We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend more, you wont regret it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn El Portal to your Saves list
Quality Inn El Portal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spend more, you wont regret it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in February. We reserved the hotel through Expedia for $85/night. We expected a decent room as Expedia rated this hotel with three stars. It was far from three stars. The hotel smelled moldy, was constantly cold (60ish), had filthy beds and was extremely damp. My wife and I got sick after the second night. We suspect the moldy, damp room played a role. The moisture in our room made the pages of a magazine so damp after three nights that they ripped when turned.

Despite the previously mentioned flaws, the hotel was close to the beach and within walking distance to several bus lines.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The room in its entirety.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    76
    40
    23
    26
See reviews for
38
69
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

It seems the hotel has not changed anything since the late 70's. The carpet, the tile, the sheets, the tub, the glass, etc. It is very dirty. The rooftop continental breakfast is a joke. I was booked here for 3 nights, but left after 1. That young man behind the desk was as lazy an employee I have ever seen. He never answered the phone. When I would go to the desk to ask the question, I saw him messing around on-line with video games. Just don't do it. Don't say I didn't warn you.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

This hotel is in a prime location as it provides easy access to the beach, buses, restaurants and shopping.

However, the rooms were smelly/musty and very cold (for a Caribbean location). We turned the a/c off and the place was still too cold. The place seemed to be understaffed as well because the guy who took care of the breakfast was also the porter (on duty). This guy's attitude sucked! Although there was a language difference, there is nothing wrong with a smile and a pleasant outlook (this translates in any language).

Check out is also horrible (we were in a large group (26) persons and we were asked to bring luggage to the lobby by 11:30 am our flight was 5:50 pm) Imagine 26 persons by maybe 3 pieces each in a small lobby with no seating arrangement or storage facility. It was horrible. The attitude of some of the staff members was totally disgusting.

I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends. There are nicer, friendlier places to stay in PR. (Because our group was big we did not have much of a choice - we were told).

  • Liked — Location/access to bus transport and food court
  • Disliked — Room too cold and some staff unpleasant
  • Tips/Secrets — Okay for short trips and maybe the shopping experience (close to bus route)
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

I've stayed in hotels throughout the world and when your on the road, you can't expect much. When traveling through Mexico by car, I stayed in $10 per night hotels that were clean, with running water, and had a shower that drained. El Portal is a $100 per night Roach Motel! I made a reservation to stay at El Portal because I thought there was nothing else, but several friends of mine were able to get far better hotels for a much better price. Warning: Do not stay here, even if there is nowhere else to stay. Camp out if necessary. There are hundreds of hotels that are far better and cheaper. The staff was nice, but the hotel is a dump! The shower had no water pressure and the temperature changed from cold to superhot wihtout any warning. The shower did not drain and no amount of complaints can correct that, i'ts a plumbing issue. It was a complete nightmare. Be warned.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

DON'T STAY HERE! The rooms are sooo tiny and the whole entire hotel has a funny, mold like smell. The continental breakfast includes bread, and cereal with powdered milk. To top it all of THERE IS NO HOT WATER!

And they had a drainage problem, it took hours for the shower to drain after one person used it, so if you go with another person wake up early unless you want to shower standing in their dirty bath water.

There are so many better hotels in San Juan for around the same price.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

i stayed there in april 11-14 2006 and it was nice. there is a strange smell indeed but it's bareble the staff in lovely. the breakfast needs some help a little cheese maybe, but above all i enjoyed my stay i will go back there

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn El Portal

Address: 76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn El Portal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Quality Inn El Portal in San Juan features free high speed wireless internet service, free breakfast buffet, Armando's Mexican restaurant on premises, comfortable guestrooms, and personalized service. The hotel is located in the trendy Condado Beach area with its casino, boutique shops, dining and entertainment opportunities, and is just minutes from Old San Juan, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Puerto Rico Convention Center, and an endless array of other great attractions, business, and historic sites. Come home to Puerto Rico at the Quality Inn El Portal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn El Portal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn El Portal Hotel San Juan
Quality Inn San Juan
San Juan Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.