We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge at first look.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The condado cantina - CLOSED

The condado cantina
1351 Ashford Ave | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
787 998-4625
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Californian, Fusion, Gastropub, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Chill Out with us at The Condado Cantina! Daily Happy Hours, All Day Drink Specials, and an Amazing & Creative Menu by California native, Chef Pat Dawson. All of our signature drinks have fresh Juices, hand squeezed by us, and everything from the kitchen is fresh and made to order. Also Try our award winning Blueberry Cinnamon Margarita and relax in Condados Best Surf Bar :)
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge at first look.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We found this little place by accident. But what a happy accident it was. The food was delicious and the service was excelent. The orices were reasonable and the portions were a good size. If you go the lobster dip is a must have as is the sangria.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Puerto Rico flavors - California style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Patrick, the owner and executive chef, has put together a menu that brings a lighter taste to Puerto Rican flavors. Duck taquitos, carne asado tacos with fresh pico de gallo, Mediterranean nachos (with ground lamb) my friends licked the plate. Beer battered onion rings that are crispy, not greasy, and the onion doesn't come out with the first bite. There were 4 of us in the group, but we still couldn't try everything!
And the wonderful drinks - a margarita that is to refreshing - you can't taste the tequilla or the mix, just a smooth drink. They just won best margarita in Puerto Rico with a Blueberry Cinnamon margarita - not a hint of sweetness, again just a smooth fresh taste.
Patrick has a great staff. He has Happy Hour, Industry night (for the local hotel/restaurant workers), reggae on Friday nights. We were there the night of a cover band - good jams. The atmosphere is casual.
His location is in the Condado district of San Juan - just about a half block from the Radisson Hotel - park there.
GO THERE.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Best restaurant in Puerto Rico!!! When you walk inside looks like another bar, don't be fooled the food and drinks are amazing!! Our trip to PR was 7 days and we had to go twice. Lamb nachos are fabulous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stopped here for a $4 happy hour mojito on our first afternoon in Puerto Rico on our way back from the store. The bartender (Satty?) was very friendly and gave us a number of ideas for bars and restaurants to visit on the trip. Some were good, some didn’t pan out, but it was nice to get a locals perspective at the start of the trip. We did not go back, but they did have live music on weekends and food. Definitely worth a quick stop for the cheap mojito!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Smoking live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've given five stars for the standard items in this review.
I'm compelled however to add a special commendation for the band we heard when we happened to stumble upon this place late on a Friday night.
Advertised as live reggae music it turned out to be this Latin reggae hybrid, complete with a couple of horns and a very tight rhythm section. Great stuff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The condado cantina also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The condado cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.