/7 open which is in walking distance..20 mins).

No need to book a hotel in the old area of San Juan you an take the bus which brings you there in 30 mins.

If you really look for the place to stay in San Juan we highly recommend the Andalucia Guest House. Thanks to Emeo and Esteban from Isabel and Andy, who are back in cold germany ; (

Hint: Get a bottle of DonQ Anejo Rum, 2 liter Coke bottle (ice cubes are available for free) and have a nice evening in the Jakuzzi.....

Room Tip: Take room Nr. 6. The room is on the second floor. The big window (doors) are facing the courtyard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have stayed here on two visits to Puerto Rico and love it! You'll feel like you're staying at a friend's quiet home in the lovely neighborhood of Ocean Park rather just another hotel guest in some high rise in congested Condado. The beach is just a few blocks away plus there's a great bakery and yoga studio nearby. I can't wait to go back. =)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had an overnight stay in San Juan on business and booked myself into the Andalucia. Right off the bat the owner helped me find a good, safe parking place for my oversized truck. I enjoyed my stay, all the amenities you need are here. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean room with high ceilings, the a/c wasn't necessary just the ceiling fan kept the room comfortable. A lovely central open air courtyard with a Jacuzzi, was very nice for an evening soak. Sadly, I did not have much time there as I was just on business. I heartily recommend the Andalucia and I'll definitely stay next time I'm in San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, AR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After spending five nights camping on Flamenco Beach, my boyfriend and I were very much looking forward to our three nights in San Juan at the Andalucia. We chose this place based on recommendations from his family, as well as its good reviews. Luckily, the Andalucia Guest House completely exceeded our expectations! The hosts were absolutely as gracious and welcoming as everyone says. The location is excellent, and we were also provided with a very helpful set of maps and a restaurant guide that the owners created. We used these a lot during our stay.

The deluxe room was very nice. It was at the top of the stairs on the second floor, and our window had a lovely view of the terrace. The bed was comfortable, the A/C very welcome, and a private bathroom and real shower were as incredible as you can imagine after five nights outdoors. We were content to just hang out in our room the first night, other than going down to the beautiful jacuzzi. The refrigerator in the open area was kept stocked with various drinks and snacks for $1 each, which was very welcome. Also, the bakery/deli across the street (Kasalta) is an absolute must-- we had breakfast there twice! Obama went there, too, and ate a great sandwich (Media Noche).

More fastidious or grouchy people might complain about the construction noise from the building to the left (facing front). Fortunately, we did not hear this until our third day (Monday), and it really wasn't bad-- especially when compared to the roosters on Culebra. :) I enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Andalucia. I wouldn't think of going anywhere else when I come back to San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

You are not going to find any place where the owners will treat you so well. Esteban, Emeo and Javier were very helpful. Anytime we had any needs they did anything possible to make us feel comfortable. It is the second time we stayed at Andalucia guest house and I highly recommend it, if you don't want to spend too much money and want to stay in a clean hospitable place.

Ricky and Kevin
Buffalo, NY

Room Tip: I put excellent for a swimming pool but actually is a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent three nights in the place, it`s an absolute gem for the price. Right next to beach, the amazing queen size beds, the excellent service both at booking the stay plus at the stay, no objections, I think you cannot do any better for this price anywhere else in San Juan. In fact, I think you can do worse for more money!!! There are beach towels, so you do not need to take your own, towels in each room and changed daily, and the best coconut shower gel in the shower. Plus there is a small place next to the guest house that serves Mexican food, looks bit of trashy, but it`s absolutely yummy!

And I do not know whether it is because of the rainy season, but the mosquitoes or bugs or whatever that is that tries to bite you will eat you all the time, so whenever you see any green plant, use the bug spray to keep them away from you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andalucia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andalucia Guest House

Address: 2011 McLeary Street | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Ocean Park beach is just 2 mins away and you will find yourself embraced by fine white sand, aqua-colored ocean and perfect blue sky. Then come relax and enjoy with your friends in our tropical patio and jacuzzi after a whole day in the sun. Each of our room is beautifully furnished with comfortable beds to make you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Andalucia Guest House Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andalucia Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.