We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, yet it's lacking customer service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Olive Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Olive Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Aguadilla st. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Booking 10% off
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great potential, yet it's lacking customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I might be spoiled with the high New York standards of customer service, nevertheless both me and my Mom (who lives in Russia and has been traveling around the world for the last few years) thought that the hotel itself was a gem (given that the price for the room was under $200), yet it was lacking the bezel aka customer service that can be improved with a little more effort to welcome the guest (especially those who visit PR for the first time). Hotel is located slightly off the main street of Condado (if you are driving yourself try not to miss the turn, locals can guide you, everyone in PR is pretty friendly), we arrived to Olive Hotel late on Saturday night and were greeted by receptionist John (who was the most helpful out of all the staff we met at the hotel). John showed us our room and was kind to provide us with a couple of yogurts since we were hungry, but too tired to go out at 1 am. Room was great: clean and modern, design of the whole hotel is something that was very well thought-through! Few things that could have been better, nevertheless didn't spoil the great impression about our Chamber Room were: no view, a little loud (thin windows do not isolate the room from the outside noise - that can be improved), there was only one nightstand ( as I was sleeping on the opposite side of the bed I had difficulties figuring out where I would put my phone, my book, etc.), the snack bar is a joke (two cookies and an energy bar... Mmm, I would either improve the selection or remove it completely, it's just sad) yet complimentary bottles of water daily was a nice idea! Pros: design, design, design!!! I loved it! Rooftop is amazing. The restaurant was closed Sunday and Monday... I wish I knew that when I was booking the hotel, because I was actually really looking forward to dine there (we are big foodies and prefer to stay in the hotel that have restaurant on site with a good reputation). Now the worst part of our great stay at Olive: BREAKFAST! It was the worst hotel breakfast I have ever had! Yes, it was complimentary, however I would rather pay to be served with a cup of HOT coffee and a croissant. One day there was no milk (had to ask for it), another day there was no napkins on the table, no tea spoons, sliced ham and cheese we saw only on the first morning... Etc. etc. etc.... It was our first time in PR and we had only 3 days to explore the island, so we didn't want to waste time looking for a decent breakfast place. Also I wish I was told about the Hosteria Del Mar beach with accommodations, bar and restaurant that is open to the guests of Olive Hotel (apparently those two hotels are under the same ownership), yet we were told about it only on our last day at PR. It wouldn't hurt to educate the receptionists more on the surroundings of the hotel (like where to eat late at night, where to go when it's raining, what to visit), or just make a welcome book with the aforesaid info. It would be very very helpful for the first time visitors. Pros: free parking! John Henao, thank you for all your help (we appreciated the opportunity of a late check-out especially)! Loved the Hosteria Del Mar staff, very friendly. Overall: very good experience with a few "BUTs" that can be easily improved :) I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    46
    21
    9
    13
See reviews for
9
232
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I visited the hotel with my husband just for one night. The staff was very nice and helpful. I loved the welcome macaroons...beautiful and delicious! The room was small but very cozy. The bath products L'Occitane, just great. Didn't had the opportunity to go to the restaurant since we were there for just one night but we are looking forward to it on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Owner at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review O:live. We really appreaciate your positive comments and we are glad that your experience was "cozy and intimate". This is your home in Puerto Rico, come back soon!

Sincerely,
Loisse Herger
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A boutique hotel with personal touches: some great (roof terrace), some odd (tiniest wardrobe in the world). Nice owner; OK staff. Basic breakfast. Needs a professional hotel manager and room revamp: could be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a decent cupboard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveExperience, Public Relations Manager at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
Bonjour!
We would like to thank you for this review. Thank you as well for acknowledging our beautiful rooftop with one of the most impassive views of Old San Juan and Condado. The concept of the hotel was delicately designed to provide every guest with the best feeling of relaxation. Our staff as well, works the extra mile so that our guests have the best O:Live Experience they could have. We would also like to let you know that all of our rooms have been expanded and now all of them have indoors and outdoors terraces. Once again, thank you so much for this review and we hope we get the chance of having you as a guest in the near future!

Astrid Emmanuelli
Brand Manager
O:Live Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Definetly! I cant compare the personal and dedicated service that I received in this Hotel... The frotn desk is out of this world.. they were able to solve a huge mess created by the "great website" Expedia.com

Definetly on my next travel to PR doesnt matter if its personal or business I will go again to this hotel.. and of course I will call them directly(best thing you can do!) very professional, and really kind.

Again..In the Front desk both Karina and Selimarie did an awesome job in helping me out in the reservation and mess created by expedia... Thanks Karina and Selimarie!

Ronald

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Owner at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for recognizing the outsatnding service of our front desk team. Karina and Celimarie were very enthusiastic to receive your positive comments. We really hope to see you and your family soon,

Loisse Herger
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The decor of this hotel is beautiful with a Parisian/International theme. The rooftop terrace and bar are gorgeous, but the drinks are a bit pricy. The pool is also located on the rooftop terrace, but the hot tub was broken and the pool is quite small, only about 20 feet long by 5 or 6 feet wide. I stayed in a basic room, which was nicely appointed, however the planning just wasn't there. The bathroom does not have a door and is located directly beside the headboard and pillows of the bed. In other words, you are going to be eating new foods in a new country after having traveled and you will have to go to the bathroom right beside whoever is sleeping in the bed. The shower doesn't even have a door, but a clear, half-panel of glass. The water gets all over the bathroom floor when you shower and I never did get a bath mat during my 3 day stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The bathrobes are very comfy! We had turn down service the first night and also some little macaroons/snacks, but this was not the case the second night. Bottled water in the rooms is free, but the rest of the food in the "mini-bar" is ridiculously overpriced. Our room was on the 3rd floor, directly below the rooftop bar/terrace. The hotel offers a non-guest membership to the bar, so there was a large party going on very late into the night. The noise from the guests breaking items in the hallway and the very loud music made it very difficult to sleep on the first night. The entrance to the bar was also close to our room, so we could hear people coming and going all night. If you can, do NOT stay on the 3rd floor of the hotel. The second night during our stay the fire alarm at a neighboring building was going off all night. I'm not sure if the fire department works differently in Puerto Rico, but the alarm was going off for like 10 hours with no sound of sirens or sight of fire trucks. The hotel is in a good location, right near the luxury brand stores in San Juan and almost directly across from beach access. We walked to Old San Juan from the hotel. This took about an hour at a leisurely pace. I mapquested it and it is about 3.4 miles to El Morro. Breakfast is included in the price of the room, but do not expect anything fancy. It was croissants, pastries, some yogurts, and OJ. They advertise coffee from their Nespresso machine on the website, but we had to ask for coffee from the front desk on the first day. On the second day nobody was at the front desk during breakfast, so we didn't get any coffee. There is a Starbucks right down the street though. The food in the surrounding area was quite expensive and I would not recommend ordering a margarita anywhere in the country. I tried several and each one tasted strangely sweet and not like a typical margarita from the USA.

I would imagine that if you stay at Olive on a week night, the bar won't be as busy and the noise won't be a factor. I did very much enjoy sitting on the roof and looking over the lagoon watching the Stand Up Paddle Surfers. There are a bunch of individual seating areas, so a group of 2 - 10 would be comfortable in a variety of spaces. I would not recommend this hotel to people who are looking to get some sleep, but if you like to stay up late, this could be your place.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor for more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Owner at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to explain your experience at the O:live Boutique Hotel. The manager, my husband and I are available on site to discuss any guests discomfort from guests and react immediately. I've also added my email and cell phone to the welcome letter; I receive emails, text in my cell instantly and am able to accommodate any reasonable request. So I do encourage you next time to talk to us.

We have several types of rooms available. From your description, it seems like you stayed at a Petite chamber, this room we advertise as perfect for a solo traveler but can accommodate two guests. If we have availability, we could've accommodated you in another room without a problem.

The plunge pool at the rooftop was not broken; it just does NOT have a hot tub. The pool does have air jets for massage so I can easily understand why you were confused.

As for Nespresso, your feedback is well appreciated and we will place the machine in a more visible area for guests to use. As well as an easy to follow 1-2-3 steps. This coffee is really exquisite and I don’t want any guest to miss it!

The prices for cocktails do run from $8-$12. I do not consider them unreasonable but my take on this subject is that this is relative to each individual's reality.
I apologize for the sounds generated by the event at the Rooftop. The rooftop club is exclusive for guests and members and the reason it was done this way is to protect our guests sleep quality from a hip bar or an every day party. We did have a member's 40th bday celebration until 12:30am but I assure you this is the exception not the norm at the rooftop.

All of us at O:live really want to satisfy 100% our guest, so please next time talk to us. I assure you that our staff will provide options to satisfy your needs whenever we can.

Sincerely,

Loisse Herger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a small luxury hotel. Weird, isn't it? But true. Even though is a small hotel, it is very tastefully decorated, extremely smart the way the space is used and it has a very romantic atmosphere. The service is excellent, the common areas are very cozy and the rooms; although small; are a very delightful surprise. Meaning that, the way the room is layout makes it bigger. The rooftop has an excellent view of the sundown. The view is also to the Condado lagoon. Breakfast is continental type. Highly Recommended

Room Tip: No view in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Owner at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your positive experience at O:live Boutique Hotel and for calling us a jewel. Our team is highly motivated in providing a memorable experience to all our guests. I am very happy to hear to you were 100% satisfied with your stay. Please visit us soon, this is your home!

Loisse Herger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

whats good about this hotel is: interior. It's fantastic! Beds are great. Location is perfect - all the top restaurants, beaches are near by and old-San Juan is easily reachable by taxi/public transport

now on to bad stuff: never mind them saying that breakfast and water are complimentary. There is no breakfast! There are some yogurts and cakes available but the rest really depends on how lucky you are. Some mornings you wont have any trays for juice or coffee. One morning I drank coffee from a wine glass. Other mornings you wont have any drinks available at all. (not even water). Upon request - staff usually were really helpful to fetch something, but seriously - in the morning the last thing I want to do is to chase the staff to get something. Forget about having a sandwich, there is no cheese, bread, ham available.

now on to maids - our sheets and towels were changed on regular bases, I can't complain on that. But - I do expect the floor to be swiped at least once per our 5 night stay. You do expect some sand to be carried in your room when staying close to such fantastic beaches - well if you do - live with them! Instead of cleaning the floor - maids will keep them selves busy by re-arranging stuff in your room - and how! We returned from our tour in rain-forest and I left some clothes to dry. Maid figured that It might be a good idea to tuck them between my out-going clothes.. same thing happened day later with my swim-shorts - wet? they don't care! obviously some crazy instruction is given to tuck them away into most ridiculous spot no matter what.

Staff in general - per my stay I had two simple requests: can I have my "breakfast" 15 minutes earlier one morning due to a planned tour. Receptionist assured with a smile on her face that it's not a problem and it will be sorted. Well it wasn't. the other request was when leaving - I asked evening before can they arrange a taxi for me at 3.30AM, I had a plane to catch. Same thing happened - receptionist was super polite promising that taxi will be there and waiting. When we came down to lobby at 3.30 we learned that there's no taxi and it had to be called from there...

Roof top terrace - go there to relax and enjoy the view. Not the DRINKS! Forget about Pina Colada, they don't serve any frozen cocktails. So I ordered first thing they said they have - Martini. Instead I got rum diluted with watter... I can't even describe how disgusting it was.

the building - no one cares to wash the windows. There is no sound insulation - one night an alarm kept going somewhere near by. Another night there was power supply problems so the whole area turned on their generators. The buzzing was absolutely crazy. I had no sleep at all.

You kind of expect this personal service by choosing these boutiques but in reality you learn that they just don't care and you might as well stayed with a big chain that might have a disgusting interior but at least has some standards...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHYEAHCorp, Owner at Olive Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello Martin:

Thank you for all your positive comments and your constructive criticism. However, I will like to make clear that we included in our stay is a continental breakfast which in our case we have the following items available:
a. Juices: Orange and Pineapple
b. Bread: Croissants and Bagels (multi-grain and regular)
c. Pastries: Chocolate Brownies, Chocolate chip cookies and Cinnamon Rolls.
d. Yogurt: Dannon with Multi flavors
e. Cereal: Granola Multi Grain
f. Fruits: Apples, Oranges, Bananas and White Grapes
g. Coffee: Your Choice of Yaucono Puerto Rican Coffee or Nespresso Machine with Multi flavor capsules.

Above is the itemize products list that we display daily at our Continental Breakfast in our Restaurant. We feel that our continental breakfast goes above the typical, however, using your constructive criticism we have implemented a breakfast menu with live cooking for those guest that feel the urge of eating something heavier like eggs, omelets, bacon, sauces, frittata's, etc.

We learn from every guest and this helps us improve our high standards of service.
We have taken the following measures to assure that our guests receive the best service possible in the future:

1. Our chef will be in charge of the new breakfast menu, we do offer right now a continental breakfast with bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereal and fruits. We will work in the next couple of days to offer a new and exciting menu.

2. We meet with the maids and did a rundown of all your comments. They assure us that they will pay more attention to these details. They are very hard working ladies and their ranking in tripadvisor has been flawless until now.

3. We will add frozen cocktails to our rooftop bar options.

However; as far as the taxi goes, I assure you that the front desk clerk did make the call in advance but being the time so early at 3:30am, the taxi company asked us to call when guest was at lobby otherwise they would've charge extra. Being in Condado, they only take 3-5 minutes to arrive so he assumed it would be best to call at the moment.

Please accept our sincere apologies for these incidents and we hope that your vacation in Puerto Rico was memorable.


Sincerely,
Fernando Davila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olive Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Boutique Hotel

Address: 55 Aguadilla st. | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the ‘art de vivre’ and the diversity of the Mediterranean culture, O:live Boutique Hotel presents a unique style of relaxed luxury and intimacy. Its prime Condado location, exclusive amenities and artistique atmosphère makes this charming boutique hotel part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Olive Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.