We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Hallandale Beach, Florida
1 review
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I just returned from my first trip to Old San Juan and fell in love with the city! Reminded very much of my birth city in Cuba. The hotel staff were great, especially Greisha who made me feel right at home! Thank you again Greisha!
The room was clean and quiet. The hotel is located near restaurants, plazas, churches and best of all shopping! The only downside was the weather, as it rained during most of my stay. Now I'll have an excuse to return and I will of course be staying at Hotel Plaza de Armas again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    240
    123
    60
    53
See reviews for
85
274
91
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Is helpfully if you want to walk and explore the Old San Juan because is practically in the center of all.Is Near to restaurant,pharmacy and Historic places.Is Very Clean and The Person of service are Very Nice.Is An Economic Hotel and the amenitys are good.I liked and i would like to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We went to Puerto Rico for our anniversary and this hotel was perfect. This Hotel is located in the heart of the old city at the Plaza De Armas. Great for walking around and doing some sightseeing, and shopping, and the plaza was a great place to relax and have a coffee and a mayorca, a local sweet treat. We had an interior room that was clean and comfortable which fit our needs perfectly. The staff was friendly and helpful and even gave us advise on places to eat and helped with a rental car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel only for two (2) nights. The room was clean and spacious. The staff and the front desk agent Sheyla where very friendly and helpful. At check in the Manager was there and he went out of his way to let us check in early without any trouble. The only downside was he WI-Fi connection, it did not reach our room on the 3th floor but they were working on improving this service. We had no problem receiving a signal in the Lobby. All in all we liked our stay at the Hotel and if I visit Old San Juan again I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room without the window, this way there is less noise from the Street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. The employees were friendly and helpful. The room wa small but clean and the bed was comfortable. Good deal for the price. In the heart of Old San Juan everything is within a walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is located across from the city hall in Old San Juan. Thus the location is quite convenient; and everything is within walking distance. The hotel property is of some historical significance, as it is in the historic area.

I stayed in one of the interior rooms, thus, it has no windows; only an interior patio, but you have to step outside of it to see it. The few rooms that face the street have a better view, but also a great deal of noise that filters in. One of the issues that I found amusing is that rooms have no telephones. I assume that it is due to the property's age. However, in my room I had free Wi-Fi access with excellent upload and download speed.

However, the best part of the hotel, by far, is the staff. Greisha and the manager were extremely friendly, helpful and very caring.

In sum, it is a fantastic value, in an excellent location with an awesome staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms with twin beds. They are not suitable for adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent for shopping and sightseeing. However wifi should be made available in the rooms. The experience was a great mix of the architecture of Old San Juan and modern housing. A restaurant would be a useful addition to the service provided

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.