We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting to set sail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coral Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Princess Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1159 Magdalena Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Burnaby
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Waiting to set sail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We checked and re-checked hotels in San Juan, and were told about this one by a friend of a friend. We were to leave on a cruise, so we booked it for one night.
After a quick 15 minute cab ride from the airport, we arrived at the hotel a little early, but our rooms were ready. The room was spacious, with a wonderful bathroom with a tub and shower. It had a/c, TV as well as free WiFi in the room. There was a continental breakfast included, not too much, but enough to start the day.

We asked for information on where to eat, and the staff was very helpful in suggesting restaurants that served traditional Puerto Rican food close by. We walked there and back without any problems. The next morning we were leaving for the cruise, and once again, the staff called a cab for us and we were on our way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    233
    57
    18
    13
See reviews for
55
276
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Coral Princess is an oasis of comfort and peace just off busy Ashford Street in Condado. The rooms are stylish, comfortable, and ours was spacious. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind, and the location cannot be beat. The bus for Old San Juan stops about a block away, the beach is 3 minutes away, and restaurants and shops are nearby. I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in the Coral Princess Hotel for three nights before our cruise. We've stayed there three other time the past and find that we are hard pressed find a better deal and location in San Juan.
The rooms are not overstated and they are clean, modern and comfortable. Parking is at a premium if you drive but the buses to Old San Juan run within a block of the hotel. It fits our needs and saves money that we can spend on good restaurants in the are or in Old San Juan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a small hotel- only about 25 rooms I think. It perfectly served the need for our stay. I went with my husband for a four night little getaway to PR. It is two blocks from Condado Beach and the busting Ashford Avenue which is full of shops, restaurants, bars, and a few casinos. It is a $15 cab ride from Old San Juan and a $20 cab ride from the airport, just FYI. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and they made great dinner recommendations!! The hotel provides continental breakfast daily (waffles, pastries, fruit, boiled eggs) and coffee and juice are available 24h a day. There is a small pool on the ground floor (not good for sunbathing as the pool area is small, but it gets the job done) and there is a large rooftop terrace with a hot tub. The room was clean, and it had a small refrigerator, desk, and table with two chairs. This was one of the most affordable hotels in the area. The only complaint I had about the room was that there was a hole in the shower floor. Odd. I would definitely go back to stay at this hotel if I am ever in PR again!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 which was right next to the pool. The only problem was that one night some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I thought this hotel was the best bang for our buck! If you are looking to stay in San Juan but don't want to pay $200+ a night in a large hotel, the Coral Princess is perfect. The hotel is extremely easy to get to, all the cab drivers at the airport know exactly where it is. It takes 10 mins to get to from the airport(Cab ride $20.00). The hotel was clean, cute and efficient. The room comes with a fridge that's stocked with beer, wine, water and soda. Our room didn't have a great view but we weren't in PR to stay in our room so we didn't mind at all! The hotel offers free breakfast in the mornings which had just what we needed to get our day started. The hotel staff was extremely helpful in calling cabs, getting a rental car, recommendations, etc. The best part about this hotel was its location. You are literally within walking distance to everything. For my mom and I, the beach was most important, and it literally was a 5 min walk down the street. We walked everywhere and always felt safe doing so. It was a great place to stay and would definitely stay again! Thank you Coral Princess for a great stay!! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel.Located in the heart of El Condado it is a short walk to the beach, restaurants,etc. The atmosphere is very clean and elegant. Marble Floors throughout and artisan touches throughout . Even the constantly burning candle on the front entrance table lends a special feel to the atmosphere. San Juan in general is very laid back and refreshing and this hotel was the perfect location for me to enjoy that experience. My room was immaculate and the service from everyone in the hotel was spectacular. I went for 4 days of business and could not have been more pleased with my experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is a great bargain. The location in the Condado area is convenient and the hotel is clean and quite pleasant. The rooms meet basic needs and there are common sitting areas throughout the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel

Address: 1159 Magdalena Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel is an elegant 25-room boutique-style hotel offering the business traveler and families an excellently priced alternative in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Managed by its owners, you will receive personalized quality service that will surely make you feel at home. Located a two-minute walk from famous Conado Beach, Coral Princess Hotel is a block from boutique shops, over 15 restaurants, coffee shops, and casinos. It is centrally located just 5 minutes from Old San Juan and the Puerto Rico Convention Center, 10 minutes from Hato Rey business district, and 10 minutes from the international airport and Isla Verde. Enjoy your complimentary Deluxe complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the hotel’s courtyard, stroll down Ashford Avenue, or swim and sunbathe at our pool or nearby Condado Beach. We'll make you feel at home! You will sure want to come back. Complimentary high speed internet access in room and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.