We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
LAST MINUTES SALE
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in San Juan
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old World Comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location convenient to all of Old San Juan. Free trolley will take you around or walk. Our room was very humid and one wall was wet so when we told the desk they immediately put us in another room . Staff was very friendly and efficient. Room and bath were very clean. The only thing lacking was a hair dryer and breakfast. No pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    183
    104
    54
    49
See reviews for
65
228
66
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, Ny
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My stay was brief but I enjoyed the time at Plaza de Armas. A basic hotel that I think has much promise. Had an interior room that is, as they tell you, without windows but when it's so hot and humid as it is this time of year all you want is dark and good air conditioning. My room was perfectly fine — very clean, comfortable, basic bath with shower — with the exception of the wifi, and would have upped my rating to five 'dots' had there been something approaching acceptable internet. It's 2013, folks, it's not that hard to provide a stronger signal, and no one wants to have to go to the lobby for a few moments of connection in the middle of the heat and humidity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Plaza de Armas in February 2013 for two days before our cruise. We arrived late evening and check-in was smooth and efficient. We selected a Suite Queen Bed with Balcony on the 4th floor that looked out onto Plaza de Armas. The room was clean with basic furnishings. The bathroom was of good size. The TV was a bit of a challenge and we needed some help to get it going. Internet signal was weak during the first day due to their system upgrading, but was great after that. The front desk team was pleasant and helpful with restaurant recommendations and excursion booking. Yes, as others mentioned, the elevator is small and slow but it added to the charm. Everything of historical interest was within walking distance. We would stay at Hotel Plaza de Armas again for future cruises out of San Juan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's been a while since we stayed in Old San Juan, but I had to write a review. I don't have a single bad thing to say about this place. It was clean, affordable, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Did I mention the location is about as good as it gets? The only thing that went wrong on our trip was our air conditioning went out in the room, and they immediately helped us move to anoter room. Things happen, it's not their fault. We had no plans for the vacation since we knew nothing about the area. The staff quickly helped us figure out how to spend our time, and they helped us with as much as many of the reservactions as they could. We will be going back, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First off, the staff here are AWESOME. They are very friendly and helpful. The manager, Luis, was great and should be very proud of two his employees Yvonne and Ernesto. They were the best. They gave us great directions, maps, and tips. The hotel was very clean. The location is very accommodating for tourist. Everything is very walkable. The area was very safe. I will for sure return. If you visit Old San Juan, STAY HERE! You will love it.

Thanks,
Jacob
Los Angeles, CA

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor, and was nice. I am sure that all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's location, as others have noted, is superb! It would be hard, even for me, to get lost finding my way back because the hotel is right in the middle of the plaza. The rooms were clean and cozy, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We only stayed for 1 night this time, but we will certainly stay here again on our next adventure to Old San Juan! Most noteworthy was the amazing sleep I got while here! Although the hotel is central to everything, your not staying right above all the clubs and drunken chaos found on some streets, so it's nice and quiet when your ready to turn in for the night! If you are planning a trip to Old San Juan, this is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with balconies, so try to reserve one ahead of time. The view out into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, null, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We needed a hotel to stay for 2 nights due to some business we had to do, we had stayed there before when it belonged to howard johnson hotels, rooms are tiny, tv's are old but that doesn't matter since you will be at the hotel for short period of time, what was dreadful is that the A/C unite was damaged and it was turning on and off every 2-3 minutes all night since 'm the type of person that can't deal with noises at sleep, my sleep was awful. Other than that the location is excellent, walking distance to great restaurants and places.

Room Tip: Upgrade to king bed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.