We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn El Portal to your Saves list
Quality Inn El Portal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Cambridge,NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good For Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Loacated a few blocks from the beach, the Quality Inn offered a good place to stay before we left for Culebra. Its a quick bus ride to Old San Juan and is reasonably priced. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful with directions and the continental breakfeast on the roof provided a nice view of the city. The rooms were clean but small. The corridors were dark and depressing (the biggest drawback, but a minor one). Would not recommend if you have a car, otherwise a decent
choice if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review. It is very good to know that you liked the hotel location, our staff service, our rooms and breakfast at the rooftop.

Please let us know the next time you decide to visit.

Saludos,

Brenda Alonso-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    69
    35
    22
    24
See reviews for
34
63
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Feb 2013 for one night pre-cruise. Best thing about this hotel is the location. Very close (5 min walk) to a 24 hr Walgreens, beach, Subway, Wendy's, etc. Desk clerk at night was nice. Older gentleman in the morning wasn't quite as pleasant. Rooms were clean with nice flat screen TV, bathroom & shower was clean but everything is quite dated. Hallways and elevator kind of frightened me (very old & dirty). Thank goodness the room was better. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. it was pretty much all gone when we arrived (we got there close to the end). However, the view from the rooftop terrace was very nice. We stayed here because I had a free night but I would have been disappointed had I paid for it.. Since we only arrived at 2 am and left by noon the next morning, it was sufficient for sleeping. I wouldn't y return though unless I couldn't get the Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn down the street. I have stayed at these hotels in the past and found them to be better for around the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is an older mid rise hotel with many upgrades to maintain their status with the Choice chain. With that said, lots of American travelers will be put off by the creaky elevator, the gloomy corridors, and the small rooms. Our room was spotless, service was great, and the location was good for checking out the Condado district. It is NOT a cookie cutter Quality Inn/Suites, but if you have a little sense of adventure, go for it. Security note: San Juan is not Disney World, I would rate the security of this hotel at B or B+.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear virgiematt,

We would like to thank you for your review. It is good to learn that you liked our service, the hotel's location but mostly that you felt sercured at Quality Inn El Portal.

Thank you for selecting us and we hope to see you in the near future. Should you need help with your reservations please don't hesitate to contact me at balonso@qualityinnelportal.com.

Saludos,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Not a 5 star but it certainly works for a couple nights. Hotel is clean but small; near all Condado hot spots. Parking can be tricky but front desk clerk (Denise?) was very helpful getting us a spot nearby. Nice breakfast on the rooftop. They did a good job with this older property. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear dcjw700,

Thank you for your nice review. It is good to know that Denisse assisted you in locating a parking space and we will share your comment with her. We are glad that you liked the hotel's location, its cleanliness and the Q Corner Breakfast. Please visit us again soon. Should you need assistance with your reservation please don't hesitate to contact me at balonso@qualityinnelportal.com

Saludos,
Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, DE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'm rating this hotel very good not because of the quality of our rooms but for the good location, excellent front desk staff, and fine rooftop breakfast. Our room was small but adequate for our sleeping needs.The bathroom was clean and that's a plus. I didnt expect a high end hotel.The hotel was located within a short walk to the beach, restaurants, a casino, and other perks.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the third floor at the far end and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you sharing your experience at Quality Inn El Portal. It is good to know that you like the hotel location, our Front Desk staff service and the Q Corner breakfast. On behalf of our Front Desk staff and myself thank you. I will certainly share your comments with them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Saludos,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As a Choice privileges member I have stayed at Quality Inns many times. This was by far the dirtiest, smelliest, oldest and most poorly maintained of any motel/hotel I have ever stayed at. We booked 3 nights and would have moved but there were no rooms in town due to baseball tournements and a marathon. The air conditioner vent filter was filthy as was the bathroom humidiy vent. The tops of the sheer curtains were so dirty from the air vent blowing on them that I could shake the dust off with a brush of my hand. The carpet was so dirty we wore socks from the bed to the bathroom. The refrigerator still had food in it from the previous occupant. Hotel was built in 1962 and is currently owned by an absentee owner who has little or no hotel experience. Staff was friendly and helpfful but limited in what they could do.

Room Tip: Select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Thumpers,

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay with us at Quality Inn El Portal. We are taking corrective action so this situation doesn't happen again.

We would really appreciate it if you could give us another opportunity in the near future. Please don't hesitate to contact me at balonso@qualityinnelportal.com.

Thank you,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found the staff exceptionally caring, friendly and helpful. Any time we had a question or problem, they found the answer, The open roof top area, where a good breakfast was served, had a great view. We would definitely stay at this motel again. The hotel is three blocks from the ocean and within easy walking distance of several restuarants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Nancy B,

Thank you for such a nice review. We are happy to learn that you liked our staff service as well as the Sky Terrace where breakfast is served and the hotel's location. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me directly at balonso@qualityinnelportal.com and I will be happy to make your reservation.

Saludos,

Brenda Alonso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn El Portal

Address: 76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn El Portal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Quality Inn El Portal in San Juan features free high speed wireless internet service, free al-fresco roof-top breakfast buffet, Pizzeria La Competencia on premises, comfortable guestrooms, and personalized service. The hotel is located in the trendy Condado Beach area with its casino, boutique shops, dining and entertainment opportunities, and is just minutes from Old San Juan, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Puerto Rico Convention Center, and an endless array of other great attractions, business, and historic sites. Come home to Puerto Rico at the Quality Inn El Portal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn El Portal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn El Portal Hotel San Juan
Quality Inn San Juan
San Juan Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.