We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but Hard to Recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location, but Hard to Recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nobody likes a negative Nancy or unjust complaining, so I’ll start with the positives. The location of Plaza de Armas is incredible, nicely tucked away in the famed plaza of Old San Juan. It’s great walking distance to several great restaurants and bars like Barrachina, Mojito’s, the Red Monkey (great dive spot). Most importantly, it is a decently short walk to the cruise ports (albeit a somewhat steeply downhill one) at a MUCH lower price than any of the large chain hotels along the water.

With that being said, the building is just extremely old and ailing. The tiny elevator that I’m not sure I would have actually fit into anyway was broken during our stay. Our room of course was on the 4th floor of a 4 story building. Thank God we are light packers because that was a trek and a workout. I don’t know how anyone elderly or disabled would have ever made it, guess they would have had to find another place to stay. The room was very small and you got what you paid for, but it was very noisy outside the halls. The water eventually gets hot in the shower, you just may have to let it run for a while.

The biggest complaint would probably have to be the beds though. Man, these need some updating. I’ve slept on couch beds and bunk beds that are more comfortable. As a side sleeper, I woke up feeling like I had a broken hip. I was seriously sore for 2 days.

If they can keep the elevator running, try to work on sound proofing the rooms a bit, and update the mattresses at all, this would be a gem of a boutique hotel in a charming setting. As the title says, it will be hard to recommend until they do. For $80.00, I can’t complain too much though.

Room Tip: Pray or bribe your way onto the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks a lot Len for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

We take our guests' comments very seriously because we strive to make each stay a memorable one.

We are deeply sorry your stay was not up to your expectations but we are really glad that you started your comments with positive notes about Hotel Plaza De Armas.

Our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.

We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building. Our building has been here since 1868 and you can find a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook, that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

We are one of 4 hotel in Old San Juan Area that has elevator. Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.

If the elevator was out of service at the moment of your stay we are really sorry for that but I can tell you that now is fully operational and in excellent conditions, however if you decide to be with us one more time we can accommodate you in a lower floor so you do not have to make it to the 4th.

About the ederly, we all the time take an excellent care for them in order to accommodate them in lowers floors (1st & 2nd) and for people with disabilities we have a special room with all the comodities they might need. So there is nothing to worry about that if there is a request.

The majority of our rooms are interior one. Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet wich is a little wider than the average room in this area. but we do have bigger Suites Room with French Balcony, (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet. You can always open all of our windows. If you have book any Interior Room you can request an upgrade for an affordable cost. Upgrade is always available upon request. So you are invited to stay in any of them for your comfort next time you visit us.

About the bed I think for sure that you are the first one who complained about that. We constantly survey our guests about how are all the things in their rooms and nobody has told us anything about the quality of our beds. On the contrary we have heard people telling us how wonderful was peacefully sleeping in our rooms.

About noise, Hotel Plaza De Armas PR has a "good night rest" policy ensuring all guests receive a good night rest. Any excessive noise complaints are not tolerated and further action should be taken into consideration. This property's policy is to refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, including pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area and by the time you wrote your review we are in a really excellent position among all the hotels in San Juan area. In fact we are the hotel number 17 out of 47 and 61% of friends who visited us recommend our property to others.

Of course you can always look for another location nearby Len, that's your call but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

As you have said you can not complaint to much since you took advantage of a great special offer we have, however next time you have a any complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator/General Manager because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    288
    151
    66
    60
See reviews for
103
343
107
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice, OLD, OLD hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. Within walking distance to many of the things to see and a fairly short taxi ride to the airport and cruise port for Celebrity Cruises. Other cruise terminals are even closer.
The hotel had no special attractions other than old world charm, good location and GREAT staff. Luis Garzon was especially helpful with directions, restaurants, tour trolleys and using the antiquated elevator -- when it worked. When it broke down, hotel staff was quick to help us get our luggage down. The room did have AC, a decent shower, and flat screen TV. Our room faced the street, so we heard the early morning deliveries to nearby stores, etc. but we also heard the jazz and classical music played in the park across the street in the early evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Cozy clean room with new nice furniture. It is located in a very nice part of San Juan with bars, restaurants and the waterfront just outside the door. Parking can be tricky, but there is a nice, secure, cheap parking lot about a 3 minute walk away. Not a lot of amenities if thats what you're looking for, but I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: the room i stayed in was windowless. Not a big deal for me, but if it is for you, maybe you ask abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel, good price, excellent customer service, knowledgeable staff, clean facilities, convenient location. Would definitely recommend this hotel. We look forward to staying here again one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Plaza de Armas last weekend and had a great experience. It has a great central location for touring Old San Juan. There are plenty of places to eat, tour, and shop nearby. The staff was always very helpful and kind. They give

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Highly recommended to locals seeking an Old San Juan escape or to travelers seeking a cost-effective experience. Staff extraordinarily helpful. Unbeatable location allows enjoyment of the city until the very late hours. 150 years as a hotel establishment counts as well....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were looking to spend a couple days exploring Old San Juan and this place had by far the best bang for the buck. It's right in the middle of the old town and virtually everything is within walking distance. We were easily able to check out the forts, take the ferry across to the Bacardi distillery, and check out the street cafes at our leisure. Rooms aren't all that big or fancy, but our goal was to be outside anyway. A couple of things--the A/C was cranked up REALLY high and the unit in our room seemed to be out of reach to adjust. Also, if you have a car you'll have to leave it in a public lot about 10 minutes away...but this is something that likely applies to just about any hotel in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 45 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.8 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#23 of 45 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.