We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalia International Cuisine & Tapas - CLOSED

Rosalia International Cuisine & Tapas
2324 Calle Loiza | Punta Las Maria, San Juan 00913, Puerto Rico
+1 787-268-7328
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Vegetarian, Puerto Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Valet parking attendant was busy and owner came and parked our car so I knew we were in for great customer service.The owner a former waiter himself took our order himself and he took time to chat with us and all the other guests in the rest.The food was outstanding and the service by the rest of the staff was excellent.I highly recommend this place and their tapas are great..try their scallops.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    22
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best meal out of our six day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great food. Personalized service. The concierge will not tell you about this place. With a 60 dollar bottle of wine, a 1 pound lobster tail, and appetizers and my wifes dinner, it was by far the best food experience we had. The drinks at Marmalade are great and the food is ok, but overpriced, andthe service stinks. I felt like we were the only ones in the restaurant here. Great menu, Great prices, friendly service, and even the owner came over to talk to us. This is my highest recommendation for food in all of San Juan. Off the beaten track, but worth it. Definitely five stars in mine and my wifes eyes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Spanish Caribbean taste worthy of your time and money but not really tapas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Staying in isla verde, we were looking for nicer and healthier options. based on TA reviews, I tried to look up a menu but nothing online yet. we were looking for small plate Tapas to share. we gave it a shot with my wife, mother n law and 2 elementary ave girls. the menu was too small to count as Tapas and several of the entrees were pricey. but the offerings were varied and more importantly, everything we tried was excellent. skirt steak was better than Argentinian steak house down the block. there was no wine by glass list, beer section list or cocktail list as expected for a place such as this. very modern decor. the owner was extremely friendly and actively engaged in the service. we'd return on our next visit and will recommend it to our PR friends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The place has very nice décor. On a Friday night, not too crowded which was good. Service was overall, poor! Disorganized, with multiple servers coming and not doing much. Got served a glass of water and had to wait for a while. Nobody asked whether we were interested in having any drinks, no wine list was offered. We sat and waited. Appetizers- ordered the soft shell crab and guacamole. Tasty but way too greasy. The pork dumplings- just ok, they probably came straight from a refrigerated box. Our glasses of water were empty. Nobody came to fill them up. Had to grab one server to ask for some white wine and for water, nobody filled the water glasses. Had the entrée at the table- the special of the day- mahi mahi in garlic sauce with sweetpotato mash. What can I say? The fish and the mash were drowning in a pool of butter. Almost done with the entrée due to extreme hunger, then the wine finally came. They probably went to Spain to get it! Very dissapointing experience, obviously not interested in learning about any desserts. Just wanted to get out of there as soon as possible. The worst thing? They were clueless about the bad service they provided.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best in Isla Verde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I went for lunch, its open 12-3pm. The place is beautiful. The greeter/owner turned out to be a former AlDente server who recognized us: Jose Barbosa. The food is marvelous. For starters we had the garlic shrimp, succulent! Then for lunch churrascos with plantain tostones (they were out of the breadfruit tostones :( ) Everything cooked to perfection, the service immaculate. Look forward to our next meal here!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalia International Cuisine & Tapas also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalia International Cuisine & Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.