We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tostado

Tostado
420 Calle San Antonio, San Juan, Puerto Rico
787-727-8005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 24 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The breakfast here is great! I am in love with the egg and vegetable bowl. Be sure to order the flavored breads sampler, it is a hit with kids. The atmosphere is super relaxed, it is not fancy and it does fill up quickly, go early.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Organic, great prices and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I finally decided to visit Tostado, on a weekday for lunch. They have a wide variety of sandwiches with different types of bread, from pumpkin to almond bread. I decided to order a fresh lemonade and a Jobs chicken sandwich. They also have a daily combo special and a soup. Coffee was okay, and I'm just saying that since it was served in a glass, parfait type. Should be a mug, since it got cold really fast. The service was a bit slow for my preference... I finished eating my sandwich before my friend's sandwich even arrived. That should be coordinated a bit better. I looked over the brunch menu, which seemed absolutely fabulous. Loved the place in itself. Had a nice, relaxed vibe to it. I recommend visiting for brunch or of you want to grab something on the light side, especially when on the move. Will visit again for brunch!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nicely decorated place, friendly people, good service, average price, nice sandwiches and drinks. The portions are too small for what you pay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great coffee, service was unbeatable, friendly and open atmosphere, and amazing sandwich! Fluent in Spanish and English, in and out within 30 minutes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Organic Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We went to Tostado for brunch. The place was very nice and cozy, good service and Food. We ate the Almond crust French toast topped with raspberry syrup and strawberries at the side, it was a good portion and tasted very good. Nice hot chocolate and affordable pricing. Definitely will come back again to try the sandwiches.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tostado also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Tostado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tostado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.