We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No too bad, but not too good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No too bad, but not too good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Fear,because, stairs to narrow, the elevator too old, the rooms short space, the hotel do not have any kind on activities.the restaurants in the area are very expensives. The are facilities to get around for free to some of historics places.the sea is near you can walk in the boulevard. A lot of stores where you can gets gifts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Fear,because, stairs to narrow, the elevator too old, the rooms short space, the hotel do not have any kind on activities.the restaurants in the area are very expensives. The are facilities to get around for free to some of historics places.the sea is near you can walk in the boulevard. A lot of stores where you can gets gifts.

Thanks a lot Jasbecas for taking a moment to write about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

I do not know in which room you stayed but in you feel fear for using the stair all you had to do was talking to our incredible friendly staff and they inmediately could move you to a lower floor where you did not need to use neither the stair nor the elevator.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

Let me tell you Jasbecas that you were in the heart of a historic area but there is always a chance to get a nice deal on meals like Wendy's, Subway, Domino's Pizza or Pizza Hut if you can not afford to pay in a restaurant nearby. Howevert we have certain agreement with some restaurant that could give you up to 20% off from the bill like Barrachina and Tropical Taste plus a free beverage.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

However allow me to suggest you that next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

I invite you to come to Hotel Plaza De Armas once again and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you.
I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back if you accept my invitation..

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
Guest Relations Manager
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    199
    113
    54
    51
See reviews for
73
247
74
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Plaza De Armas in Old San Juan. We had read quite a few reviews for this Hotel and found it (as everyone had said) in an ideal location, clean and friendly. We arrived at the hotel very early Saturday morning and boarded the boat (sorry, ship) on Saturday afternoon. The room we had did not have a window but it had great air conditioning included! The lift was the slowest lift we had every experienced – it is original to the building so you will just have to go with the very, very slow ascent/descent. We would certainly use this hotel again.
We got back to San Juan early on the Saturday and our flight didn’t leave until mid afternoon the next day so this gave us time to walk around Old San Juan. Just opposite the hotel was a lovely square with a coffee station that sold ($1.25) lovely coffee. It was a nice place to sit and watch the world go by – and shelter from the rain at times. We were given the name of a great pizza place where we ate on Saturday night. The history of San Juan is amazing and there are lots of places to visit while you are there. We felt quite safe walking about and there was plenty to see that was within walking distance of the hotel.

Linda & Pete

Room Tip: If you wanted a room with a window I think you would need to book up extremely early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

To stay the first time, three days and two nights.I did not like it to much. There was no pool. There is no food service in the hotel. In the room there was no refrigerator at least a small one to put cold drinks. There was no microwave to warm food. Manager have to think that sometimes people like to feel comfortable and having the things a mention, the people doesn't have to leave the hotel a lot. They also don't have emergency lights or electricity. The second day there was no electricity and we had to leave the room and wait out side or go for walk until it came back. Because the rooms don't have windows neather emergency electricity and it was hot. And the last day at 2:30 am. in the morning the electricity went off and we couldn't see nothing. Because they did not have emergency lights or electricity. So we had to light up with our celular phones, and wait until it was day time to pack up our things and leave at 6:30 am. in the morning. Also the manager that day wasn't present and they did not gave back our money that was hold $50.00. And they did not at least rest the hours early that we left, to return our money.I am still waiting respond from the manager and my money. I recomend if you are going to visit San Juan and see the sights and have a lot of money to eat outside of the hotel it's a good place to stay.If not don't stay and also pray that the electricity won't go.

Room Tip: Should have emergency lights and electricity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in Old San Juan.

We take our guests' comments very seriously because we strive to make each stay a memorable one.
We are sorry your stay was not up to your expectations but when you book a stay some additional step need to be taken into consideration: full description of the room in our property and what the offer included was provided before buying.

Our phone numbers and great staff were also available to answer any questions you could have before buying the offer that by the way was an incredible one cause the room that you had cost more than the price you paid. But more than that you could, for additional charge, change the category of your room for another one, a suite, with the amenities you mention.

Our hotel is a historic property, located in the heart of a historic city, Old San Juan. It is comparable to properties
in historic neighborhoods in Paris, Madrid or Buenos Aires.

Our guests want a clean confortable room to stay while they enjoy the city and the history it has to offer. Our location is so amazing that you can visit museus, plazas, unique shops and the most fantastic restaurants and pubs. It is a different experience than staying at a resort, precisley, because our clients are looking for ANOTHER experience.

We are working on solving the electricity project. At this very moment we are instructing our maintenance personal about it, However let make clear that is not our fault that the electricity went out and that AEE has failure to provide a constant service.

Regarding to your $50.00 in hold, you were supposed to be charge only the taxes(US$11.26) and I had instructed the personal about that but for the same reason there was some misunderstanding, however, we are working on giving you a refund for the $20.00 Service Fee, the other diference should be in your bank at this moment.

You can always look for another location nearby, that's your call but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE. We have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issue that could be present during your stay isalways going to be addressed in a proper way if you ask for assistance in the front desk.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
Guest Relations Manager
"Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The building is in need if a remodel from the inside. We nicknamed this hotel the cave since we had no windows in our room and it was dark all the time. It is ok for one night if you want to be near all the action. I would avoid this place if you plan to hang out in your room or the hotel area for any time at all. The manager and staff are very helpful and is the only thing this place has going for it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks a lot Dougrucal for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

We are deeply sorry for the feeling you have toward Hotel Plaza De Armas.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced if that's the case.

We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors:

1.- We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building, . There is a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook and our building was already here in that year , that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan. Saying that our property is a cave does not do justice to the history behing it. Also, consider that you took advantage of an incredible offer( Just $65.00/per night) in a room that normally cost more than that.

2.- The beauty about being in Hotel Plaza De Armas is that we are in the heart of Old San Juan. People who visit us do not stay in their room for long time but oustside enjoying the museums, forts, restaurants, tours and all other activities that take place near us.

Dougrucal let me tell you that we have had guests in our Hotel Plaza De Armas that have spent a long period of time with us (2, 3 & more weeks in a row) and have been pleased with our services and with their room and if they have required anything in any moment it has been addressed inmediately and without delay. The most important thing is that they have come back to stay even longer and their experience with us has been an amazing one at the point they want to share more time in our place.

3.- If you have the opportunity to read other people's comments about our property you will find that people love to be here for the location, the clean and very quite room they found and for the incredible and friendly Front Desk and Housekeeping staff, as you mention, that we have. Our staff is always at the disposition of our guest to assist them in every need they may have.

Yes indeed we have the best location in Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allows us to be UNIQUE.

Dougrucal , allow me to tell you that your feedback helps us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Remember, our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights before leaving on a cruise and would definitely stay there again. The staff was very friendly and the room was quite comfortable. We actually enjoyed having no windows because we didn't have to try to pin the curtains together to keep out the morning light like we do at other hotels. The air conditioner worked well and was quiet. When we informed the front desk that our toilet seat was loose they replaced it immediately. The location is perfect and close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The people here are super-nice, the rooms are reasonably priced, and the location simply could not be better. As a bonus, I forgot my computer power supply in Massachusetts and the owner charged my computer for me. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The "interior" rooms have no windows. If that's an issue for you, don't stay in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location convenient to all of Old San Juan. Free trolley will take you around or walk. Our room was very humid and one wall was wet so when we told the desk they immediately put us in another room . Staff was very friendly and efficient. Room and bath were very clean. The only thing lacking was a hair dryer and breakfast. No pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.