We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coral Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Coral Princess Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1159 Magdalena Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A very nice hotel with good location, 5 minutes from the beach and just a few minutes from the main restaurant street in the area. And the bus from Old San Juan passed right by the hotel and cost only 75 cents.
Clean, simple rooms with everything you need, including air condition and a reasonably priced minibar ;-) Lovely roof terrace with a jacuzzi, and on the patio there is a small swimming pool that's very refreshing when you come back after a day at the beach or in town.
Breakfast was simple, but with everything you need: toast, cheese, ham, cereals, several pastries, juice, coffee etc. It was self-service with seats both inside and on the patio.
Very quiet compared to the large resorts we saw on the main street, excellent choice and good value for money. Staff was very friendly too, and there is free wi-fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    238
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
56
284
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and we decided to take a chance with a smaller family hotel rather than stay at a bigger, popular resort style hotel and it was a win. The hotel is a cute, art deco style building two blocks from the Condado beach. The room was clean and bright with everything you need for even a longer stay. Marble tiled floors, flat screen TV, comfy bed with plush linens and ample storage for clothes. Even the smaller rooms have a jacuzzi tub to ease the soreness of a long day of city walking or hiking in the El Yunque rainforest and the hotel supplied toiletries were great quality. The room contained a small table with two chairs and a larger than average mini-bar/ fridge which has enough room to store items that you might buy for later consumption. The hotel has a common area on the roof with a great view and a 4 person hot tub as well as an adjacent common room with a pool table and reading areas. The free continental breakfast supplied more than expected and you can eat in your room or in the outdoor enclosed garden area. Within walking distance of 4 star dining as well as cheaper fare. Night clubs and casinos are also a walk away if that is your cup of tea. The staff is wonderfully pleasant and the service is far above what you might receive at a larger chain. We are from Atlanta and, on our last day, found that the owner is an Atlanta transplant. Serendipity indeed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After spending 10 days at the Coral Princess my boyfriend and i would say that the room and the location was very good the service at the front desk and housecleaning was excellent We would highly recommend for anyone who needs clean bright place to stay with a friendly staff Walking to the beach ,restaurants and bars took only several minutes. The staff had many great tips on how to make the vacation memorable, all of their suggestions were perfect ,so be sure and ask for recommendations

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great location and great value. The hotel is literally 2 blocks from the beach, around the corner from Walgreen's, around the corner from Starbuck's and all of the restaurants. An excellent fitness centre is a 3 minute walk away. The location is just perfect.

The rooms were very clean and modern. Flat screen TV, marble floor, and all other necessities. The rooms were small however. We spent most of our time outside the room so it was perfect for us.

There are 2 great outdoor spaces in the hotel. The third floor has a rooftop patio with a hot tub. There is a lot of room up there and hardly anyone goes up there. The 2nd floor also has a nice sitting area. The main floor has a pool and sitting areas.

The breakfast every morning was just average. It was a continental breakfast with juice, milk, coffee and hot chocolate.

The staff were excellent. They are very polite and very helpful with finding out which buses to take to get to destinations, which restaurants are the best to eat at, which shows are the best to go to, etc.

The neighborhood of Condado is in the perfect spot as it is halfway between Old San Juan and Isla Verde.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask that your room is not facing a common sitting area, especially on the first floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

this is our 2nd visit. The staff is always welcoming and knowledgeable, when we come through the front door and lobby. It's a quaint property, updated furnishings, elevator access to most floors - everything you need for a short stay. Location is a plus, to the beach, to restaurants and bars. Try out the small pool to cool off, or sit in the rooftop hottubs. Breakfast was continental with lots of coffee. One comment/recommendation, service staff cannot provide attention to detail while on their cell phone. Book early for this hotel, it's often full. See you next time - if you have room for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I chose the Coral Princess for our annual romantic getaway and we were not disappointed. Although sometimes we do stay in large resorts, this time we wanted a small, quiet property in walking distance to hotels, public transportation and the beach. The Coral Princess is perfect if this is what you are looking for, and what you save for the room rate you can spend on restaurants and the like. The Coral Princess is small (only 25 rooms), clean and quiet. Our room (#4 on the first floor) had a queen platform bed with window looking out to the pool, small fridge, ample closet space, desk and chair, and air conditioning. It was smallish (about 12x12) and simply decorated (similar to style of IKEA furnishings) and included a great bath with jacuzzi tub/shower combo, sleek modern sink with storage drawers underneath and a large mirror. Pure white towels were clean and VERY soft. Hotel provided daily body wash, shampoo and conditioner plus lovely olive oil/orange scented bar soap. The front desk was manned 24/7 with very friendly and helpful staff (they gave us great advice about navigating public transportation). Margarita, the manager is a delight! When we were hard pressed to find a restaurant/club to celebrate New Year's Eve, Margarita got right on it and within an hour had found the perfect venue that matched our style and our budget; we cannot thank her enough! This intimate hotel is located on a quiet street (Magdalena Street) one block from the main avenue (Ashford Ave) lined with restaurants. The beach is two blocks away, and though the sand is clean and soft the ocean there is rough so we took a 15 min taxi to Carolina Beach which was gorgeous with warm, calm waters. The hotel has 3 floors, with a rooftop hot tub, outdoor sofas and pool table (inside). Continental, self serve breakfast is included with lovely indoor/outdoor seating surrounded by tropical plants. We very much hope to stay at the Coral Princess Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and stayed there earlier this year and no problem whatsoever with this hotel. The rooms were clean and not too small. The only drawback was the construction across the street. But we understand that it has nothing to do with the hotel itself. The staff were extremely friendly and helped with dinning options every night!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Princess Hotel

Address: 1159 Magdalena Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Princess Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Princess Hotel is an elegant 25-room boutique-style hotel offering the business traveler and families an excellently priced alternative in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. Managed by its owners, you will receive personalized quality service that will surely make you feel at home. Located a two-minute walk from famous Conado Beach, Coral Princess Hotel is a block from boutique shops, over 15 restaurants, coffee shops, and casinos. It is centrally located just 5 minutes from Old San Juan and the Puerto Rico Convention Center, 10 minutes from Hato Rey business district, and 10 minutes from the international airport and Isla Verde. Enjoy your complimentary Deluxe complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the hotel’s courtyard, stroll down Ashford Avenue, or swim and sunbathe at our pool or nearby Condado Beach. We'll make you feel at home! You will sure want to come back. Complimentary high speed internet access in room and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.