We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“solid choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

room was clean and v comfortable. nice view from the rooftop sun deck. service was good. location is short walk from condado (via slightly sketchy area) and longer walk to old san juan. beware walking to the latter as there is no easy direct route due to the highway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    188
    89
    35
    68
See reviews for
80
165
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I can see why this hotel was voted Best small hotel in San Juan for 2012! We cruise out of San Juan several times a year and have stayed at various hotels that have been just so-so, and keep trying to find one that we really liked and would keep returning to. We have found that hotel with Hotel Miramar. Had great email communication with the hotel prior to and after making on-line reservations. The location can't be beat! Great for pre-cruise hotel. It is $20-25 taxi ride from the airport. Upon arrival, we were met by very friendly staff who insisted on helping us get our luggage inside. Very smooth check in. We had a deluxe room that was very spacious, with a refrigerator, microwave, very large bathroom, safe and desk. Very comfortable bed and flat screen TV. There is a shower/bath combination but no plug for the tub. The hot water was not extremely hot and not much water pressure, but it was adequate for a shower. A shower cap, shampoo and soap is provided, but hair conditioner, shower gel and lotion is not provided. There is a very small work out room on the 7th floor with weights, a weight bench, treadmill and elliptical. There is also a washer and dryer provided on the 7th floor. The view from the rooftop is nice, and also they have an area on the rooftop with lounge chairs in both the sun and shade, which makes it a nice place to relax.
There is a small bistro restaurant that adjoins the hotel, but we did not eat there. Breakfast was included in our room rate, which is served in the bistro restaurant and is a fixed menu of a choice of 2 eggs either scrambled or fried, toast, juice or coffee, and ham or bacon. Very simple, and service was a little slow, but adequate overall. If you walk out of the hotel and turn to the right, there is Los Pinos Cafe about a block down the street on the left that serves Puerto Rican and Cuban food. We ate there in the evening. Great Cuban sandwich! Prices extremely reasonable, but not the friendliest service, and very busy with lots of locals eating in and carrying out. Los Pinos stays open 24 hours. Would recommend if you want to try the local food. If you go out of the hotel and turn to the right, there is a Pueblo super market (they even have a deli serving hot food inside) on the right about 2 blocks away - just past Los Pinos but on opposite side of the street. There are also several small restaurants between Pueblo and the hotel, one being a Subway. If you walk out of the hotel and turn to the left, there is a Sizzler restaurant about 1/3 mile away. The local bus runs right in front of the Hotel Miramar and convenient if you want to go into Old San Juan.
Hotel Miramar is close to the cruise ports - both in Old San Juan and the Pan American pier, but closer to the Pan American and very close to the Convention Center.
The hotel called us a taxi and one arrived in less than 5 minutes and it is a very short taxi ride to the cruise pier. Loved everything about our stay at Hotel Miramar and will most definitely be staying here from now on when we return to San Juan for future cruises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were recently in San Juan for a conference at the convention center so location was important to us. The Miramar was about a 15 min walk to the convention center, close to several restaurants and a grocery store and a beach so the location was great. The staff at the hotel was very helpful in giving directions and information. The rooms were large, and even had safes, fridges, and microwaves. The only negative was the water in the shower became cool after the first person showered, no more warm/hot water for a while. The service in the restaurant was extremely slow but we soon realized that this is the norm in San Juan. We had a lot of slow food service but the food was good. They even allowed us to store luggage before we checked in and again after we checked out. Overall this is a great option for being close to the convention center but cheaper than the big name hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, close to Condado beach and San Juan beach.0-15 min walk. Close to conventioncentere.
Nice room, clean with frigde and microwave. Very friendly at the reception. Breakfast very simple if included. Every day the same choice. But this was no problem for the 4 nights we stayed there.
Very close to the public bus to Old San Juan, just 0.75 ct for the ride.
Roof terrace has a nice view, with chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a wonderful stay proir to boarding a cruise in San Juan. The location was wonderful to get around and close to the cruise ports. The service at the hotel was wonderful. Walter went over and above to make for a comfortable stay. He was helpful even prior to getting there as I called for assistance a week prior to starting the vacation. This hotel rocks because of great people like Walter doing everything possible for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the Miramar the night before our cruise. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, eager to please and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very large and clean with good facilities e.g. a microwave, fridge, safe. The view from the roof terrace is amazing. Very close to the port if you are going on a cruise. There is a supermarket a few minutes walk away which was handy. Would stay again if cruising.

Room Tip: Ask for a view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is the second time that I've stayed at Hotel Miramar. It's affordable and the staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and the view from the rooftop is fantastic. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the beach. It's close to Old San Juan and Condado. There is also a great restaurant across the street called Casita MiraMar and next to the hotel. You can park your car rental at the hotel's parking space in the back. They will park it for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.