We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love the Olive Boutique Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Olive Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Olive Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Aguadilla st. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love, love, love the Olive Boutique Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the hotel last month and cannot say enough good things about this unique property. The hotel itself is gorgeous and comfortable. We really enjoyed the weekend happy hour that they host at the roof top bar, as it gave us the opportunity to meet other hotel guests and share recommendations about what to do while in PR. The continental breakfast was a perfect start to each day and we did dine at the restaurant one evening - incredible food. The beach is a short walk from the hotel, as are casinos, shopping, and restaurants. The staff was the best we have ever encountered and we felt that they truly made the hotel something special. They went above and beyond to ensure that we had a fabulous stay. Karina, Dennisse, Amanda, Shirley, Franchesca and Raul - thank you for the outstanding hospitality! If you are in San Juan, this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Tracey C,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!

I enjoyed reading how much you loved your stay at O:live! I'll have to agree that our complimentary sangria happy hour "Cinq a Sept" is a great opportunity to meet other guests and share options on what to do around the island.

Our whole team prides themselves in ensuring that all of our guests are looked after and cared for from the minute that they enter the hotel. It is always a lovely to see that this has been recognized by our guests and the team are thrilled by your comments regarding their service.

We hope to see you again before to long so we can take care of you once more time.

With warmest wishes,
Josh Ortolazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    50
    26
    10
    14
See reviews for
10
257
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff members at this hotel took care of better than any place we have stayed. They were very accommodating and helpful! The hotel was very nicely decorated "Restoration hardware"style. We loved it's style!
The rooms are a bit small and unique with a see thru glass, rainwater shower in the middle of the room. Took a bit of time to get used to, but loved it! Each floor has a country of origin theme. The rooftop bar, pool, and leisure area were quite cool!
Location is in the middle of restaurants and very near hotel casinos. The hotel is in a tight location witout an ocean view, but some rooms have a good view of the lagoon, which we enjoyed.
Rajuel, Shirley, and the parking guy (sorry I can't remember his name) were awesome. Actually all the staff members were extraordinary.

Room Tip: Blonda Condado is an awesome breakfast not too far from the Olive. Hacienda Don Jose is easy walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear hiltonmc,

Thank you for leaving such a great review about your recent stay with us.

I'm thrilled to know that you had a great time at O:live.We surely aim to provide our guest with a unique experience that they'll never forget and it's great to see you enjoyed it to smallest detail. Raul, Shirley and Charlie (valet) are chuffed to pieces by your words and for being recognized. All of our staff really enjoy being of assistance to make our guests' stay wonderful!

We all look forward to welcoming you back to O:live so that we can take care of everything for you once again.

Best wishes,
Josh Ortolazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After making reservations with 3 month anticipation to stay the weekend of October 25-27, I get a call from the hotel a week before telling me that they had made a mistake and unfortunately there were no rooms available for that Saturday Night. The point of the reservation was to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday, along with her parent's 35th wedding anniversary.

The manager's initial solution was for me to move the reservation for another weekend... Not an option since we were coming in from the US. Then, she offered to "accomodate" us at their sister hotel Hosteria del Mar for the saturday night stay. I've stayed there before and it can best be described as a beachfront motel, nowhere near close to the type of luxury we were expecting at Olive... not an option.

After several conversations with the hotel manager Karina, and after showing absolutely zero accountability from their part for their mistake, I ended up calling Gustazos which is where I had originally booked my stay. They accomodated me within a day in the amazing El Conquistador Hotel in Fajardo, along with giving us a few extra perks for the inconvenience at Olive.

In summary, the Olive Hotel doesn't value new customers... they just want their rooms to be filled. For almost half the amount we would have spent at Olive, we stayed at El Conquistador and had an absolute blast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Owner at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Negroni:

All of our staff here at O:live sincerely apologize for the overbooking situation, especially since you were celebrating a special occasion with your family. As you can see from previous reviews, our staff is known to treat our guests like family. Unfortunately, being a small hotel, we have limited capacity and an outsourced supplier oversold our inventory.

Please understand that we did nothing but to try and offer all the possible solutions in our reach to make it up to you, including a future free stay, another hotel, re-scheduling, etc. Karina, our manager, had the best intentions throughout the process.

I am glad that you had a great time and got to enjoy the weekend with your family.
I hope you can someday give us another try, if you do please let me know right away at lherger@oliveboutiquehotel.com
Sincerely,

Loisse Herger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Just home after a flying visit to San Juan for a family wedding. We chose to stay at Olive Hotel and so glad we did. From the moment we arrived it felt like we were staying in a beautiful home such was the warm welcome and intimate atmosphere. It is obvious that the owners have put much thought into the interiors and room layouts. The rooftop area is so pretty. It is also perfectly located in Condado and across the road from the beach. We appreciated the lovely touches such as the rose petals, complimentary room upgrade and yummy brownies and little meringues left by our bedside. A big thank you especially to Shirley who was always so pleasant and helpful and also thanks to Josh and Ravl for their kindness too - it was much appreciated. We will return soon to San Juan hopefully! Love C & B x

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear C S,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at O:live Boutque Hotel.

I am delighted that from the moment you arrived at the hotel you felt like you had arrived at your home away from home. As you correctly stated, we have an enormous passion for details and we appreciate when our guests notice it.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to O:live for another chance for us to look after you once again.

With warmest wishes,
Josh Ortolazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at the Mediterranean suite. The best part of the room was the see-thru shower. The sangria hour with cheese was just amazing!!.The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and the location is just about perfect, near boutique shoppes. Overall the experience was great. Karina thank you so much for your time and recommendations

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Ray D,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you found the hotel to be outstanding in every way whether it be the sexy see-thru shower, or a cocktail in the afternoon at the Rooftop Club. It is always a joy to read that a guest has totally relaxed under our roof and that they wanted for nothing.

Karina is extremely happy for your special mention and that her recommendations were of great help to you.

We wish to see you again for another luxurious stay!

With warmest wishes,
Josh Ortolazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here thanks to a gustazo offer. The place is amazing and the service is outstanding. They offer continental breakfast which let me tell you was more than sufficient. The rooftop bar has perfect views of the lagoon. Karina and Shirley were always really attentive. I could not have asked for more.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Javer R,

Thanks for leaving us such a positive feedback about your recent stay at O:live.

I am thrilled to know that you found everything at our Boutique Hotel to be amazing and outstanding. It's true that our continental breakfast is very much enhanced with a variety of options.

I have passed your comments onto Karina and Shirley who are chuffed to pieces to have been individually mentioned.

We hope that you will return before too long so that we will be able to take care of you once again.

With warmest wishes,
Josh Ortolazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Olive Boutique was fantastic!!! Excellent location right off Ashford Ave and all the great shops. Approximately 3miles from Old San Juan and 15 minutes from San Juan Airport. Should you decide to rent a car or not... parking not so great, but doable! And, a lot of great restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are nice and the ROOFTOP Bar -- exceptional!

The HOTEL staff is AWESOME they take extra great care of their guests. Need directions, ideas, places to go... Ask, Denise or Shirley at the front desk, these ladies give customer service a new and refreshing meaning!!! :) (gracias mujeres)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear J-L_Lozano,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Olive Boutique Hotel.

We're so happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and had such a wonderful time. I'd have to agree with you that we're blessed with such a wonderful location near the airport and just a few steps from shops, restaurants and the beach.

Our whole team prides themselves in ensuring that all of our guests are looked after and cared for from the minute that they enter the hotel. It is always a lovely to see that this has been recognized by our guests and the team are thrilled by your comments regarding their service.

We all hope to welcome you back to your favorite San Juan hotel before too long so that we can take care of you both once again.

With warmest wishes,
Josh Ortolazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Boutique Hotel

Address: 55 Aguadilla st. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the ‘art de vivre’ and the diversity of the Mediterranean culture, O:live Boutique Hotel presents a unique style of relaxed luxury and intimacy. Its prime Condado location, exclusive amenities and artistique atmosphère makes this charming boutique hotel part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Olive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.