We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Miramar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 hotels in San Juan
West Hills, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Miramar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overall the hotel Miramar was average in my opinion. It has a decent location and easy access to the bus lines. The price is very good. We stayed in two different rooms because we stayed there on both ends of our cruise. The rooms were good sized and clean but they should consider replacing their mattresses because they need it. What makes this hotel special is the staff. Jill and Martin were extremely helpful and very informative. When we needed something they were on it immediately. If not for them I would have a lesser opinion of the hotel. One other item is the hotel does not have a pool or spa but it does have a small workout room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    171
    85
    37
    67
See reviews for
74
153
30
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

2nd stay at Miramar. The staff may have turned over in the 2 years since we were last there but overall it seems in my one night stay they still get it. It's Puerto Rico, it's not the Ritz. The view from the roof is fantastic. Nice grocery down the street. I would stay again. Our room had a new refurbished bath.

Room Tip: Watch out for the 4th floor wifi, it doesnt work too well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Hotel is very nice, it is close to everything and the view we had was breathtaking. As long as we stayed away from the hotel, our vacation was fine. Once we got there and throughout the entire four day stay the staff was rude. very rude. The bistro next door was okay and the rooms were clean. right across the street is a car rental lot, it looks sketchy but they actually gave us the best customer service on the island. The car rental was cheap and the suzuki car was decent. Not every hotel has the same problems, our friends stayed at the Hilton for the same price and they had way more amenities. Their staff was also alot friendlier at the Hilton than the Hotel Miramar. If you can take the rudeness from the staff, you can stay there but if you want good customer service, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked this hotel by mistake thinking it was a different one just a couple of blocks away. At first I was a bit upset about it and then I realized that is a small quaint boutique hotel. The rooms were excellent and spacious. The staff really nice and the location was great. It was nice that a small breakfast was included in the price of the room not much but sufficient and their bistro is really good and affordable. Would go back without a doubt !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were shocked with this hotel, I reserved 3 days via hotwire.com and it was indicated that this hotel has a beach view, actually it has a view on the very nasty street beside it. The staff are totally unprofessional and this is if you found them. I moved from first room to the second because it had a bad smell, but the second one had a problem with the shower sink drainage system, so we moved to the third one which was acceptable. The parking is free which is good, but there are just 4 spots and they will put the car on the side of the street if all spots are busy.
All in all, listen to my advice, pay a little more money and go to a better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSanJuan, Manager at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to express your comments regarding your stay with us. We try hard to please our guests and it is dissappointing when we fail to deliver on our promise. People have different expectations and sometimes it is difficult to assess those expectations. We offer a CLEAN, AFFORDABLE AND CONVENIENT option for savvy travelers who recognize value and service.
As the recipient of t he Puerto Rico Tourism Company Best Small Hotel Of Puerto Rico 2012 Award we value your comments which will help us to fine tune and correct any defficiencies. It is not a matter of paying more or less for a hotel room, what does matter is for the traveller to determine what matters to them in a hotel stay, if a big parking lot is a must for your enjoyment, the selection of a hotel with one should be a criteria. We responded to your requests and we regret that our response including the incident with the self service laundry machine did not satisfy you.
WE are happy to learn that otherwise you enjoyed your stay in San Juan and wish you and your family the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was a bit reluctant to book this hotel for a two night stay in San Juan but am so glad I did. Our room was larger than expected and we had a nice view from our 5th floor room. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a nice size with great water pressure in the shower. The fixtures were not new but everything was in good working order. The bed was quite comfortable and the AC worked well. Some reviews mentioned that the location was not the best because of being too far away from Old San Juan but we found it quite convenient. We took the local bus from the stop across the street and got to Old San Juan in 10-15 minutes. For $0.75 each way, it sure beat a $15 taxi ride!! There is a nice grocery store about a block away where we bought breakfast items, wine, and some nice sandwiches for lunch. The rooftop deck was a great place to enjoy a quiet lunch or a glass of wine....great view of the city and ocean! The staff in reception were all extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again on our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A nicely located small hotel. Walking distance from Puerto Rico Convention Center at San Juan. Nice big rooms with friendly staff at the front desk. A grocery store is few yards away in case you plan to stay longer. Not a convenient location in case you plan to be in Old San Juan city. Value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan
Address: 606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.