We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Westminster, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple nights. Not a 5 star hotel but the room was good for sleeping, nice and cold. Nice full shower and comfortable bed. Location was perfect, close to food and shops. Staff were nice, xtra towel when we needed them, good information about shops, restaurants and gave us great advice about our trip to Culebra. Perfect for the price!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    232
    120
    58
    51
See reviews for
81
268
86
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent attention and service.Since we're a family of 5 they accommodated us in their larger bedroom (little pricey but worth it),which is in their 2nd floor, faces the street, has two mini balconies and came with a small refrigerator.It's located beside the State Department. I could shop and explore old SJ and return to met with the fam at the hotel literally in minutes. The manager recommended Pizzeria Pirilos so we could watch a basketball game and it resulted in one of the best traditionally made pizza I've ever tried. Definitely want to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajas, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

In the middle of old San Juan. Dont expect a 5 star hotel. Atmosphere very dark, although the room has everything you need. No pool, no parking. You have to be careful were you park you can get a ticket.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks a lot Mr. Lajas for your recent review about your stay at Old San Juan.

We take our guests' comments very seriously because we strive to make each stay a memorable one.

We are deeply sorry your stay was not up to your expectations but when you book a stay some additional step need to be taken into consideration: full description of the room in our property and what the hotel include was provided before buying the room.

None of the hotels in Old San Juan has parking except for Hotel El Convento and The Sheraton Old San Juan. We never recommend to park in the street because as you mention you can get a ticket from the local police. All other hotel use to recommend the Doña Fela or La Puntilla Parking lot. The same thing happen with the pool.

We agree with you that our property is not a 5 stars but allow me to tell you that our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.
We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building.

There is a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook and our building was already here in that year , that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan.

The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

We assure you that Hotel Plaza De Armas is the best value for your money due to the LOCATION and the most friendly staff in Old San Juan area.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a small hotel with a quasi-cute appearance. Almost everything is in small size, the rooms, the halls and even the elevator, but it doesn't mean that it is a claustrophobic experience. The room features, including the bed, were in average to good condition and it was clean. For me this is the most centric place to stay in Old San Juan. We are a local couple that stayed for the 1st time, for 2 nights. We had a wonderful time and experience doing it all: restaurant & bar hoping (there are plenty), shopping, visiting art galleries, site seeing, meeting people, etc. Conclusion: this is one of the most economic and best option to get a decent room in Old San Juan, mainly to keep your things, shower-dress yourself, get out and just return when ready to sleep after a day of full activity and fun, particularly if your main goal is to fully enjoy the Old San Juan and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was there at The Plaza De Armas for 5 days and 4 nights. Arrived there after 10 and the night clerk was extremely friendly and personable. They were so helpful at telling where to go and what to do and how to get there! They showed me how to get around San Juan on free transportation and that saved me big bucks! They have great deals with Barrachinas, a MUST restaurant, that saves you 20% and a free drink! The entire staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and I will DEFINITELY be going back. Mr. Luis Garcon and his amazing staff made my trip a beautiful experience. The hotel beautiful, the rooms are very clean and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only had 3 nights before the cruise. First night was late arrival so we chose a place near the airport. We wanted to see more of the island so we went to the west end to Fajardo for the 2nd night. For the last night we came back to old San Juan to be close to the ship for departure. Not only was this right in town, it was the cleanest and smelled wonderfully fresh. With the humidity and heat of August in the tropics, this was very much appreciated. I wish we had spent more time there. Great location in close walking distance to museums, forts, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Did I mention that it was the best price by a long shot too? Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates 3 star accommodations at a 1-2 star price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just came back from staying at Plaza de Armas for 3 nights. The purpose of the trip was to plan my destination wedding. I stayed with my sister. Mr. Luis Garcon (manager of the hotel) was exceptional! He has helped me with all sorts of suggestions, tips and recommendations. All of the staff provided friendly and superior customer service. The rooms are very basic but clean and the location is great. The rates are unbeatable. Several of my wedding guests will be staying there for our wedding in October. Thank Luis & Staff!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, but you have to be willing to wait for the elevator which is a little slo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.