We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff,hotel,and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn El Portal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn El Portal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice staff,hotel,and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Jan. 19,2013 Stayed at the Portal the night before and night after our San Juan cruise. Manager went out of his way to acomodate the storage of our luggage on both ends of our cruise when we could not check into our rooms and wanted to "explore" the area without our luggage. Rooms small but clean, some minor problems with lights but all 14 couples from our cruise were satisfied. Breakfast on the roof top was good and the views and time to "coffee" our morning away was great. Don't expect the "Ritz" but a resonably priced hotel that works well for a pre and post cruise option. All, 28, of us of us would stay there again. Rick,and group, from Minnesota

Room Tip: If you have the chance to request a room do a even # room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    30
    19
    22
See reviews for
28
57
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just stayed here last night and what value! You can definitely tell that the front desk and management cares about the customer. Obviously, you cannot expect the world for Quality Inn but if you are looking for a great cheap stay in Condado this is the place for you. Here are some details of my stay:

They allowed us to check in early at 1PM which was great. The Front Desk attendant, Domingo, was very knowledgable of the area and very nice. The bed and room was clean with ample towels. The Sun Terrace is what sold me on this hotel - it faces the bay and morning breakfast was great. It included sausages, a waffle maker, croissants, fresh coffee, orange juice, cereal and other pastries.

If you're looking for a stay in San Juan then this is your place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm here at the hotel now, about to take a shower and I notice that the housekeeper took the old mat, but didn't replace it. So I call down to the front desk and the women tells me that she has nothing and there's no one there after 5pm to get one. Really?? Seriously?? She couldn't take one from an unoccupied room??? Now, keep in mind that they only give you the exact amount of towels so there is nothing to use...except the bedspread...yes, that's what is on the bathroom floor. Yuck, I know. But I'm desperate as the shower floods the bathroom.

When we first checked in, our room was covered in dust. I had to dust with a washcloth. Ugh. Our matress was pulled away from the headboard and our pillows were on top of the boxspring...super weird. Our blanket is white and stained...gross, and I'm not trying to think about it. We had pizza one night and the housekeeper never took the box.
I could go on, but I'm about to shower (and try not to look at the mold & mildew of which I will post pics when I get on a PC back home).

I'll be glad to check out tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, General Manager at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear WifeyG,

Our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at Quality Inn El Portal. We value very much our guests and this is not the kind of service that our guests are used to receiving. We would like to let you know that we have already taken corrective action for this not to happen again.

We would really appreciate it if you could give us another opportunity in the near future. Please don't hesitate to contact me at balonso@qualityinnelportal.com.

Thank you,

Brenda Alonso-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was a very great location to spend a night before embarking on a cruise. The rooms are clean and the staff are very friendly and supportive. Enjoyed a walk along the lovely beach which is only a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. Taxi ride to the airport and to the cruise terminal are each just under twently dollars. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is a little older, smells of mold and could use some updates. It is in a great location and at a great price, close to great restuarants and bars and within walking distance of the beach. The room and bed linens were clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and eager to provide information on area attractions. The breakfast on the rooftop was amazing. The view is awesome from the rooftop. However get up early if you plan on eating, either the ants or the other guests will beat you to it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I always have a good experience whe I stay at The Quality Inn El Portal. This hotel is located in the popular Condado neighborhood which gives me the opportuinty to select from a wide selectio of restaurants. You can also find two Starbucks and Hagen Daiz Icecrean within the vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We needed a hotel at the last minute. We called Hotels.com from the airport and got a reasonably priced hotel nearby. The front desk clerk Helen was fabulous. When we got up the stairs and close to our room, we couldn't believe how bad the hotel smelled - very moldy. We were so tired, we decided to stay anyway. The beds were very comfortably,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn El Portal

Also Known As:
Quality Inn El Portal Hotel San Juan
Quality Inn El Portal Hotel
Quality Inn San Juan
San Juan Quality Inn
Address: 76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn El Portal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Quality Inn El Portal in San Juan features free high speed wireless internet service, free al-fresco roof-top breakfast buffet, Pizzeria La Competencia on premises, comfortable guestrooms, and personalized service. The hotel is located in the trendy Condado Beach area with its casino, boutique shops, dining and entertainment opportunities, and is just minutes from Old San Juan, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Puerto Rico Convention Center, and an endless array of other great attractions, business, and historic sites. Come home to Puerto Rico at the Quality Inn El Portal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn El Portal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.