We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paddleboarding @ Condado Lagoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velauno Paddleboarding

Velauno Paddleboarding
860-898 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00913, Puerto Rico
+1 787-728-8716
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Velauno Paddleboarding team has over 20 years of experience in the water sports industry. We are the premier and largest stand up paddleboard and kayak rental operator in Puerto Rico and are fully endorsed by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paddleboarding @ Condado Lagoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went with the family to the Condado Lagoon to go paddleboarding, it is only $20/hr which we all thought it was a great price! There is a grass volleyball court in the area, also water bouncy house and slides for kids, and you could rent kayaks. It is a lot of fun and close to the hotels and restaurants so you could walk and get some food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    13
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No crowds and well worth your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff was honest and friendly. We were prepared to pay $40 for 2 hours of rental on each board for our kids but the guy at the table whipped out a brochure to show us a better rate... didn't expected it so it was a pleasant surprise. They also had kayak rentals, so we (the parents) rented that instead. The guy doing the push off was friendly and very thorough with instructions.

Their equipment was in very good condition and we had a very pleasant afternoon without the crowds. The lagoon was calm enough for beginners. Well worth the money and highly recommended.

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun activity !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very friendly staff and a nice fun activity. Gave us the board and instruction in few minutes and we are in the water. Though it was first time doing SUP, we could get our balance and do it almost freely in few minutes. For the fist half just stayed in the wind protected area to get a feel and balance. With such a low price and close to the hotels, i have no complaints except for finding the place. 950 ashford avenue in GPS wont get you to the location. Location is right behind the hotels and close to the bridge on Ashford avenue. when you are on ashford and driving towards the bridge just turn left before the bridge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great pass time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Vela uno personnel was very nice and attentive. The pleased all of my requests without question. The board was high quality. Will definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great for 20$!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff are very friendly and patient. My girlfriend was not the best at paddleboarding initially :) but they were patient with helping her. They say you only need 5 minutes to get the "crash course" in SUPing, but they spent 15 minutes with my girlfriend. Even better for her, they took pictures as we left and came back in on the boards. Tipped the guys 5$ considering it was such a good deal in the first place.
It was a windy day which made it tougher to stand but also funner for me personally. If youre not good with balancing, its just as fun doing it on your knees. Dont be turned off of the idea if its a little cloudy. Its easy to pick up overall.
We didnt time ourselves but we think we were out there longer than the allotted hour too.
Although we did not do this, you can also SUP with the instructors to the Forts at Old San Juan, 45 minutes of SUPing each way, which sounds cool.
Great idea, something I would recommend for anyone.

Just to help you out in locating it.....its right at the end of the bridge (on the right down by the water) heading into the Condado and Isla Verde area coming from the Old San Juan direction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velauno Paddleboarding also viewed

 

Been to Velauno Paddleboarding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velauno Paddleboarding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.