We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Traveled to PR for 4 days. Loved my stay here. Grocery store, great resturants, Conado strip, small beach are within walking distance no more than 15min. Bus that goes to old San juan is right across the street for 0.75 cents. If you dont mind a short walk, this hotel's location will save you on cab fair. Hotel held my bags even after check out until my flight time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    172
    85
    37
    67
See reviews for
74
154
30
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights in the Hotel Miramar and I was favorably impressed. The staff was very friendly and competent. Iris did a good job of getting me checked in, and booking a tour for me. Right from the beginning, I felt comfortable in the Miramar.

The room was good sized and clean. The beds were comfortable. As mentioned by a few others, there was some noise from the hall, but wasn’t bad at all. A couple of things I really liked about the hotel were the roof top terrace (try it at sunset) and the location. It was an easy 75 cent bus ride to Old San Juan, and there are decent restaurants and a market just up the street. I didn’t go out during the late night, but doing the day and evening, I never had any issues about safety.

A couple of quick notes about San Juan. I had looked at taking the airport shuttle back and forth, but the taxi was cheaper. They charge a fixed rate depending on the area you are going to. For the Hotel Miramar, it was $18 each way to the airport.

English was spoken most places I went, but there were almost no signs in English and very little English on the menus.

Watch the harbor and try to avoid Old San Juan when the cruise ships are in. There were 5 ships the day I went, and the late morning, early afternoon crowds were pretty impressive. Eat lunch early or wait until later because the restaurants get pretty packed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peopleton, Worcestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights following a Caribbean cruise. The hotel is reasonably priced, convenient and comfortable. We were out exploring San Juan and Puerto Rico most of the time so the lack of facilities in the hotel was not a problem. Rooms were comfortable. There was free internet access (why do cheaper hotels provide this and more expensive ones charge?). The Bistro attached to the hotel was expensive and not much used - we got breakfast for half the price over the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Miramar, prior to catching a cruise.Our stay was a very positive experience.
The gentleman at the front desk was so friendly and helpful, and gave us tips about where to eat in the neighbourhood, local shopping, attractions to see etc.
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet.
We especially loved the rooftop patio. We bought some snacks and drinks at the grocery store one block up the street from the hotel, and then each evening sat up there and enjoyed the view and ambience while noshing.
The hotel is close to a local cafe, bank, grocery store, fast food establishments, movie theatre etc. We were surprised to read in some reviews that others felt the area around the hotel was unsafe. We felt exactly the opposite. Yes, it is true there are a couple of unoccupied buildings nearby, but we did not feel that because of this, our safety was compromised. There were always local people on the streets, out and about doing what normal citizens do in their own neighbourhood. This is an authentic area, unlike the artificial hotel zone a short walk away over the bridge. We felt blessed to have had a chance to stay here as opposed to staying at the hotel zone nearby.
The hotel was a great value, and we would certainly stay here again if we return to San Juan. Our taxi driver was familiar with the hotel and had no difficulty driving us here from the airport. While staying there, we used the local bus , caught at the bus stop nearby, to travel to the old town area. Very convenient.
We did go in to the little restaurant on the premises for coffee, drinks and dessert but we did not eat our meals there. As a result, we cannot comment on the eating establishment on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the second year we stayed at this hotel before cruising. Will I return for a third time, yes without a doubt. The price is reasonable, the hotel is clean and very quiet, what more can you ask. The staff is friendly and always ready to help.
Your can catch a bus in front of the hotel for 50 cents, which gets you in the old San Juan.
There are restaurants and stores with walking distance.
However service in the hotel restaurant is slow, can be improved.

Room Tip: Both times room was located on 6th floor, very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

they have spacious and well kept rooms, friendly and helpful front desk. We enjoyed beautiful lagoon view from our room (401 and 402) and the rooftop terrence was heavenly for a after dinner chat. M3 bus stops nearby to old San Juan; Supermarket (Pueblo?)only three minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights prior to a cruise. The staff were very helpful and even helped us locate a rental vehicle for a single day-trip out to the rainforest. They stored our bags on the last day so we could go into old San Juan for morning and early afternoon, return to pick up our bags and head for the cruise ship.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan
Address: 606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.