We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain, easy to get to Old San Juan, air conditioner too loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good bargain, easy to get to Old San Juan, air conditioner too loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It is a small hotel. The staff is friendly and eager to help. The room is clean and roomy. Internet connection is fast. Right across from a good diner kind of restaurant that most of customers are locals. Great mofongo. 75 cents bus to old san juan, about 15 minutes.
Too much noise for air conditioner all night long. Very hard to have a good sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    229
    105
    42
    75
See reviews for
114
198
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

You're only steps away from a bus stop that takes you into Old San Juan, as well as a $5 taxi trip away from the big convention area. You can walk to the beach in about 20 minutes, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The biggest bonus, however, are the lively folks at the downstairs Bistro and your access to the more neighborhood-like atmosphere of Miramar - walk down the street for Lima! - and thus you learn more about San Juan. I really enjoyed my time there - and very much enjoyed talking with the folks at Bistro 360:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

room was clean and v comfortable. nice view from the rooftop sun deck. service was good. location is short walk from condado (via slightly sketchy area) and longer walk to old san juan. beware walking to the latter as there is no easy direct route due to the highway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I can see why this hotel was voted Best small hotel in San Juan for 2012! We cruise out of San Juan several times a year and have stayed at various hotels that have been just so-so, and keep trying to find one that we really liked and would keep returning to. We have found that hotel with Hotel Miramar. Had great email communication with the hotel prior to and after making on-line reservations. The location can't be beat! Great for pre-cruise hotel. It is $20-25 taxi ride from the airport. Upon arrival, we were met by very friendly staff who insisted on helping us get our luggage inside. Very smooth check in. We had a deluxe room that was very spacious, with a refrigerator, microwave, very large bathroom, safe and desk. Very comfortable bed and flat screen TV. There is a shower/bath combination but no plug for the tub. The hot water was not extremely hot and not much water pressure, but it was adequate for a shower. A shower cap, shampoo and soap is provided, but hair conditioner, shower gel and lotion is not provided. There is a very small work out room on the 7th floor with weights, a weight bench, treadmill and elliptical. There is also a washer and dryer provided on the 7th floor. The view from the rooftop is nice, and also they have an area on the rooftop with lounge chairs in both the sun and shade, which makes it a nice place to relax.
There is a small bistro restaurant that adjoins the hotel, but we did not eat there. Breakfast was included in our room rate, which is served in the bistro restaurant and is a fixed menu of a choice of 2 eggs either scrambled or fried, toast, juice or coffee, and ham or bacon. Very simple, and service was a little slow, but adequate overall. If you walk out of the hotel and turn to the right, there is Los Pinos Cafe about a block down the street on the left that serves Puerto Rican and Cuban food. We ate there in the evening. Great Cuban sandwich! Prices extremely reasonable, but not the friendliest service, and very busy with lots of locals eating in and carrying out. Los Pinos stays open 24 hours. Would recommend if you want to try the local food. If you go out of the hotel and turn to the right, there is a Pueblo super market (they even have a deli serving hot food inside) on the right about 2 blocks away - just past Los Pinos but on opposite side of the street. There are also several small restaurants between Pueblo and the hotel, one being a Subway. If you walk out of the hotel and turn to the left, there is a Sizzler restaurant about 1/3 mile away. The local bus runs right in front of the Hotel Miramar and convenient if you want to go into Old San Juan.
Hotel Miramar is close to the cruise ports - both in Old San Juan and the Pan American pier, but closer to the Pan American and very close to the Convention Center.
The hotel called us a taxi and one arrived in less than 5 minutes and it is a very short taxi ride to the cruise pier. Loved everything about our stay at Hotel Miramar and will most definitely be staying here from now on when we return to San Juan for future cruises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were recently in San Juan for a conference at the convention center so location was important to us. The Miramar was about a 15 min walk to the convention center, close to several restaurants and a grocery store and a beach so the location was great. The staff at the hotel was very helpful in giving directions and information. The rooms were large, and even had safes, fridges, and microwaves. The only negative was the water in the shower became cool after the first person showered, no more warm/hot water for a while. The service in the restaurant was extremely slow but we soon realized that this is the norm in San Juan. We had a lot of slow food service but the food was good. They even allowed us to store luggage before we checked in and again after we checked out. Overall this is a great option for being close to the convention center but cheaper than the big name hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to Condado beach and San Juan beach.0-15 min walk. Close to conventioncentere.
Nice room, clean with frigde and microwave. Very friendly at the reception. Breakfast very simple if included. Every day the same choice. But this was no problem for the 4 nights we stayed there.
Very close to the public bus to Old San Juan, just 0.75 ct for the ride.
Roof terrace has a nice view, with chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a wonderful stay proir to boarding a cruise in San Juan. The location was wonderful to get around and close to the cruise ports. The service at the hotel was wonderful. Walter went over and above to make for a comfortable stay. He was helpful even prior to getting there as I called for assistance a week prior to starting the vacation. This hotel rocks because of great people like Walter doing everything possible for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Juan Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas
Hotel Plaza De Armas
#17 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.