We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza De Armas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza De Armas to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza De Armas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I loved the experience at the hotel, the staff has a great deal, mr. Luis Garzon always concerned that this all well and have a good service, I was with my wife celebrating anniversary and we really loved it, going back to Old San Juan back to Plaza de armas

Thanks to all the staff, the hotel is excellent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    232
    120
    58
    51
See reviews for
81
268
86
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When this hotel was a HJ, I was afforded a sad, but filling complimentary breakfast, not any more. I had to buy breakfast for almost $10 in their new restaurant. The elevator is still scary for claustrophobic individuals, and the rooms are tiny as well. The good news is this time I stayed in a room with a window that I was asked not to open, and a terrace that overlooked the park! It was conveniently located but not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest possible room or you could get stuck in a cell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
A trillion thanks Stacey for taking the time to write your impression about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza De Armas PR Old San Juan.

We would like to stablish a couple of update regarding our property.

1.- Since September 20, 2012 is under new administration.
2.- We are not Howard Johnson anymore.
3.- We are constantly improving our property
4.- We have the friendliest Front Desk Staff in the whole area.
5. Our housekeeping service is oustanding.
6.- We have the perfect location for being in Old San Juan.
7. We have Interior Rooms with NO WINDOWS but we do have Suites with French Balcony.
8. We have a Trolley Stop just in our doors (Trolley is FREE).
9. A Taxi Line is just in front of us..
10. We are near the airport and the cruise piers.
11. We are very affordable comparing with most hotel in the area.
12. We are one of the few hotels in the area that has elevator. It runs slow but is very reliable.
13. Our property is a 1869 historic building, remodeled in 2005.

It's true we have no complementary breadfast anymore but the reason for this is that we have a concesionary at the premise and we can not compete with them. However there are always other options for more affordable breadfast like Wendy's and Subway that are nearby the plaza.

The majority of our rooms are interior one. Our room has 13' x 11' = 143 sq.feet wich is a little wider than the average room in this area. but we do have bigger Suites Room with French Balcony, (Suites Plus) 24' X 13' = 312 sqt.feet and (Suite King) 24' X 11' = 264 sqt.feet. You can always open all of our windows. If you have book any Interior Room you can request an upgrade for an affordable cost. Upgrade is always available upon request, . So you are invited to stay in any of them for your comfort next time you visit us.

Our elevator is a Lula type which means that can not be a more modern one because of our historic characteristic. It allows 4 people or 1,200 pound. Besides we have people for helping guest with their luggages at all time. We are just a four stories building, so stair is just near the elevator for those whom wants to take advantage of exercising while vacationing.

Stacey, allow me to tell you that your feedback help us to improve our services and property on a daily basis. It's our goal that any comment or issues that could be present during your stay are going to be addressed in a proper way.

Please make sure you contact me whenever you plan to visit us once again. It will be awesome to serve you when you come back.

Thanks again

Luis Garzon
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Kudos to the staff of hotel plaza de armas. We were taken back in time in this historical hotel. The wood elevator, the wood furnishings, no phones, no toiletries all the basics of history before their were these luxuries. We enjoyed it all. Thanks for keeping the Old World feeling. The location was great. All you need right outside the front door. We enjoyed sitting in the Plaza and feeling like locals. Luis and his staff gave great advice and helped us to find everything we wanted to see and even directed us to great local eateries that were reasonably. Great location for pre and post cruises. We stayed 1 nite before cruise and 2 nites after. The free trolley is right outside door as well as taxis. The Bleu Bistro was good and affordable. So if you want "Modern Creature Comforts" go pay high dollars for the resorts with added fees, if you want "The Old World feel of Old San Juan" , than This is it.
Thanks to all the staff, we will return. Carmen and Walter from Texas

Room Tip: AC LOUD, Just bring ear plugs, I loved it. second floor is good if you dont want to use elevator, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

October 27 my wife and I stayed at the Plaza de Armas prior to our Victory Cruise. The hotel was in a good location in OSJ. There was a Walgreens , Wendys, Subway, and a Grocery store within a bloclk. Walking down to the Pier there were many vendors, restaurants, small shops and a CVS across from Pier. It was a great day of walking and shopping. The hotel was small, very clean , running water, cold AC, small elevator and friendly help.
Woke up Sunday morning (5:15) and walked down to front desk. Where can I get a cup of coffee? You can't, was the reply. Isn't there some place close by so I can buy a cup of coffee. NO! You got to be kidding! NO! I took off walking looking or smelling for coffee. None to be found. I started walking towards the pier where Victory already docked. At 5:45 I walked into the Sheraton and asked if they had any coffee. Not till 6:00 when the restaurant opens. I walked up the stairs with my cup in hand and someone setting plates out noticed me looking ILL. He said , do you need Coffee? Yes PLEASE. He went in the back with my cup and brought me a coffee with no charge. I almost Hugged him. Very black and very good. After that I walked back up the hill to the hotel .( about 1 mile total). I would return to the PLAZA but I hope managment would buy a coffee pot for people who need coffee in the morning. Coffee Pot $39, coffee about $4. PLEASE!

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor, inside. Slep like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camuy, null, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

first the place is very small but comfortable, don't have pool.has no parking, so you have to park on the street. there isn't any luxury but the people was great. they make you feel very good since you walk in. i have a little problem with the room i got cause the air conditioning wasn't working. the manager came to me and ask what happened and change my room at once. additional of that the tv stop working the last night cause the company.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited Old San Juan for a Tango Festival at the end of August. Since most of my time was spent on classes ,practice and shows I only went there to bathe,change and sleep. This was a good setting and inexpensive for those purposes. Their food and drinks when I had to wait or leave quickly was good as well as the service in these places located in the entrance right in the center of Plaza de Armas. Since parking was difficult I left my luggage with staff and then parked by Paseo de la Princesa parking lots and then walked up. While there I traveled free by Trolly throughout Old San Juan and or walked to many places.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for 1st floor if possible since they have a very old elevator which takes long in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was in awe of the place when I first stepped foot inside. Very authentic, old elevators and has a lot of character however my room was utter disaster. There was hair on the pillow and sheets and dust balls collected everywhere. I was so paranoid to sleep on the bed because it felt like the sheets weren't changed after the last guest. Customer service at the front desk was great but just the state of my room was total off putting and will not stay there again if I go back to San Juan. You pretty much get what you pay for

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisGarzon, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Plaza De Armas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank Mrs.Annie for choosing Hotel Plaza De Armas for your recent stay.

I hope that you had a wonderful time at the Old San Juan City.

Thank you for taking the time to make a review here. I am personally concerned at the conditions which you report. This is certainly not the treatment we intend to offer our appreciated guests.
I would like to offer you a million apologies.

The following steps were immediately taken:

An urgent meetings were held with the entire staff and they received additional training in maintaining the standards which we have set for our Hotel Plaza De Armas. This includes proper cleaning and also proper supplies being in the room.

Every room has been recheck in order to guarantee cleanliness and I can assure you that this kind of situation won't appear anymore.

I would like to let you know that your comments are extremely important to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our services and property on a constant basis.

Allow me to tell you that the state of the room you were in was an exception and does not reflect what our guest normally are used to have.

Our principal concern is to meet the needs of each and every guest we serve and always try to exceed their expectations in order to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
We want that every person arrives as a guest and always leaves as our friend.

However allow me to suggest you that next time you have a complaint about anything in anyplace please go first to the Front Desk and try to contact the Administrator because maybe that way your situation could be solved in a proper manner and you can avoid uncomfortable situation for you because everything will be arranged immediately.

I invite you to come to Hotel Plaza De Armas once again and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. I will personally take care of all your needs when you come back if you accept my invitation..

Thanks again.

Luis Garzon
Hotel Plaza de Armas
“Where every person arrives as
our guest and leaves as our friend”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza De Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza De Armas

Address: Calle San Jose 202, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza De Armas 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Plaza De Armas, located in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Hotel Plaza De Armas is for travelers looking to be in the heart of Old San Juan, our hotel is in a coveted location in the historic quarter. Hotel Plaza de Armas is a delightfully captivating colonial style hotel in the heart of picturesque Old San Juan, a city as rich in history as it is in culture. The blue cobblestone streets of the old city sprawl out in every direction and world-class shopping, dining and entertainment abounds. The hotel's Spanish colonial-inspired lounge is decorated in rich red and gold with warm lighting and leather couches.A completely unique location highlights spectacular views of the Plaza De Armas and puts you mere cobblestones away from 16th century Spanish fortresses, fascinating museums and art galleries. We are just a block away from the Cathedral of San Juan Bautista. The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.The cathedral is one of the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere. Construction of Cathedral San Juan began began in 1521.[1]The cathedral contains the tomb of the Spanish explorer and settlement founder Juan Ponce de León.The 50 rooms at the Hotel Plaza De Armas are wrapped around a spacious inner courtyard. They're clean and modest with simple touches such as wood wardrobes, headboards and nightstands, and stainless steel lamps. All rooms have clock radios, coffeemakers, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, in-room safe and a television with cable. Suites have floor-to-ceiling shutters that open for views of the cobblestone streets. Some suites have small refrigerators and sofa beds. The modest standard rooms have no windows. Suites have windows overlooking the historic district. Hotel Plaza De Armas also offers high-speed Internet access.From its uniquely Spanish-colonial architecture to its comforting in-room amenities, the Hotel Plaza De Armas PR offers guests the perfect blend of Old World charm and New World elegance. We are just a walking distance from the City Hall (Alcaldia) of Old San Juan and right next to an 18th century building where you can find the Department of State. Also we have a trolley stop right outside our door .We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Plaza De Armas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plaza De Armas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza De Armas
Howard Johnson San Juan
Howard Johnson Old San Juan
San Juan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza De Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.