We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the San Juan area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn El Portal to your Saves list
Quality Inn El Portal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Lakehurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel in the San Juan area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good hotel in the San Juan area, the staff is very friendly, good air conditioning, and the breakfast included. This is a good place for a overnight or to rest if you are very tired. Simple and clean, good prices.

Room Tip: Room 503 or 608.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    83
    48
    23
    26
See reviews for
42
81
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
293 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our stay in San Juan was busy out and about every day. We stayed at the hotel for the evenings, and breakfast in the morning. We have no complaints about the hotel for this time. This hotel is fairly basic. Rooms and bathrooms were smaller, but had everything we needed. No microwave, but you do get a mini fridge, safe, and ironing board. There isn't a view any way you slice it staying here. We were only in our rooms at night and we did not have any issue with no view or the street noise.
Breakfast is about what you'd expect for a Quality Inn. Several options to choose from, waffles, cereal, pastries, fruit, nothing fancy. I did really enjoy the fact that breakfast was served on the roof so that was a pleasant start each morning.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us directions, answered questions, and looked up what they didnt know off the top of their heads. There is very little parking (11 spaces). We rented a car for only 1 night and let the staff know ahead of time. They leave cones out to reserve the most immediate spaces for their hotel guests. We were very appreciative.
The hotel is in a great location. No its not beach front, but its about 3 blocks back from the beach. Within 2 blocks of 2 bus stops in different directions that will take you to Old San Juan and around the city. Within 2 blocks there are a bunch of restaurants, convenience stores, and even frozen yogurt. Ashford Ave is one of the main drags in San Juan and its a relief this hotel is set back 2 blocks. Ashford has a lot of restaurants, other hotels, and pedestrian traffic, not the kind you want outside your front door. Its in a great location to be within walking distance, but not right in front of the main strip.

Room Tip: Was located on 2nd floor, street side. Noise was not bad at night. Most people complain of noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stay in Quality Inn all over the United States and this has been the worst one. The hotel rooms are very small compared to other hotels. The parking at this location is HORRIBLE! There are 3 spaces located on the side of the hotel and room for 4 cars in front of the hotel, but these spaces are not reserved. It's first come first serve for anyone in the neighborhood. If these parking areas are occupied, then you can park in a lot that is within walking distance with 3 additional spaces. But there is no security and very poor lighting. I didn't feel safe parking there at all. Keep in mind homeless people camp out at the park across the street from the hotel and beg for money up and down the same streets while you're walking from the parking area to your car. The breakfast on the roof was the Best part of the stay. The 4th floor hallway looks like a scene from a horror movie with poor lighting and a damp musty odor. I was moved to the 7th floor that had more hall lighting and a better odor (still musty). The air conditioner is extremely loud. The television reception was horrible. The television froze often. The lobby has been updated, but the rooms are outdated. Condensation from the ceiling fell on my head while waiting for the elevator. The hotel location is close to the beach, shopping, and restaurants, but it's so not worth the headache to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: 7th Floor is better than 4th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Immediate smell of mildew, rude front desk staff. Hallway and rooms had strong smell of mold. Beds were comfy, no internet or cable for the first day due to a storm. The rooftop is sadly closed immediately following breakfast. Continental breakfast was not so special. Beach was a short 5- 10 min walk, close to restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao (Spain)
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Value for money. Good location. Good price. It is not the best hotel ever, but it is nice. breakfast is included. Employees are very kind. I dont understand why reviews must hace characters, I dont want to write more....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our cheapest option and was fine. The halls are dark and scruffy but the room was clean. There was no hot water at night but by morning there was again. The desk attendant seemed surprised we had come by car. Although it is a 7 floor hotel, there were only 4 parking places out front and then 3 or 4 more in a gated lot a couple streets over. The rooftop terrace is a fabulous view. Only the breakfast was disappointing--lousy coffee and offerings so sad and pathetic looking I'd have rather they didn't bother. Overall, it was ok, as we only spent one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Wv
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stopped at Quality Inn El Portal, pretty much knowing what to expect. The location was convenient for strolling about and my daughter and I felt safe. The front desk clerk was helpful and gave us information about businesses in the area. Sure the walls are thin, the property is old and the furnishings & TV are pretty tired, but for one night at a low cost for the neighborhood, it was perfectly acceptable. I've paid more for worse. Take earplugs and you will sleep just fine. The breakfast was actually better than we expected and served on a nice rooftop patio. Sure there were pigeons humorously alighting on the serving tongs - but you know, you are eating outside in the middle of San Juan, near the beach. You gotta take that kind of thing in stride and laugh about it. Makes for funny photos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.9 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#35 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#26 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 45 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn El Portal

Address: 76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn El Portal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Quality Inn El Portal in San Juan features free high speed wireless internet service, free breakfast buffet, Armando's Mexican restaurant on premises, comfortable guestrooms, and personalized service. The hotel is located in the trendy Condado Beach area with its casino, boutique shops, dining and entertainment opportunities, and is just minutes from Old San Juan, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Puerto Rico Convention Center, and an endless array of other great attractions, business, and historic sites. Come home to Puerto Rico at the Quality Inn El Portal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn El Portal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn El Portal Hotel San Juan
Quality Inn San Juan
San Juan Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.