We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean rooms and friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“clean rooms and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed there for 3 night and enjoyed it. Nice roof top terrace, Friendly staff, clean rooms, only downside_ no balcony. The breakfast is quite nice and reasonably priced if not included. The Air-condition in the brekky room is far too cold. No coffee making facilities in the room are also a bit on the downside. But overall very good experience and friendly, helpful staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    190
    90
    36
    69
See reviews for
81
166
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Miramar in san Juan, Puerto Rico for one night precruise. It was a $15 cab ride from the airport. When we arrived the Orkin man was waiting at the front desk to be paid. I didn't see any bugs which I did read about on others reviews here.

We had a quiet room #207 with an uncomfortable queen sized bed which was like sleeping on a box spring, a microwave, & somewhat cool refrigerator for which we paid $109 + $5 +20% tax for a total of $136.89 which included breakfast at the connected 606 Bistro. For what we paid the room was an OK deal I guess. The room was clean but had a smell I really cannot pinpoint(maybe the spray from the Orkin man?). The hotel has free Wi-Fi but it's spotty at best. Took forever just to read & send a couple of e-mails.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful with directions. There is a grocery store one block away which was nice for picking up a $8 bottle of Moscato wine, a 12 pk of Disanni water ($3.49) and 6PK Modeleo beer ($4.69) for drinking on the roof top balcony. The balcony had an OK view but it looks nothing like the pics posted here on trip advisor. We also picked up several packages of inexpensive Puerto Rican brick coffee ($5.29) at the Los Pinos grocery.

We had the included breakfast at Bistro 606 I had 2 scrambled eggs, toast, bacon, and a glass of OJ. My wife had the same except for having 2 eggs over easy. This was included in the price of the hotel stay. We each ordered a Latte which we understood we would be responsible to pay additional for. We were the only 2 people in the bistro at aprox. 9AM on a Saturday. It took 20 minutes to be waited on and another 45 minutes to get our food. The Lattes we ordered never arrived. We finally just walked out as several other guests were then waiting. It was clear to us that the staff at this so called "Bistro" couldn't care less about us. We walked 1 block and a half to the Los Pinos Cafe & shared a Hisnanic breakfast omlette & had a Cappicino and a latte for $10. We should has skipped the "Bistro 606" all together but it was included so we tried it. Lesson learned. Our ship wasn't sailing until *:30 PM so we were in no hurry but really didn't enjoy sitting in the 606 for over an hour.

The local bus stop a block in the opposite direction of the grocery took you to old San Juan for .75 per person. That was a great deal as the cabs were $15. You will need exact change as the bus driver does not make change and does not take bills. We split a ride to the cruise port with 2 other couples and it was $5 each. So if you are looking for a budget hotel with minimal ammenities this place will do but skip the Bistro 606.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was between the pier and the airport. We had just been on a cruise and our flight home was the next day. The room was clean, had a comfortable bed, and a big bathroom. It also had a microwave and fridge. There was not a pool but the roof top had lounge chairs and picnic tables so you could sit up there to enjoy the view and take great pictures of the town. If you wanted to go to Old San Juan, there was a bus stop across the street and the fare was only 75 cents. It is not a place that I would suggest to spend your whole vacation but as a stop over, it worked out well.

Room Tip: The higher floors near the roof top deck would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This rooms were a good size. Even though I was one person, I had 2 beds and a good sized bathroom. The in-room fridge was a nice touch since I was there for a week, I could keep water and snacks. My only complaint was that there was no internet in the room. The hotel said I was too far away from the elevator to get internet, so I ended up working in the lobby when I couldn't avoid it. It was a bit annoying, but it was a decent price, so overall I was happy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the location near before and after a cruise out of San Juan. The hotel is very nice and reasonalbly priced and within walking distance to beaches. Martin the front desk clerk was very helpful with information on getting around and ideas on spending the afternoon. They do not have a pool but they have a wonderful roof top deck with a great view. The rooms were clean, roomy & nice with microwave and fridge. I would stay here again when I return to San Juan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanzarote
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Rooms are well equipped with a microwave as well as a fridge, clean and located near to bars and shops!!
Not far from Condado Beach which is new San Juan but also not far from old San Juan, when we stayed breakfast was supposed to be included but they had changed their system and so we had to get tickets from reception which enabled a very small and not what we were expecting choice for breakfast or pay more if you wanted something that we got as standard in the holiday inn the year before!!
Ideal if you are on a budget or just need somewhere for a few days before or after a cruise which is what we did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The location is accessible to Old San Juan by bus or taxi. Parking is a challenge as there is little or no parking at the hotel, if the 3 parking spaces are taken, you leave your car in the adjacent driveway and keys with the front desk - cumbersome-
Enjoy the 8th floor sitting room/veranda, particularily in the afternoon. The staff is knowledgable and friendly, WiFi access is easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.