We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who needs a window” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LAST MINUTES SALE
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Ravenna, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Who needs a window”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

These building are sandwiched next to each other and never had windows on the sides. It seems like a big deal but wasn’t. The location is the best and the price $69.00 plus tax is a great deal for this area and PR in general. We stayed coming and going and the first room was a bit larger. Both were fine. The TV had cable. The second stay had internet problems so we went to Subway and they had it for free. We loved Old San Juan with so much to see so this hotel was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The larger room I had was on first floor on the left just before the large couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    163
    99
    53
    47
See reviews for
52
210
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just returned from the Hotel Plaza De Armas on November 25, 2012. Thanks to all the fellow Trip Advisor travelers who provided honest feedback on this hotel. I title this review, "Down Home Hospitality," because this is the service weeceived from Luis when we arrived around 11am. As you know, normal check is around 3pm, but Luis took note of our group and my mom (a senior in a wheelchair) and checked us in within 30 minutes. That gesture is much appreciated because she was exhausted from traveling. We were able to take a nap and freshed up, well ahead of what we anticipated. Luis and the crew were overall very helpful and treated us like family. I had to laugh, because Luis always seemed to be around at the right moment to help get Mom in/out of the property with the wheelchair. The restaurant recommendation was great. I can't recall the name at this moment, but it was only a 20 minute walk to 280 Calle De Sol. Really worth the venture. The location is EXCELLENT. Right outside - a few steps to your right - is a trolley stop. Use the FREE trolley as transport to the major attractions. The trolley is "hop-on-hop-off" so you can explore at your own pace. There are actually 2 free trolley runs. Just across the plaza from the hotel are lots of shops and 2 fast food eateries (Subway and Wendys). But if you also walk a few blocks away, you will reach another plaza with Starbucks (that can be your landmark) and several local restaurants next door. You cannot go wrong at the Hotel Plaza De Armas. Just a note: This is formerly the Howard Johnson. If your taxi driver cannot locate the hotel, tell him/her it's the former Howard Johnson property and they can find it.) Finally, the ride is about 15-20 minutes from the aiport. The flat rate to/from the aiport to this property is $21 + $1 per bag (including roller bags. If the bag has wheels, there is an additional $1 charge per bag).
Thanks again Luis for everything. I wish we made plans to stay longer.

Your first Jamaican visitor :-)
(Hope this clue rings jolts your memory)

Room Tip: We had the king room facing the street. It included a king bed, a single bed and a futon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
A trillion thanks AppleCripp for taking the time to write about your experience in your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas PR.

Opinion like yours makes us improve our services in daily basis.

Our staff are training constantly to meet the needs of every guest who enter our doors.

The descriptions of our facilities and the services we provide that you have written down will help a lot of people to find out for themselves the kind of services we provide to our friends.

Of course I will always remember my First Jamaican Crew. It was a great pleasure being completely at your service and I praise to God that we have the strenght and health to provide the kind of assistances you and our future guests deserve everytime you've andvthey've got the opportunity to visit us.

Please make sure you contact me whenever you plan to visit us once again. It will be awesome to serve you when you come back.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel bills itself as "old & charming" when actually it's just old. We've been to Old San Juan numerous times and are familiar with the neighborhood. They've cut corners whenever possible (plastic glasses, glues plastic panels vs. having actual windows, tube tv, etc). We paid for two nights and left after the first.

The balcony had doors on it with plastic covering the slats or window area's which was not fully sealed. In turn, the window was essentially open causing the a/c to run all night (very old and extremely loud) and we could hear ALL trucks and people ALL night (8X in 7 hours). We slept maybe 30 min. The balcony did not feel structurally safe.

Cleanliness: Just wasn't there. We found hairs in the bathroom (not ours). Stains on the walls. My wife woke up in the AM with bites on her torso.

Lighting: Only the main light in the ceiling. Felt more of a police interrogation than anything charming.

Service: No luggage carts so we had to make multiple trips to the 3rd floor (& from our taxi to the lobby). Elevator is very slow and only works if the last person to use it closes it up.

Check-In: They insisted on making copies of EACH of our driver's license's. This was our 4th hotel of the trip (all others very nice). None of the others asked to make copies. I understand to verify we not someone else, but to make copies? What happened to the copy (couldn't get it back at check out)? In addition, the staff could not even provide directions from the highway - we had to find it on our own. Lastly, I don't know how others found the staff to be friendly - they were not very nice or helpful at all. I question the facts in some of the previous reviews.

Location: We wanted to stay int he heart of Old San Juan, but the plaza had homeless on it which made us uncomfortable (however, no one asked us for money either).

Being an older building, it has the air flow windows above the room door. This was covered up with a plastic sheet that tried to block it from the outside heat (didn't) and had slats broken. Again, old, not charming.

This was truly one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in and don't believe it deserves any star. The building is falling apart. Please avoid this hotel. Since I can't post pictures, I'll try on other 'review' trip type websites. We aren't overly picky people, but when you pay up for charm, you should get it. This hotel bills itself as a boutique hotel when it was simply a dive - a more descriptive word would be perhaps "hostel". I don't know how others found this to be such a "great place" with a "great stay". It is a lousy, rundown place not even worthy of one star.

Room Tip: Avoid - there are no good rooms at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mrs. Laurie,

Thanks a lot Mrs. Laurie for taking the time out of your tight schedule to make a review about your recent stay in Old San Juan.

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments.

However we must clarify a couple of things for the benefit of our future visitors.

1.- We are indeed a Landmark (Historic) Building, there is a picture of 1920's in our fanpage in Facebook and our building was already here in that year and that's the charm of being here, to enjoy the raw nature of our culture just in the heart of Old San Juan.

Yes we are not fancy but what we do have is a great location for being in Old San Juan, a clean, quite, peaceful and affordable rooms plus a great service oriented staff (Front Desk and Housekeeping) to help you in all your needs
IF YOU REQUIRE SO.

2.- We are really sorry you did not sleep quite well because of the noise on the street but we can not control that kind of incidents. I respect your structural engineer knowledge but we have not had any accident for being outside in our balcony. About the plastic cover it was a temporary solution for repairing the window. About the air conditioning we sent already an order to the maintenance department to fix it as soon as possible and for the key we always assist our guest to handle it as proper as it should be.

3.- I am personally concerned at the conditions which you report about the cleanliness. This is certainly not the treatment we intend to offer our appreciated guests. I would like to offer you a million apologies.

The following steps were immediately taken:

An urgent meetings were held with the entire staff and they received additional training in maintaining the standards which we have set for our Hotel Plaza De Armas. This includes proper cleaning and also proper supplies being in the room.

Every room has been recheck in order to guarantee cleanliness and I can assure you that this kind of situation won't appear anymore.

4.- We keep a regular program of bugs exterminating service which allows to control any situation.

5.- All our room has lightning in the desk, in a small bed cabinet and in the bathroom. However we are in the middle of changing all our lightning system for a more efficient green bulb.

6.- Sorry about the luggage car but you could request help at the Front Desk and as a rule we help every guest with their luggage. Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggage's if you require it.

7.- It's a hotel policy for insurance and security purpose to require an identification at the moment of check in.
But at check out time if you require it we always give back that copy in order our guest feel safe.

8.- Homeless people are all over the world. Have you see the effect of Sandy in New York? Did you know how many people right now do not have a ceiling above their head to protect them from the weather?
Besides if a homeless approach you, I'm sure you will have the opportunity to put in practices your personal sharing characteristics.

In addition and as a normal practice, upon check out every guest is given my email address and personal cell number. Our goal is that every guest is so satisfy with the level of service that he or she will not feel the need to escalate any service issues.

Thankfully and as evident by our guests comments I rarely receive a call from a guest and when I do it is to thank our hotel staff for the stay or ask for my assistance in sending an item left in the room upon check out. But make no mistake, our guests always come first and if there are any issues during your stay we want to know immediately to address them at once.

Please fell free to contact me if you feel the need to discuss this further as I would like to have the opportunity to have you visit us again and have a different and positive experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Please call us for your next stay and I will personally see that everything will be up to your expectations.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just spent 4 days at this hotel, and had also stayed a few years ago. The location is great, right in the heart of Old San Juan, and an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. We had an interior room, so there was no windows, but we didn't mind because we enjoyed sleeping late every day! We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very friendly staff! Great location in Old San Juan and also reasonably priced. Would recommend it to everyone! The hotel has a charming old world architecture and high (12 ft?) ceilings. Wish I had booked all my nights there not just the one that I got! Next time...

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a 2 stars hotel we got a room with not window but we didnt care much because we just use it to sleep and take a shower because there is so much to see in Old San Juan and was our first time there but If you spend more time in the room I would not recommend room without a window , the AC works very good and the location is the best close to everything El morro, all kinds of restaurants, stores, supermarkets, etc I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel more than met our needs for a 11 day vacation. The staff went way above what would be expected. Not just polite but friendly. Rooms were cleaned the right way every day.
Close to local places to eat. Right in middle of the sights of old San Juan, with a free trolley that stops right out side the door.
The plaza itself is fun to sit and people watch with a cup of coffee from a local vendor. The police make sure that your stay is safer than most cities in the states. The residents can only be described as welcoming.
In short if we head thatr way again , this hotel will be our choice .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson
Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.