We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cortes

Casa Cortes
210 Calle San Francisco, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
+(1)787-722-0499
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 188 things to do in San Juan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Casa Cortés, located in the heart of Old San Juan, Puerto Rico, is the place to experience the Chocolate Cortés Collection, showcasing works by the Caribbean's contemporary art masters. Currently on exhibit; CCC Caribes, features 58 paintings by 50 artists from 10 countries. Free Admission.Open Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, from 11:00am - 5:00pm.
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

We stopped here for brunch on a Sunday morning. They do not accept reservations so we decided to arrive around 11 AM and there were still a few open tables left. The food, service were all excellent. The décor is modern with a node towards their historic roots. We enjoyed our meal and can't wait to come back.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Special Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

San Juan was a stop on our seven night cruise and I had read that this was a must-do. We were not disappointed! Easy to find on San Fransisco Street. Son had chocolate grilled cheese, which was delicious and rich, he couldn't finish it all. Husband had a Luna Negra--frozen chocolate shake with rum that he is still raving about. We also had churros, which were perfect. Staff was helpful enough, not overly friendly, but okay. Prices were reasonable.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sweet deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

The Choc Bar serves delicious sandwiches and fritters and home-style hot chocolate. The fish croquettes were yummy and well presented and the chicken sandwich on ciabatta bread was marvelous. Service was pleasant and unobtrusive. The girls were able to enjoy themselves and spend time without being rushed out. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

What a special treat to enjoy in Old San Juan. Found this place on the fly when looking for a treat and a place to rest our tired feet. This was much more than I was expecting. Full menus and wait service, we ordered cold chocolates and mochas...they were truly amazing and decadent.
The decor is beautiful and a history lesson in the evolution of chocolate.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Saw an ad and the word Chocolate and was on our list to check it out! It was easy to find, had a great decor, the woman assisting us behind the counter was very friendly. We purchased a box of assorted chocolates to take back to the Cruise Ship (they didn't last long on the ship they were gone before the day ended and were very good). When getting ready to pay for the chocolates candies we saw they also served freshly made churro's. Hubby and 15 year old son had to get some and they were really good. Good Food, Friendly Service, Wonderful Decor, Reasonable Pricing.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Cortes also viewed

 

Been to Casa Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cortes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.