We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil destination.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamcatcher Guest House

Save Saved
You added Dreamcatcher Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreamcatcher Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   2009 Calle Espana | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 24 San Juan B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A tranquil destination.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We actually were upgraded to the Geisha room for our stay at the Dreamcatcher, so we got a bigger room with a shared/private bathroom. Sylvia's friend Sahid picked us up at the airport for a small fee and he got us settled in our room. The Dreamcatcher is like something you would see in a travel magazine. We found ourselves wandering around the house examining all the antiques and items Sylvia has collected over the years. Every time I was in a room I would notice something new I hadn't noticed before. The Ocean Park neighborhood was low key and felt safe, the beach was literally a 3 minute walk away. The complimentary coffee was a great benefit so we could lounge around the house in the morning, taking in the scenery. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Having a a/c unit was a welcomed pleasure on days it was hot and sticky. The Dreamcatcher rooms each have a neighborhood map with recommendations of restaurants and shops in the area. All of the food recommendations we tried were great. During our stay Meeshel was our hostess and she was so friendly and made us feel right at home. We also got massages from her and we both highly recommend taking advantage of the onsite massage therapist. My favorite part about the house was the outdoor shower. It was so nice to shower and look up and see the sky and an avocado tree. We had a good time meeting the guest as well and got to enjoy a community dinner with everyone. We both left feeling refreshed and inspired to make changes in our lives. We hope to return again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

amazing place! enjoyed the room, the house, the gardens, the outdoor shower, the hosts, Sylvia's home-made veggie burgers and freshly made sweet potatoe chips, and sharing them with a full house of beautiful folks out in the garden. hope to return next time in SJ!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Truly an amazing experience! I really cannot say enough good and honestly have nothing bad to say. The experience of staying at the Dreamcatcher house has left me refreshed, relaxed, and wholly inspired. My travelling companion and I could not stop discussing how much where we stayed had set the tone for our entire vacation. Staying with Sylvia, Meeshel, their pups, and the other guests was like staying with friends. I am already dreaming about the next time I will get to go back to the Dreamcatcher house!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My boyfriend & I loved the wonderful tranquility and aesthetic earthy tone of Slyvia's, "DreamCatcher home". Sylvia, Meeshel, Pippa, & Malda were all very friendly and warm. This amazing oasis has it all. We got to meet other curious and adventurous guests. Within the nestling Ocean Park neighborhood of San Juan; DreamCatcher is two blocks away from the beach and close to many delicious restaurants, cosy shops, and other nifty sights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Sylvia was an amazing hostess. Her home can only be described as magical. The energy of the place is serene and one can't help but feel right at home. I would come back over and over again. I have now stayed in her home four times and each time gets better. I plan to visit at least once a year for as long as I can. I look forward to meeting the different people who come and go in her place. Somehow she always has the most gracious guests. The beauty of the house itself is unreal. Every corner has a story to tell and beauty is abundant through out the entire house. I have no problem staying in and simply bumming around the house which is something I would never do if staying in a hotel. There are lots of great spots to eat and drink in the area all within walking distance. The beach it literally around the corner which makes being lazy even easier! You can literally roll out of bed and walk over to the beach to continue your R&R.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'm SO glad I stayed at Dreamcatcher House! It was just what I needed. So peaceful, serene, relaxing. A place to be close to nature, clear your mind, revive your spirit, reflect, plan. The property is simply beautiful and located in an upscale, safe beach community. Sylvia is so wonderful and gracious. Every room of the house is enchanting. Do yourself a favor and take a pass on the big hotels this time and stay at Dreamcatcher House. You'll get a more up close and personal experience of San Juan and its people and you'll also be within minutes of the tourist areas. This is a place where you can stay up late on the porch, sipping a glass of wine, laughing and talking before you turn in for the night....then wake up late, walk into the kitchen in your bare feet and make a GOOD cup of coffee, relax in the garden and decide if you really want to take that tour or just chill. This is THAT place!

~Daphne Wilson, Chicago, IL

Room Tip: Every room of the house is different and you simply can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sylvia's place. She was very approachable and helpful. She reached out to us even before we landed. When we arrived she also had a map with all the interesting places nearby that she recommended. Her house was truly gorgeous, inviting and spacious. Even better than the pictures. I was happy to spend any downtime there for the warmth and tranquility. Our room was nicely decorated with a large comfortable bed. Although we had our own bathroom, I utilized the outdoor shower a couple of times. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Situated 2 short blocks away from one of the best beaches not bombarded by tourists, Ocean Park. In the opposite direction, there were great restaurants like Kasalva, Bebos and Mangos (also a nightclub). The bus (T5) to Old San Juan was within walking distance. We were also able to walk to Candado along the beach (~15mn) and enjoy its nightlife. Needeless to say, the only time we really needed a cab was to/from the airport and for El Yunque tour. Once again, we felt lucky to have found this gracious host.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreamcatcher Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatcher Guest House

Address: 2009 Calle Espana | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dreamcatcher Guest House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous and intimate Guest House is located right at the beach in the gated community of Ocean Park, only 10 minutes away from the Historical Old San Juan and the airport.The Dreamcatcher is thoughtfully decorated with mostly vintage furniture and collectibles. The house holds beauty and memories alike, every corner tells a story. The Dreamcatcher is a true oasis with many areas to find privacy as well as to come together with other guests and friends.The common areas consist of a dining room, two lounging areas with rocking chairs and hammocks. A spacious living room that opens to the garden as well as a fully equipped Communal Kitchen. The garden is protected by dozens of Buddha’s, which quietly sit among the fruit trees, the water fountain and in between the flowers. In addition there is an edible garden in the front of the house with fruits, vegetables and herbs, where guests are welcome to help themselves. Every room is decorated with a Dreamcatcher to protect your sleep and entice sweet dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dreamcatcher Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamcatcher Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.