We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Independence, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Some other reviews for this property state how the front desk staff are fantastic. I agree that the employees are extremely helpful fixing many little things such as: providing towels and blankets when the maid forgot to stock the room; offering batteries for the AC romote; calling the satelite TV provider when the TV didn't; providing ice when none of the ice machines worked. The staff had to do all of the above for us. Unfortunately they were unable to fix the broken elevator, we were going on a cruise and had to take our luggage up four flights of stairs. There was a wedding or festival of some type the Saturday night we stayed at this property. Until almost 3:30 in the morning drunken guest were returning to their rooms and slamming doors. The next morning when we went to shower there was no hot water. We went to make coffee, there was a coffee maker but no coffee, cups, creamer or sugar. The staff said they didn't have supplies for the coffee and claimed the hot water was fine, even though 2 other guests were complaining about the hot water when we were. Also each time we had an issue we had to walk down 4 flights of stairs since there are no room phones. At check out when we reviewed all of the problems with the lady at the firont desk, the manager walked away from the front desk and went info his office and when we asked for him, he refused to come out.

Room Tip: select another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks a lot Mr. Scott for taking the time out of your tight schedule to make a review about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- I suggest you that before you go any place on earth you need to make your homework trying to investigate as much as you can about the place you are heading.

2.- Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs.

3.- I do not see any harm in giving you the service if you requiere extra towels or if maid forgot to stock on the room.

4.- Giving you the battery for the remote could not be a great issue because things could happen inn any moment with electronic devices.

5.- We have a new TV Cable provider DIRECT TV and we do not have any problem with them. if you had any trouble with your TV that could
be fixed inmediately.

6.- We just have ONE ICE MAKER MACHINE and it is working properly.

7.- The elevator could be stopped in one moment but we know how to keeping running asap. Normally we do not accept that our guest carry their luggage specially if they are going to the 4th floor but If you were in a hurry for coming up or down that is your call to do that.

8.- Th behavior of our guest is their responsability, although we have a policy against noises we can not totally control it.

9.- The hot water heaters in all our room work properly, however if you had any situation with that you can be sure we could change it into another room as your request. I do not think that more guest were complanng about the same situation as you because we do not let that situation like this spread out of control.

10.- I have to admit that we o not have coffee at this moment. The reason is that we are making a new contract with a new company.

11.- If you can read all the other reviews posted in this website you can notice that everybody speak very nicely about the hotel staff completely.
For that reason I'm the first one in line to treat every guest with all the respect that they deserve. So it is impossible that I could not address a guest situation in a proper manner and it's unthinkable that I have turned my back on any guest claiming

Mr. Scott let tell you that we have had guests in our Hotel Plaza De Armas that have spent a long period of time with us (2, 3 & more weeks in a row) and have been pleased with our services and with their room and if they have required anything in any moment have been addressed inmediately and without delay and the most important thing is that they have come back to stay even longer and their experience with us has been an amazing one at the point they want to share more time in our place.

Yes indeed we have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

Mr. Scott, allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    229
    120
    58
    51
See reviews for
81
266
83
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice old hotel with charm and character in the heart of old San Juan. Room was small but clean, staff friendly and helpful. You walk out the front door into an old Spanish style plaza with gazebos, fountains and benches. Affordable as well. Will stay there again, without a doubt.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, NSW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed just 2 nights.
Our room had air conditioning which was needed.
The air conditioning was a little noisy as was the hotel at odd hours (we were possibly jet lagged so it could have been a normal hour).
None of this mattered though as the hotel is right where you want to be and is a great price.
It has everything you need.
Its not a fancy hotel but it doesn't claim to be.
It is everything that you need, exactly where you want to be and at a price that will allow you to enjoy a whole lot more of the attractions in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. It is right in the middle of everything. The rooms were clean and functional and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The accommodations are pretty basic, but that is not the reason to choose this hotel. You choose this hotel if you want to feel right in the middle of Old San Juan. We had a front room with a balcony. There was some expected traffic noise in the morning, but nothing too bad. I enjoyed being able to go out on the balcony and overlook Plaza De Armas. Lots of great restaurants within a short walk, you are a half block from a small park overlooking the water, and don't miss the coffee from the kiosk in the plaza. It was nice to be able to control the AC in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The last time we were in Old San Juan was 1979. The whole city has changed. Our room was clean, bed comfortable, AC working and WINDOWLESS. But we did slept well and had no street noise. Desk staff friendly and very helpful.
Items that could improve would coffee and cups for coffee maker.
This hotel worked great for a short 3 night visit but would want a window and balcony for a longer stay. Free old town trolly stop just outside the hotel entrance. Walking distance to some great restaurants. Try the fast food El Meson on corner of plaza for breakfast. We split a combo every morning more than enough food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's probably the 4th time I stay in this Hotel in a 20 year period. The first two times it was very seedy. The last two times in the last eight years I would give it two and a half star for accommodation, but for location, it's the absolute best !! It is in the center of everything in Old San Juan. About three blocks from La Fortaleza, El Morro is about a 10 minute picturesque, Old world, incredible architecture that you could mistake with any city in Spain with cobblestone streets. You are in fact transported to another era, another time. Recommended very highly. Also, in my opinion, it is extremely safe, the police and security is everywhere. Go there..

Room Tip: A room with a balcony will cost you more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Paramaribo, Suriname
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We (party of 4) booked the hotel Plaza de Armas via the Internet based on the description, surroundings and price. We arrived with high hopes in San Juan.the trip from the airport was very pitoresque and when we arrived our disappointment of the hotel was big. IT started with a lobby which showed very poor maintenance (the painting - lobby furniture - reception area lights not working etc.). We got assigned our rooms (we had booked 2 rooms) and pretty soon it became clear that this very nice old looking building - next to the state department - was very poorly maintained.
In the lobby there were still signs of this being a Howard Johnsonn hotel - something I am still not sure of as on the Internet I could not find a reference to HJ Hotels.

It started with an elevator which actually was slower than when a "cripple'would take the stairs towards the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor. Next we got a room with no telephone, no refrigerator, no airco remote control (the airco was just blasting fullforce continuously) and a remote for an outdated television set which was of the RCA make and the TVwas a different make - hence remote did not work. Neither did the safe - womething I always treasure as I do not carry my passports around.

When compared to our friends who got a different room it was clear that they had a refrigarator, airco remote and such although their airconditioner did not work very well and made more noise than anything else.

I must admit that the service of the people working there was very ok. THey were friendly and trying to help but I did noticed that the manager - Garzon - was less service minded as he tried to explain the shortcomings with very easy answers such as -"not every room has a refrigerator, depends on your booking" (Well, my friend and I booked our rooms togetehr via one credit card).

The big PLUS was the fact that the hotel is situated very much in the center of the Old San Juan area making it accessible for everybody. GIven the high security around that area I felt very comfortable with my wife walking aorund in the stores at all (opening) hours.

Overall though I will never (not intentionally) book this hotel again. FOr the same price one can get a hotel in Condado - not more than 5 km away - and visit the old center with a cab.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks a lot Mr. Jerry for taking the time to share your experience in your last visit to Old San Juan.

I'm really sorry about what you feel in your recent stay but let me explain you a couple of things to be fair with other people that are going to read what you have written about our place:

1.- I suggest you that before you go any place on earth you need to make your homework trying to investigate as much as you can about the place you are heading.

2.- Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs.

3.- You just came to our hotel in the middle of a maintenance process .

4.- We are not Howard Johnson anymore and we don't have the need to pretend one of them because we have our own identity.

5.- Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.
For your information we are one of a few hotel aroun the area in our category that has elevator service.

6. Our air conditioning system do have control temperature in the roomand if you feel cold or hot in your room there is always a way to fix that situation if you requiere so. Our air conditioning system may vary from on room to another but always you can lower or rise the temperature and always you can TURN OFF the unit but as you mention the staff is very friendly and helpful and we always are trying that people feel at home and pleased them in any need they may have including TURNING OFF an air conditioning unit.

We have guest in our Hotel Plaza De Armas that have spent a long period of time with us (2 & 3 weeks in a row) and have been pleased with our services and with their room and if they have required anything in any moment have been addressed inmediately and without delay and the most important thing is that they have came back to stay even longer.
And their experience with us has been an amazing one at the point they want to share more time in our place.

Yes indeed we have the best location at Old San Juan because we have a great combination of facilities to get you around the old city: a taxi line just in the front and a trolley stop just in our door, but if you preferred walking, everything is just minutes away.

Yes, you can always look for other location nearby, but they will be always not like us. The combination of conveniences that we have allow us to be UNIQUE.

Jerry, allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.


Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.