We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Glendale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose to stay in this Hotel because #1 it's cheap, #2 it's convenient, #3 it's near dowtown (and cruise port), and finally.. there is an awesome restaurant just across the street that is so popular with locals you have to check out why. My suggestion?, try the grouper!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    191
    90
    37
    69
See reviews for
81
166
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I went back to this hotel bcause of the excellent service. At front desk, Walter was very helpful and attentive to whatever need we had. I will recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to b attended in the best way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My daughter and I were at this hotel this past week and had a great experience, the staff was so nice and helpful, but especially Walter who works at the front desk, he is a great person.
The hotel is nice and very clean, recently renovated, price is convenient and the location is ideal, the view from the top balcony is amazingly beautiful. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week and have to share with you what a great hotel this is. The hotel rooms are modern and nicely decorated. The facilities are new and contemporary.
What really makes this hotel exceptional is the customer service. From the moment you walk into the lobby and are greeted by Walter, you feel like it's going to be a good experience. He is professional, courteous, efficient and just a pleasure to speak with. The Managers should be proud of Walter, A big asset for any company!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Picked this hotel at the suggestion of a travel agent who has stayed there. At first, we were hesitant to stay there due to some of the reviews and the location (via google map). However we stuck with the travel agents suggestion. The hotel is in a strange area. There is an abandoned house across the street with graffiti and an abandoned church nearby. It did not seem this location is in the highly trafficked tourist area. If you are staying in San Juan, I would suggest staying across the lagoon at the Condado area. Hotels are nicer and more resturant options and closer to the water. You will pay more.

Our hotel room had a tub that would not drain. Called service desk and said everyone one was gone for the night. They said it would get taken care of the next day. Well, we come back from a long day and wanted to shower and low and behold, the tub would take 30 minutes to drain. They obviously did not fix it or even leave us a note that it couldn't be fixed. Glad we stayed there a short time en route to our cruise. The bathroom had mold in the groute and tub tiles were cracked with mildew/mold. The room was extremely dated and they did not leave the AC on in your room to keep the damp smell away. As soon as you left, they turned it off. The hallway is not air conditioned so it smelled really musty and damp. The AC in the room was also extremely loud.

The rooftop did have a nice view and there is a nice grocery store and a frozen yougurt place nearby.

For the price, it was not worth it. Better paying a little more and stay on the other side of the lagoon where there is more nightlife and action.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed here with friends on my first trip to Puerto Rico. Not only was the location great but the guest service was amazing. specifically a gentleman by the name of Walter who works at the front desk. he was polite, courteous and really helpful. I speak little Spanish but he was always willing to take an extra minute to make sure I was doing well and helped with my translations. amazing trip I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 3 years ago. It was in a great location, to catch the bus, walk, or grab a cab. It offers a beautiful roof top view of the city and local restaurants.
I read some of the reviews that were negative and one stood out, the travelers that tried breaking into the managers suite. If you take the stairs up, you come across a patio next to a sliding glass door. Myself and friends spent time hanging out while smoking but respected that room was off limits.
I'm hoping to visit once again, I just referred some friends to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 606 Ponce de Leon Avenue | Miramar, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel San Juan
Miramar San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.