We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vaue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn El Portal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn El Portal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Vaue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Free Breakfast from 7-10 am and FREE PARKING! The staff were very accommodating and eager to help with whatever we asked. The location is great! A few blocks from the beach and right near the highway. I would definitely stay here again. Great price for a basic hotel with a good location.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on the roof, so try to stay on the 7th floor so that the walk isn't too far (elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Dan D,

Thank you for your review. It is good to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and the hotel location. Please let us know the next time you come to visit.

Saludos,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    33
    21
    22
See reviews for
28
60
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was clean. The breakfast was good, And the employees were fabulous. Domingo, Brenda and Emmely were very helpful. Emmely is a multi tasker. Answering questions, printing maps for residents, and offering ideas for great excursions, Emmely did it all with a smile. Yes, parking is limited,but the employees made sure that we always had a parking slot.
My husband and I would stay agin at the quality inn.....

Room Tip: This is not a resort hotel, but it is comfortable, clean, And close to the beach and to the intersta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Carol L,

Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad to learned that you liked the hotel, the Q Corner breakfast and most specially the service provided by the staff.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and please feel free to contact me directly at balonso@qualityinnelportal.com and I will be happy to make your next reservation.

Saludos,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel last minute in San Juan, and realized it was rated 2 1/2 stars. FIgured it was like a normal Quality Inn. DON'T ASSUME, BECAUSE IT IS NOT!!!! We booked a room for 4, but when we checked in, we were told the hotel only has rooms for up to 3 people. They were not joking. The room was by far the smallest hotel room I have seen in my life. It barely held the 4 of us, and there was only a double and single. The floor smelled of mold, and there was actual mold all over in the bathroom. The entire hotel is run down to the point were it should not even carry the Quality Inn name. When we arrived, the Hotel Manager was in a verbal argument with her staff, and she did not care who heard it. If you have a car, you have to park it in a small dangerous lot about a block down in an alley. The location is about 10 minute walk to the beach down neighborhood streets. Two redeeming points to be fair: 1.) the young man at the front desk was great (even with the testy manager); and 2.) the breakfast was actually pretty good, and the view from the rooftop breakfast area were great. No pool either. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend it at all, and would NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Gallini,

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay at Quality Inn El Portal. We do value your comments and appreciate you letting us know so we can take the necessary action.

Once again we apologize,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The front desk staff was very nice and knowledgable of the area. The rooms were small but clean and the continental breakfast was pretty good. The hotel is literally two blocks from the beach and there are many places to eat within walking distance. We noticed the pan handlers mentioned in previous reviews...but they were harmless. Overall a good experience and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sonia N,

Thank you for your nice review about Quality Inn El Portal. We are happy to read that you liket the hotel, the breakfast as well as the hotel's location. But most importantly that you were well taken care of by our staff. Please let us know the next time you come to visit.

Once again, thank you.

Saludos!

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I first used this hotel as a result booking error and that visit was agreeable but subsequent years have seen a downhill slide in the physical facilities and quality of the free breakfast. The hall carpets continue to worsen and during my last visit there was a city wide blackout which accentuated other things one would expect in a hotel of this level. Most hotels of this category have emergency generators which switch on automatically when electrical power is lost. Lacking this alternative, a battery-powered system should be installed in stairwells which guests must use to enter and exit the hotel, dark stairwells can be dangerous and result in unnecessary falls. The stairwells also need to be kept clean and clear of obstacles, which was not the case during this last visit. Otherwise the hotel staff are helpful and provide a good service. For a man traveling alone the place is adequate and the hotel is conveniently located, which has been my main reason for using it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Tony L,

We apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your last visit. Since your then we are installing new emergency lights in the stairwell. We appreciate your valuable feedback and would like to for your to give us another opportunity in the near future.

Once again thank you,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozier, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed one night pre-cruise because of the reviews we had read. It is located across the street from a man that camps out all day on an office chair.There are people walking through traffic outside the hotel soliciting change from those stopped in traffic. We didn't feel very safe.The hotel itself is old - hallways are dark and need some attention - plywood is hung in hallways covering up places in the walls. We arrived in our room and found we did not have internet access. Our reservation said WI-fi was available in all the rooms, but we found out it did not include the rooms at the end of the hall. We had to change rooms so we could have access to WI-fi. Although a member of choice hotels rewards program, we will not be returning to this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I and my girlfriend stayed here for 5 days and everything was great for me. We stayed on the second floor in the street side of the building. There were some noises but it wasn't that much. The thing that we like the most was the breakfast on the roof. It was awesome and you can see the view of Condado Area, San Juan. Last 2 days, we rented a car and expected that we might have some problems finding the parking spot like some of the reviewers here said about it. The staff at the front desk (I don't why his name but he was so friendly and helpful) helped us find the parking spot and we got one in front of the hotel. For your information, there are about 7 parking spot but some of them are shared with the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel and I will come back again. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn El Portal

Address: 76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn El Portal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Quality Inn El Portal in San Juan features free high speed wireless internet service, free al-fresco roof-top breakfast buffet, Pizzeria La Competencia on premises, comfortable guestrooms, and personalized service. The hotel is located in the trendy Condado Beach area with its casino, boutique shops, dining and entertainment opportunities, and is just minutes from Old San Juan, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Puerto Rico Convention Center, and an endless array of other great attractions, business, and historic sites. Come home to Puerto Rico at the Quality Inn El Portal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn El Portal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn El Portal Hotel San Juan
Quality Inn San Juan
San Juan Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.