We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in nice area!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn El Portal to your Saves list
Quality Inn El Portal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
PLANO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location in nice area!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hotel is in Condado which is a safe and upscale neighborhood. Its very close to Walgreens which has groceries also. The hotel could use better maintenance since we had weak water flow. They offer free internet and breakfast and enjoyed the automated machine coffee downstairs. You can take bus 21 or 53 to Old San Juan for 75 cents inn coins only. If you seek clean convenient hotel at reasonable price (Hotwire cost was 450) for 5 nights than you will be very satisfied. If you seek better accomodation like Holiday Inn Express than be willing to pay higher. All the staff at front desk have been excellent in guidance and assistance.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on terrace and we were on 7th top floor so its covenient. Close all blinds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, Director of Sales at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate this nice review. Is good to know that you liked the hotel's location, breakfast at the terrace, hotel services and our staff service. On behalf of our Front Desk staff and myself thank you. I will certainly share your comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Saludos,

Miguel Rios - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    69
    35
    22
    24
See reviews for
34
63
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Staff quite friendly and helpful if you ask for direction etc. Hotel needs upgrading, from elevator to hallway to guest room. Room is small, bedcover was dirty, although linen were clean. Bathroom very small, and NO hot water in shower during the two days when we were there. Breakfast being served at the roof top terrace, which has a spectacular view, food is average but adequate. Location very good for it is in Condado, close to Ashford Avenue and beach. Public transportation available on Ashford Avenue to Old San Juan, only cost $.75 for adults and $.35 for seniors, however, bus system is very unreliable and it stops running at around 9pm or so. Overall, good value for your money considering breakfast, WiFi, in room fridge and safe are included. Free maps of local area available in lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, Director of Sales at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we apologize for any inconveniences encountered during your stay at Quality Inn El Portal.

But we are glad to learned that you liked the hotel's location and some of our services and/or amenities such as; the breakfast, the wireless internet, the room fridge as well as the in-room safe.

We look forward to your next vist. Please feel free to contact me directly at mrios@qualityinnelportal.com and I will be happy to make your reservation.

Saludos,

Miguel Rios - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Free wifi but the computer in lobby was broken. Beds looks clean but mirrors were never cleaned. Head shower was full of calcium deposits, vents were super dusty. The staff was kind of rude when I came early to ask about check in and parking saying it was my problem to park. And for any reason will they accommodate my luggage for a couple of hours before 3pm. Breakfast was good( hard boiled eggs, fruit, toast pastries waffles, sausages, corn flakes, milk, coffee, orange juice, apple juice)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, Director of Sales at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Betzabelc,

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at Quality Inn El Portal. We do have limited parking space (a dozen spaces), but we usually provide assistance to our guests in finding a place to park. I'm please to report that the computer at the lobby area is already working and that the other maintance issues are being solved. Also we don't have a pool but we are only two blocks away from the Condado Beach.

On the other hand, we are glad to learned that you enjoyed the Continental breakfast at the Sky Terrace and would really appreciate it if you could give us another opportunity in the near future.

Thank you and regards,

Miguel Rios - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel, both were enjoyable experiences. The location provides easy access to any where you want to go on the island. The rooms are small and simple, but clean. A great value for the money. The parking can be a little inconvenient at times with the limited parking in front of the hotel. They do have additional parking about 1 block away. The breakfast on the terrace at top of the hotel is very good with a relaxing view and atmosphere. Will stay there again when in San Juan. The only negative is lack of a variety of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the north side as rooms on the south side are closer to the highway and a lot of str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brendapr, Director of Sales at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Daddyger,

Thank you for such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you have stayed more than once at Quality Inn El Portal. But most especially is good to know that you liked the hotel location, the rooms and breakfast at the Sky Terrace.

Please let us know the next time you come to San Juan to help you with your reservations. Mye email is mrios@qualityinnelportal.com

Saludos!

Miguel Rios - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Iam an open minded person. When I started reading the reviews, I encountered a few negative ones. Still I told my friend lets take the chance and stay there. At the end of the vacations, I was telling myself, this people that rated this place so negative must be rating some other place, let me explain. The rooms were clean, neat and the size was just right for the money. The halls, the lobby and the terrace were very clean. Some people complained about the traffic noise, I stayed at the 3rd floor and you can't even hear the noises in the hallway, much less the traffic noises. The breakfast at the terrace was a mighty plus, it give us the change to meet other people, exchange stories and plan the day. The hotel is located at a great location, 2 blocks from the best "party all night" place in San Juan, This is El Condado, Vegas got nothing on this place. One more block north and you are at the beach; right at the main metro avenues and only 5 minutes from the AUTO PISTA (the "intercontinental" tolled highway). The people were very professional and friendly. I don't remember all their names but Mrs. Lee (Lee is her first name), Esteban, the other front desk people, the cleaning ladies and the Terrace personnel were ALL as friendly as can be, They were ALL bilengual and wear their uniforms with pride. However, I do have one negative, the parking situation. The hotel has 52 suites but only 10 parking spaces, and 3 of them are away(about a block) from the hotel. Is my recomendation to the management to rent/lease or buy the parking lot next to the hotel (to the north), is always empty, anyway. In overall this is a excellent place to stay, I would and will stay there again next year. Any other questions about this hotel and for an unbias answer please ask me. By the way Iam not, a family member of any of the personnel or get any money for giving this review, it's all frankly true.

Room Tip: The room at the south side (were traffic is) is not noisy but has a good view. I selected it because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Moderately priced with all the commodities. Free Wi-Fi, coffee and common computer. Nice view from the 7th floor, great location. Nice decorating, comfortable beds, friendly clerks, nice little fridge. Some stains on the carpet and a water leak were the only cons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Cristina M,

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to know that you appreciated amenities such as the free wi-fi, coffee, the common computer and the little fridge at your room. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me directly at mrios@qualityinnelportal.com and I will be happy to make the reservation.

Saludos,

Miguel Rios - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The looks in the picture can be deceiving. The rooms were so small only half of the size of a regular priced hotel. No place to park and probably 6-7 blocks from the beach, which was a little bit far. The only nice part was the continental breakfast which was on the rooftop and close to the restaurants. The price was not reasonable,we could have stayed in a nicer hotel for just a few more dollars. Guests, if you want to have a nicer hotel just pay a little bit more, this hotel was so cramped and no parking space.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Quality Inn El Portal, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Kate585,

We apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay at Quality Inn El Portal. But we are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast at the rooftop terrace.

Hope you give us another opportunity in the near future.

Saludos!

Miguel Rios - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn El Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn El Portal

Address: 76 Condado Ave, San Juan 00908, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn El Portal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travelers alike, the Quality Inn El Portal in San Juan features free high speed wireless internet service, free al-fresco roof-top breakfast buffet, Pizzeria La Competencia on premises, comfortable guestrooms, and personalized service. The hotel is located in the trendy Condado Beach area with its casino, boutique shops, dining and entertainment opportunities, and is just minutes from Old San Juan, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Puerto Rico Convention Center, and an endless array of other great attractions, business, and historic sites. Come home to Puerto Rico at the Quality Inn El Portal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn El Portal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn El Portal Hotel San Juan
Quality Inn San Juan
San Juan Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn El Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.