We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, great food, great music!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano

Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano
206 Tetuan Street | Old San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico (Formerly Carli Cafe Concierto)
787-725-4927
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 628 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, great food, great music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

A find in the Old City San Juan! As soon as you walk in you are enveloped in a cozy, romantic atmosphere. Wait staff is courteous without being overwhelming and they know their food! Our dinner was delicious--my risotto with squash and prawns was amazing and my husband's seafood pasta excellent. Highlights were mojitos and their delectable desert: mini donuts filled with pumpkin melted in the mouth! And, when Carli sat down at the great piano and played jazz, all worries from the everyday life disappeared! Definitely a must go!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamlin, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicious and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Carli's is a great place to stop in and enjoy good food, great atmosphere, cheerful service and live music. It is also very relaxing. We enjoyed our dining experience there and highly recommend it if you are in Old San Juan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So good we went back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stop in for coffee and dessert - Fausto the bartender was so welcoming - he suggested the ice cream toppedwith Kahlua, frangelico and Baileys - it was so good. We also enjoyed the piano playing of the owner Carli who was accompanied by a terrific singer. The ambience and food made for a great stop. We went back the next night for dinner. Once again Fausto was terrific had bartender and waiter as well as greeter. He brought the owner to our table and then the chef. The food prepared by the chef was so delicious. My husband had the lamb chops which is the house specialty - delicious. I had the filet and we also had the risotto as well as some delicious appetizers. The drink made by Fausto the bombom was also very good. It was a very nice evening in Old San Juan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited Carli's a few times on our trip. The first evening we had a few appetizers and a mojito. Delicious! The mojito was great! Also try Grannys Tummy for an appetizer. It is made with a sweet squash. Excellent. The second time there we had Fausto the bartenders creation. It was called a BomBon. A sweet frozen drink with coconut, passion fruit, and a few other fruit juices plus rum. Great! Our last time at Carli's we ate dinner and heard Carli play jazz on the piano. Awesome meal. We had escargot for an appetizer which was served out of the shells in a cream sauce. Other appetizers to try are the crab cakes and mussels. The tuna was great and we had two different risottos which were wonderful. Overall a great time and awesome food! Intimate romantic restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening for Jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Carli's is a small intimate place - 10 small tables indoors (more outside), some bar seats plus a full size grand piano and double bass! The music is the reason to be here, Carli played sets of Jazz piano that were a joy, not pandering nor commercial. Mostly the tunes were his own compositions or standards and when performing arrangements of songs like 'Close to Me' or 'Surfer Girl' they were very much in that style. Again though this is the reason to be here (and for my score) - other reviewers have commented that it was tough to have a spirited discussion with your table mates, they are right - if that is what you want sit outdoors or pick elsewhere. Similarly reviews suggest different music styles: it's Carli's jazz bar and that isn't going to happen. The service was excellent and attentive, food was only fair at this price point. The night we were there Carli also had a vocalist perform with him, bass player Eddie Gomez was in town to be honored at the Music Conservatory and sat in for a great hour. I'm told this sort of thing happens frequently but obviously isn't guaranteed. Go to Carli's for the Jazz, stay for the atmosphere and drinks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carli's Fine Bistro & Piano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.